$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
104 reviews
vacation

we have had a great time at Tequila. Great stuff, comfort, amenities. Jalisco restarant was great... See full review

  • scroodge
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great hotel

Great hotel. Friendly staff. Room was simple but very clean. 5-7 min walk to the beach and very... See full review

  • Ilana92
  • Jun 9, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karibuni
Mwanza, africa
Jul 10, 2014

Location

Is not a ocean front but is close or walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lonewolf713
pa
Jul 22, 2014

great vacation

hotel is really big the rooms are great it is nice to have some extra space and not be crammed into a small room.Rooms have a refridge that comes stocked with drinks and also a mini bar with alcohol that is included in all inclusive and restocked every couple of days. The staff all work very hard to keep evreyone happy and keeping hotel looking great. The beach is awesome we walked to town via beach almost every day it takes about 35=40 minutes if you stop to check out area. The beach near the hotel is the best the water is crystal clear. The hotel is located in Playacar which is nice as it is a gated community so there are guards checking who comes in and out. We had a great time will be back soon hopefully!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new jersey
Apr 22, 2009

nice place though not on the beach

this was a girls trip just to get away. we did have a great time and i would recommend this resort to anyone as long as you are not looking to be directly on the beach. the beach shuttle was working only about half the time and we had a handicapped person with us so getting to the beach was almost impossible. The pools were very nice though. The resort was very clean and well kept. There were people from other riu resorts at ours because they said we had the best pool. That was nice to hear. The only real complaint was the shuttle. The food was actually quite good for an all-inlcusive resort as was the steak restaurant. That is the only one we tried.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kamloops, B.C.
Jan 19, 2012

Nice place to vacation

Have stayed at several Riu Resorts and again was not disappointed. Good restaurants, with a wide variety of food. Best meals of the day were breakfast and dinner. Best theme night was defnitely Asian night. Lunch could have offered a bit more selection, nonetheless we definitely did not starve. Drinks are plentiful and the bartenders were fun. Staff are friendly, rooms are very, very clean. Beach is amazing, just a short walk (or shuttle ride). Waves are just perfect, just a bit of wave to play in but definitely great swimmable beach. No rocks!!! This trip we travelled with our adult children, however I would feel comfortable bringing our granddaughter (toddler) to this beach (unlike Los Cabos), just to be aware you will encounter the topless mommas of all ages. It was nice to have the option to visit/eat/drink at the other Riu sister resorts (Yucatan and Playacar) too. I would not hesitate to recommend any of these three resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan on spending an afternoon at 5th Avenue, a short cab ride, or 25 minute walk away from the resort via a beautiful rural, safe area. It is a fantastic Mexican shopping area where you can also enjoy a cervaza, a meal and culture.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOHNNYC67
ONTARIO, CANADA
Mar 20, 2012

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

This was our first time here and I'm already looking forward to booking again next year. The resort is beautiful and it's the perfect place to unwind and relax with the family. There are plenty of activities for both adults and children so you will never be bored. The staff are very hard working and make your experience there even more enjoyable. I wasn't sure what to expect with the food as the reviews I read prior to coming were mixed. I will say that I was pleasantly surprised with the variety and quality and all four of us enjoyed different meals every day (2 adults and 2 children). Make sure to make it to the shows at night. There is a segment at the beginning for kids immediately followed by the main entertainment. Make sure to tip the staff. They all work very hard to make sure you enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis,IN
Apr 23, 2010

Great Hotel

Great location near shopping and use of 3 other sister hotel within walking distance. Only downsized is dinning if wanting to go to specilized resturants you have to get up at 7 am every morning to book restuant that day or be forced to eat in buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Missouri
Jun 25, 2011

Mexico 2011

The resort was quiet and clean. Not a lot to do there but lots to do in the area. Employees were friendly and the food was good. The beds leave a lot to be desired, not very comfortable. Overall a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jayhawk1855
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Fun trip!

The trip was great. The hotel isn't perfect, but as long as you can overlook those little things, you'll have a good time. Yeah, the beds are hard as a rock and the a/c isn't the best, but for the price, it is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The small retail area next door is a little overpriced. A short cab ride downtown has the same touristy items for about half the price.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roberval
quebec
Mar 15, 2013

riu tequila

the beach is amazing, the hotel is very well located, about 30 minutes walk to reach the beginning of the 5th Avenueor 7$ us for the taxi. The hotel is very clean. We were a little disappointed with the a la carte restaurants. Steakhouse in there was no filet mignon and the food was very average. For the Asian restaurant the food was really good, it was a small buffet where you had to use. For the buffet there was plenty of choice and it was very good. What we liked least is that if you want a drink anywhere in the hotel or on the beach you have to go because there is nobody to do the service. For internet we have the right to 90 minutes free per day. If you take just 30 minutes and you close your session you can not return until 24 hours. Otherwise I think you can pay $ 15 per day. To get to the beach you have to walk about 7-8 minutes or you can take the shuttle, take a walk through the Yucatan and you'll probably get to see the monkeys. Overall it's a good hotel.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the location was perfect

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rested Riu guest
Chicago, IL
Feb 9, 2012

Quick getaway

My wife and I stayed here with another couple for 3 days in late January and we had a great time! The hotel grounds were beautifully maintained and every staff member greeted us with a smile and a friendly "Hola!" The hotel provided everything we needed to relax and let loose for our stay. The hotel is located off the beach but a 5-7 minute walk will get you there! We will return to Riu Tequila or a sister resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you plan on taking advantage of the hotel bars during the day, plan a later dinner when making reservations in the morning. You will need the late afternoon nap to assure you wont miss your dinner!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search