$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
112 reviews
Gréât relaxing teip

Although the internet blows, everything else was perfect. It is a great place for people who just... See full review

  • Ariana W.
  • Aug 30, 2015
Great time in Playa del Carmen

First time in Playa del Carmen, it was awesome! The hotel was beautiful. The people are great. A... See full review

  • Russ the gman
  • Jul 20, 2015
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Rooms

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Property features

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Highlights
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Nearby attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Policies
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 112
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ariana W.
Couples
N/A
Aug 30, 2015

Gréât relaxing teip

Although the internet blows, everything else was perfect. It is a great place for people who just want to relax at the pool or beach and for others who want to go on excursions. Great value for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Russ the gman
Couples
N/A
Jul 20, 2015

Great time in Playa del Carmen

First time in Playa del Carmen, it was awesome! The hotel was beautiful. The people are great. A lot of European people but friendly, the only negative was it is not as close to the sea as you might think. I guess maybe one more thing too. 200 peso trip back and forth from 5th Avenida. We paid less than that to take a bus from Playa to Cancun. The resort is great, very fun and beautiful. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lizzy1313
Couples
Ontario
Dec 2, 2014

Very nice

Very nice and clean. Food was good but not exceptional. The rooms could use an update but that is not as important to me as how clean it was. Good value for the money. We had a really nice time. The beach was beautiful and the water was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Degek
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 18, 2014

Great time and value

we had a great experience at this hotel. Food was very good, facilities very nice,and staff very friendly. Great economic stay and it was a plus being able to use the facilities at the Yucatan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T and T from WA
Couples
Spokane, Washington
Oct 22, 2014

Great time and a super value

My wife and I had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate recommending this resort. The internet access isn't good but everything else was above expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddie DJ
Couples
Tucson, Arizona
Sep 22, 2014

our getway

Our stay at the riu tequila was great. The nightly shows were spectacular. The weather at this time of the year was warm & humid, but bearable. We spent a lot of time in the pool area with plenty of drinks at our disposable. We met a lot of people from England, Scotland & Ireland. The food at the buffets was good and plentiful. We will surely be back next year for yet, another great week of fun & relaxation. Thanks,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Or take a cab for $7.00 one way, for up to 4 people.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fishfreek
Couples
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Aug 18, 2014

Great time at the Tequila!

My wife and I arrived at the Tequila about 1:00pm and check-in was a breeze. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but that was no problem, we had a drink in the air conditioned sports bar while we waited. Shortly after we arrived to our room we found the air conditioning was out. The following morning I called the front desk and we were promptly moved to another building witch was poolside and in a perfect location. The rooms are average, but comfortable with all the amenities you would expect. The Tequila is in a nice tropical setting with lots of palm trees, foliage and wildlife. We also liked the fact that it had great Mexican flair unlike its sister resort across the road, The Yucatan(witch you also share privileges with and is a great resort in its own respect, just a bit too modern for us). The Tequila is not situated on the beach, but that wasn't a problem for us, its only a few minute walk or trolley ride away. By the way the beach is AWSOME! Overall at this resort, we thought the food and drinks were very good. We mostly ate at the buffets, lots to choose from and we always found something great to eat. As far as restaurants, we ate at the Chinese and the steak restaurants and thought they were both great! The steak place is a bit of a drawn out affair, but worth it. The Chinese place is buffet style, but was also very good. As far as entertainment, I can't really comment on that too much. We are early risers and hit the beach by each day by 7:00 to reserve our loungers at the Yucatan. After cocktails and relaxing all day in the sun, we found it difficult to make it past 10:00 each night, so we didn't catch any shows. We have done quite a bit of traveling in the past years to Jamaica and Mexico and have never stayed at the same resort twice, but we are already planning on returning to the Tequila next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lonewolf713
Couples
pa
Jul 22, 2014

great vacation

hotel is really big the rooms are great it is nice to have some extra space and not be crammed into a small room.Rooms have a refridge that comes stocked with drinks and also a mini bar with alcohol that is included in all inclusive and restocked every couple of days. The staff all work very hard to keep evreyone happy and keeping hotel looking great. The beach is awesome we walked to town via beach almost every day it takes about 35=40 minutes if you stop to check out area. The beach near the hotel is the best the water is crystal clear. The hotel is located in Playacar which is nice as it is a gated community so there are guards checking who comes in and out. We had a great time will be back soon hopefully!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karibuni
Couples
Mwanza, africa
Jul 10, 2014

Location

Is not a ocean front but is close or walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Forever Cancun
Couples
Phoenix AZ
Jul 2, 2014

another perfect vacation

We have visited Playa del Carmen in various occasions and always stayed at different hotels every time. Last year we stay at the RIU Tequila and loved it. The staff is fabulous. That's why this year we decided to stay there for the second time. Everyone there is so friendly and really go out their way to make you feel welcome. The food is excellent and I'm a very picky eater too. Jeremias from the Jalisco restaurant is the best . The Steak House and the Bamboo are just wonderful too food and staff. Can't wait to go there again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Worth getting up in the morning to make those reservations.

Back to menu Return to top