RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
109 reviews
Riu Tequila Again

This was my 8th trip to the Tequila and again, it was consistently good. It's one of the best... See full review

  • ktlktl
  • Nov 19, 2014
Great time and value

we had a great experience at this hotel. Food was very good, facilities very nice,and staff very... See full review

  • Degek
  • Nov 18, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 109
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 9, 2010

Riu not all that we had expected

We had heard a lot of good things about Riu resorts and went in with high expectations. My husband and I had stayed at a Sandals Resort last year and loved it. We were overall so disappointed with the Riu Tequila (and Riu's in general since we could go to other Riu locations in the area). We loved the bartenders and drinks. The bartenders were attentive and the drinks were strong and delicious. Our room was clean and overall pretty comfortable, however it was very noisy. We could hear every noise that people made in the hall, which made for poor sleeping in the morning. I had to sleep with ear plugs in and my husband slept with pillows over his ears. The pool area was nice but way too crowded. You could never find a seat since everyone reserved them in the morning and never went back to them (although this was against the rules but never enforced). The food was horrible. It was all buffet style and never very good. They had two restaurants you could make reservations at (which were also just buffet style) but if you didn't get up between 7 and 8AM you couldn't sign up for the restaurants and there was no other way to get in, even if they weren't full. We managed to make a reservation one night and there were so many open seats but they still turned people away because they didn't have a reservation. It was ridiculous. The Riu staff was not friendly or helpful. They did the minimum and nothing beyond that. The customer is "never" right seemed to be the motto at the Riu Tequila. The Riu did not cater to 30 year-olds without kids. It wasn't exactly family oriented but there was nothing to do after 10pm except go to the local sports bar or disco, which were both filled with 18 year-olds getting smashed (who knows where the parents were). We will never return to a Riu. We are already planning our trip for next year...Sandals all the way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

5th Avenue - Ajua!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Poland
Aug 7, 2008

Our room was very dirty ...

Our room was very dirty and it smelled of mold. The shower head and safe were broken. The room was almost unlivable. Also, it was a 1/2 mile walk to the beach from our room. This certainly isn't ocean front. I will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcerete was fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mncyncy
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Dec 20, 2011

December vacation

This is great value. We have been coming to this resort for the last 10 years. The food quality and variety has slipped some in the last 12 months. Also the bottle opener in our room was dirty and rusty. The staff is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to XPLORE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D. Avila
Business
playa del carmen
Oct 31, 2013

Vacation

It was very relaxing and fun vacation. Hotel had great staff and lot of different things to do every night. Good food. Looking forward to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Feb 14, 2010

Riu Tequla

Fourth Riu vacation in Playacar area in last two years. Always happy with Riu experience. Unfortunately timed it with beach restoration project but that wasn't Riu's fault. Prefer Riu Palace Riviera Maya, but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book specialty restaurants on the way in to breakfast buffet in the morning

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loves Mexico
Business
Madison Heights Michigan
Feb 27, 2011

decent hotel for the price

the hotel was OK albeit dated. The king size bed was 2 dbles pushed together. The hotel could use a face lift. It was very clean and the food for the all inclusive was better than most I have had.The hotel is not on the beach so a leisurely walk of about 8 minutes was nice or you could take the golf cart. We spent more time at the RIU Yucatan at the beach and used their facilities more than the Tequilla's. I will go back to Playacar but I wont stay at the RIU Tequilla. I will more than likely stay at the RIU Yucatan or the RIU Playacar. The Tequilla pool and the Yucatan pool were nice but not lively. I found a more fun time at the RIU Playacar. The patrons there were more fun and there seemed to be more Americans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Got to GO to Bad Boys bar on the beach off 5th AVE. You have to take the side street down to the beach from the cab/bus terminal and take a left. About a 1/2 block down you will find a true beach bar. Don't forget the roast chicken or ribs on Thurs and Saturday night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lizzy1313
Business
Ontario
Dec 2, 2014

Very nice

Very nice and clean. Food was good but not exceptional. The rooms could use an update but that is not as important to me as how clean it was. Good value for the money. We had a really nice time. The beach was beautiful and the water was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
caribbeanlover
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Dec 26, 2011

Overall, good quality for the price

Staffs are kind and foods are pretty good. My only complain is that the room is not soundproofed well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Yalkul Lagoon for snorkeling...it's an excellent place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
linksladdie
Business
Missouri
Jan 22, 2012

Riu Tequila

This was our sixth visit to the Playa area in the last four years, our second at the Riu Tequila, and we feel that on a value per dollar basis it would be difficult to do better than tis hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk south on the beach for 10 minutes and enjoy the natural solitude beyond the last hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rested Riu guest
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 9, 2012

Quick getaway

My wife and I stayed here with another couple for 3 days in late January and we had a great time! The hotel grounds were beautifully maintained and every staff member greeted us with a smile and a friendly "Hola!" The hotel provided everything we needed to relax and let loose for our stay. The hotel is located off the beach but a 5-7 minute walk will get you there! We will return to Riu Tequila or a sister resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you plan on taking advantage of the hotel bars during the day, plan a later dinner when making reservations in the morning. You will need the late afternoon nap to assure you wont miss your dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top