$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
161 reviews
vacation

we have had a great time at Tequila. Great stuff, comfort, amenities. Jalisco restarant was great... See full review

  • scroodge
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great hotel

Great hotel. Friendly staff. Room was simple but very clean. 5-7 min walk to the beach and very... See full review

  • Ilana92
  • Jun 9, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young unmarried couple who had a blast!!
Dallas, TX
May 27, 2009

Beautiful Hotel; Outstanding Service

Great professional service. Front desk was extremely helpful with everything. $5 taxi ride to downtown Playa del Carmen, would not recommend walking. Beautiful beach that was 20 steps from our room. Room was spotless everyday. Our room was a perfect size for a couple. Had excursion representatives there every morning that helped us pick what to do during our entire stay. Would recommend to everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
playa del carmen
Jun 6, 2010

Great Value

great all inclusive package. no tipping requirement

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

short cab ride. $5 each way...

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Preston, WA
Feb 24, 2010

The Perfect Get away

So many side trips to choose from. The Three guided tours we really enjoyed were: Rio Secreto Nature Reserve, Dive Mike Caribbean diving, and the Mayan Xtreme over the edge. Then for fun we took the ferry to Cozamel and spent the day shopping in the plaza market

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go to 5th Avenue

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tijuana
May 26, 2007

Great hotel!

The RIU TEQUILA, was our first experience in all inclusive Hotel. I can say that it was a wonderful hotel, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautiful with lush gardens and a very nice lobby. We loved everything about this hotel, the food is great both in the buffet and in the a la carte restaurants. Although the hotel is not by the ocean, it is only a short walk to the beach by a long beautiful corridor, or you can use the golf carts that pass by the hotel lobby every 10 min. from 8am-1pm and 3pm-6pm. An other great thing about the hotel is that you can use the facilities of 2 other RIU's in the area. Including restaurants and pools. So your dining options increase. The only 2 things that could improve in my opinion are the disco which is very dated, (totally early 90's) if you know what I mean, the DJ's where not very good. The other thing is the room is painted and decorated in a mint green which is not my favorite color, and the beds are a little hard. Other than that, I really can not complain, we had a great and romantic time, the beaches are a little crowded but extremely beautiful, All in all very much satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Down Town area is so prety and not as expensive as I thought. The only thing I would do different next time would be to rent a car, because you spend 5dlls each time you use a cab and belive me, it adds up.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County CA.
Jun 27, 2011

Cancun 6/19/11

Just great...! it could not better; except for phone calls to US, 3 dollars per minute (with taxes)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All inclusive is great...!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Payson, Az
Apr 23, 2010

Impeccable Services

On this trip I enjoyed the Beach Club, Pools, restaurants and bars. In all venues I found the service to be impeccable and the food/beverages to be of excellent quality. Honestly, I can not say a negative word.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 28, 2008

A beautiful, relaxing getaway !

The Riu Tequila is a very comfortable, spacious resort. My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary at this beautifully landscaped and relaxing paradise, we couldn't have made a better choice. The food is fantastic, the staff is very friendly and helpful, plentiful choices for entertainment, just a great time all around! We can,t wait to go back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some great little shops a couple of blocks down the street or take a $5 cab ride to Playa del Carmen.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry123
new york NY
Nov 10, 2013

fantastic

the best vacation ever :) strongly recommended . nothing was missing . this was my 2-nd time in Riu Tequila and I wish not last .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Regina, Sask. Canada
Nov 11, 2010

Simply AMAZING!

This resort has so much to offer for both children, teens and adults. The resort is in a gated community with 3 other Riu resorts around it which you get access too. - There are 4 bars, one being 24 hours -A stage where they have different performances every night: It starts with a interactive show for children then there is a show for all ages which is interactive with the audience some nights as well. - 4 bars: 1 is a swim up and another is open 24 hours - 3 pools: child pool, adult pool and game pool - rec area with soccer nets, beach volleyball, basketball court. - 2 minute walk to the beach or less then that with the golf cart rides going back and forth - Free snorkeling gear, boogie board, etc. rentals - In each room there's a mini bar that has beer, 26 of whiskey, rum. vodka and tequila. - 3 restaurants in the resort and more in the surrounding ones. With everything listed above, their amazing staff and so much more made this one of, or even, the best vacation I have been one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

50 paco cab ride

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Payson, Az
Apr 23, 2010

Impeccable Services

On this trip I enjoyed the Beach Club, Pools, restaurants and bars. In all venues I found the service to be impeccable and the food/beverages to be of excellent quality. Honestly, I can not say a negative word.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top