RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
109 reviews
Riu Tequila Again

This was my 8th trip to the Tequila and again, it was consistently good. It's one of the best... See full review

  • ktlktl
  • Nov 19, 2014
Great time and value

we had a great experience at this hotel. Food was very good, facilities very nice,and staff very... See full review

  • Degek
  • Nov 18, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanchez 303
Business
denver
Jul 26, 2014

overall good stay

pretty nice place for the price not very close to the beach but just a 10-minute walk and you could also use the facilities at the beach which is nice. beds not very comfortable, food is good I would recommend overall. Beach is pristine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lonewolf713
Business
pa
Jul 22, 2014

great vacation

hotel is really big the rooms are great it is nice to have some extra space and not be crammed into a small room.Rooms have a refridge that comes stocked with drinks and also a mini bar with alcohol that is included in all inclusive and restocked every couple of days. The staff all work very hard to keep evreyone happy and keeping hotel looking great. The beach is awesome we walked to town via beach almost every day it takes about 35=40 minutes if you stop to check out area. The beach near the hotel is the best the water is crystal clear. The hotel is located in Playacar which is nice as it is a gated community so there are guards checking who comes in and out. We had a great time will be back soon hopefully!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Obnurse96
Business
Blue Springs, MO
Jul 25, 2014

Beautiful hotel with great service

This was a beautiful hotel. Lots of food and places to get drinks. Only draw back was the walk to the beach. It's not very far but the tram was only available 8-1 3-6. Room was nice and cool & the mini fridge was always stocked. Only complaint was the wi-fi. In this day and age most hotels offer it all day not just 90 min. And it wasn't a good signal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fishfreek
Business
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Aug 18, 2014

Great time at the Tequila!

My wife and I arrived at the Tequila about 1:00pm and check-in was a breeze. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but that was no problem, we had a drink in the air conditioned sports bar while we waited. Shortly after we arrived to our room we found the air conditioning was out. The following morning I called the front desk and we were promptly moved to another building witch was poolside and in a perfect location. The rooms are average, but comfortable with all the amenities you would expect. The Tequila is in a nice tropical setting with lots of palm trees, foliage and wildlife. We also liked the fact that it had great Mexican flair unlike its sister resort across the road, The Yucatan(witch you also share privileges with and is a great resort in its own respect, just a bit too modern for us). The Tequila is not situated on the beach, but that wasn't a problem for us, its only a few minute walk or trolley ride away. By the way the beach is AWSOME! Overall at this resort, we thought the food and drinks were very good. We mostly ate at the buffets, lots to choose from and we always found something great to eat. As far as restaurants, we ate at the Chinese and the steak restaurants and thought they were both great! The steak place is a bit of a drawn out affair, but worth it. The Chinese place is buffet style, but was also very good. As far as entertainment, I can't really comment on that too much. We are early risers and hit the beach by each day by 7:00 to reserve our loungers at the Yucatan. After cocktails and relaxing all day in the sun, we found it difficult to make it past 10:00 each night, so we didn't catch any shows. We have done quite a bit of traveling in the past years to Jamaica and Mexico and have never stayed at the same resort twice, but we are already planning on returning to the Tequila next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T and T from WA
Business
Spokane, Washington
Oct 22, 2014

Great time and a super value

My wife and I had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate recommending this resort. The internet access isn't good but everything else was above expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 21, 2008

Truly Remarkable

The Riu Resorts in Playacar are all beautiful and well worth the trip. I found the staff at all of the resorts to be the most helpful group of people I've ever encountered. The landscaping is also the most beautiful landscaping I've seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't underestimate the on-sight dining options...best food I've ever eaten!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 30, 2007

Great Value and Vacation

This hotel and resort was excellent. The staff were outstanding, rooms spacious and clean, food wonderful and excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Lancaster, NY
Dec 22, 2008

Great food, friendly staff, good entertainment

The food options and quality were more than I expected! Staff were always friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is very close to this hotel - and you have access to the beach front hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gosha
Business
Poland
May 10, 2012

Great vacations

It was a great hotel. Very clean, nice rooms. They changed towels every day, and cleaned the room nicely. We had a mini bar with different kind of alcohols, filled out every second day. The small fridge was fool of sodas and bottled water. The food was good, great selection of everything. The restaurant also provided different kind of dinners every day (Japanese, Italian etc.). The hotel amenities were very nice. The bars provided wonderful drinks till late at night. There was one open 24h/day. The hotel areas was beautiful. With many trees, palms, and bushes well kept! It was great to walk in the shades. The hotel was just beautiful, we would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alchemistali
Business
Kauai, Hawaii
Nov 4, 2012

Fantastic!!!

I dragged in at 7 p.m. after waiting at the airport for a ride, had guacamole & chips at the snack bar so I wasn't very hungry once I arrived at the hotel at 7. Unbeknownst to me, the dinner buffet (and breakfast buffet) was included in the price of the room. I never saw so much food in one place at one time. There were at least 8 stations of every imaginable type of meat, salad, vegetable and dessert entrees. Fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Did the Chichen Itza tour, long drive to and from but the information and the Mayan structures were amazing! Again another fabulous lunch buffet included in the price of admission!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top