RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
107 reviews
Great time and value

we had a great experience at this hotel. Food was very good, facilities very nice,and staff very... See full review

  • Degek
  • Nov 18, 2014
our getway

Our stay at the riu tequila was great. The nightly shows were spectacular. The weather at this time... See full review

  • Eddie DJ
  • Sep 22, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 22, 2007

Great Hotel

We had a wonderful stay at the Riu Tequila. The staff was so attentive and the buffet was excellent. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. We would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a shopping plaza just a block or so from the Hotel where the prices are similar to downtown Playa Del Carmen. There is also a bank with an ATM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Jul 9, 2009

A lovely break...

We had a great time doing absolutely nothing. This was our first time at an all-inclusive, and it was a great experience. It was really cool to see the animals in the open the areas around the rooms, we saw a spider monkey, (had to look up what they are when we got home) coatimundi, and agouti, which look like big, long legged guinea pigs. With all the good food at the buffets, I was glad that there was a short walk to the beach. I didn't even get a chance to check out the fitness center, even though I wanted to, because I was too busy relaxing ^-^

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County CA.
Jun 27, 2011

Cancun 6/19/11

Just great...! it could not better; except for phone calls to US, 3 dollars per minute (with taxes)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All inclusive is great...!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tijuana
May 26, 2007

Great hotel!

The RIU TEQUILA, was our first experience in all inclusive Hotel. I can say that it was a wonderful hotel, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautiful with lush gardens and a very nice lobby. We loved everything about this hotel, the food is great both in the buffet and in the a la carte restaurants. Although the hotel is not by the ocean, it is only a short walk to the beach by a long beautiful corridor, or you can use the golf carts that pass by the hotel lobby every 10 min. from 8am-1pm and 3pm-6pm. An other great thing about the hotel is that you can use the facilities of 2 other RIU's in the area. Including restaurants and pools. So your dining options increase. The only 2 things that could improve in my opinion are the disco which is very dated, (totally early 90's) if you know what I mean, the DJ's where not very good. The other thing is the room is painted and decorated in a mint green which is not my favorite color, and the beds are a little hard. Other than that, I really can not complain, we had a great and romantic time, the beaches are a little crowded but extremely beautiful, All in all very much satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Down Town area is so prety and not as expensive as I thought. The only thing I would do different next time would be to rent a car, because you spend 5dlls each time you use a cab and belive me, it adds up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Preston, WA
Feb 24, 2010

The Perfect Get away

So many side trips to choose from. The Three guided tours we really enjoyed were: Rio Secreto Nature Reserve, Dive Mike Caribbean diving, and the Mayan Xtreme over the edge. Then for fun we took the ferry to Cozamel and spent the day shopping in the plaza market

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go to 5th Avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Regina, Sask. Canada
Nov 11, 2010

Simply AMAZING!

This resort has so much to offer for both children, teens and adults. The resort is in a gated community with 3 other Riu resorts around it which you get access too. - There are 4 bars, one being 24 hours -A stage where they have different performances every night: It starts with a interactive show for children then there is a show for all ages which is interactive with the audience some nights as well. - 4 bars: 1 is a swim up and another is open 24 hours - 3 pools: child pool, adult pool and game pool - rec area with soccer nets, beach volleyball, basketball court. - 2 minute walk to the beach or less then that with the golf cart rides going back and forth - Free snorkeling gear, boogie board, etc. rentals - In each room there's a mini bar that has beer, 26 of whiskey, rum. vodka and tequila. - 3 restaurants in the resort and more in the surrounding ones. With everything listed above, their amazing staff and so much more made this one of, or even, the best vacation I have been one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

50 paco cab ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skogs
Business
Brainerd, MN
Mar 28, 2011

Great vacation

First time visitor, greeted with drinks and bags taken to rooms, informative meet and greet the next day not to long! very clean, hotel cleaners always working hard, never seen bar staff work so hard always smiling and happy.. Food very good lots of choice and theme nights, resturant very clean, food well prepaired. entertainment very good. plenty of fantasic excursions... definately will go to hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The international flair of crowd at the the bar kept me coming back every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canon City
Jun 30, 2008

people friendly

The Riu Tequila is one of 6 RIU hotels in Playa. It was a great experiance and we were treated like royalty by the staff. On our arrival we found a friut basket and a bottle of champagne in the room. Nice start for a 1st anniversary trip. The rooms were well kept and the service was impecable. Food was always good with lots of choices. The beaches are in a bit of trouble with erosion right now but the RIU folks are working on restoring them. I think they are back to about 75% of finished. In any case it is the Carribean so who really cares if the sand is 40 ft or 30 ft from the tree line. The grey line was used for our transportation to and from the hotel from Cancun and they were ok. Just don't stop until you get out of the airport to find them. Locals selling time shares make you think they are the transport people so if you stop you may miss your bus. The transports are OUTSIDE the building. I would reccomend this or any RIU property in Playa or Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A trip into Playa costs about $5 usd from the hotel or you can take a 15 minute walk and enjoy seeing the custom homes you may miss on those fast taxi rides. LOTS of shopping on 5th ave Take the ferry to Cozumel for a day from the pier ($15 round trip).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Triumph, *
Jul 24, 2008

My review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

The ClubHotel RIU Tequila was wonderful! From the moment we arrived til the day we left. We stayed for 8 days and have no complaints that the staff had any control over. Staff is very very friendly and make your stay very fun. They get you whatever you want and are very accomodating. Rooms are very clean and have a nice dressing area with private curtain and a sink, closet (iron and ironing board and umbrella and safe provided in closet) with a separate shower area and a separate room with toilet. The room had two night stands, dresser drawers, tv, clock, table and two chairs inside and a small table and two chairs on each balcony/patio. My husband and I had one room and we had four teen-age boys in the second room. They brought us a roll away bed. They took their turns sleeping on the roll away bed and alternating who got to sleep in the crack! They said the roll away bed was very comfortable. I read alot in the reviews about how hard the beds are. They are quite firm, but we loved it. Slept wonderful! Each room has it's own thermostat AND a ceiling fan - which we loved. We kept the rooms quite cool in the day, but were very surprised how cold we were at night. There are blankets in the closet and we very suprised we had to use them in July! Sometimes at night we would turn the a/c to a higher temp and not use the blanket. There was also a mini fridge and a booze dispenser on the wall. They stocked the fridge with bottled soda, water and corona beer. Also with club soda, tonic water, etc. The alcohol provided in the room was rum, tequila, vodka and gin. The hotel also provided soap and shampoo packets (no conditioner) Shower was awesome - immediate hot water and lots of pressure. Rooms did smell a bit musty - really realized this when we got home and smelled how bad our clean clothes smelt!! But you must remember you are in Mexico and the jungle. My only other complaint was the mosquitos in our room. We had two rooms and only one of our rooms had mosquitos in it daily - quite a few of them. If you call the front desk, they come immediately and spray your room and it's no problem. Even though we had mosquitos, they were annoying, yet we never got bit! So either take your own bug spray for the room or call the front desk. We walked to the 5th Avenue Shopping area/flea markets. It took us 30 minutes. I'd guess it's a little less than 2 miles away. Very nice walk. Felt very safe and a beautiful scenery on the way. Our 4 kids, ages 13-15 walked there several times with no adults and were fine. Cab rides are $5. 5th Avenue offers flea markets and stores and that is where you can get ferry tickets and go to Cozumel. Tickets are $12 per person, each way. There are restaurants like Carlos and Charlies and Johnny Rockets, Starbucks, Sushi, McDonalds, etc. The beach is beautiful. The RIU Tequila is not on the beach but it is not a problem at all to walk across the street and down a long shaded sidewalk to the beach. They have a little shuttle that you can take there, but we always walked. We ate on site every day and loved all the food. So much variety, you can't go hungry. There is definitely something for everyone! And the drinks are wonderful... whatever you want, they will make it if they have it. We made reservations and ate at the Steak dinner twice. We didn't try the other restaurants as we liked the buffet dining and all the variet. Very good. The entertainment staff does a wonderful job. Very energetic and love to work with the guests. The Michael Jackson show and the Grease show were very good. I'd see them again. We only saw those two shows as we did other things in the evenings. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. I'd go back in a hearbeat! Loved the place. You could relax and enjoy your own peace and quiet or get involved in all the activities they offer. Since we had teenage boys, we didn't leave the premises at night to go to nightclubs, but had a great time at ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cab rides are $5 or you can walk it in 30 minutes. VERY NICE WALK.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tough Customer
Business
Winnipeg, Canada
Dec 22, 2009

Amazing!!!

We arrived late and still found a great buffet going on!! We relaxed by the pool the first day and booked a ziplining excursion to Aktun Chen through Lomas travel. All week the staff were amazing and very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use pesos as compared to american dollars you will get better deals. If you are staying in playacar the stores in the plaza are actually priced better than the street vendors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top