$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Highlands Ranch
Jun 10, 2008

Great Getaway

The Riu Tequila was just beautiful. They had a large choice of food options, highly friendly and helpful staff, and great amenities (pool, shows, bars). It is a short walk to the beach and you have 2 other resorts that you can take avantage of. The only draw back was the beds were a little hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You must checkout your beach/pool towel from your hotel only (not one of the other 2 resorts). You also can only checkout 1 towel per person a day. Everything else (food, drinks, shows, & pool) can be done at the other resorts also.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 28, 2008

A beautiful, relaxing getaway !

The Riu Tequila is a very comfortable, spacious resort. My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary at this beautifully landscaped and relaxing paradise, we couldn't have made a better choice. The food is fantastic, the staff is very friendly and helpful, plentiful choices for entertainment, just a great time all around! We can,t wait to go back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some great little shops a couple of blocks down the street or take a $5 cab ride to Playa del Carmen.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Herkyhawk
Business
North Liberty, Iowa
Mar 21, 2011

Upgraded to RUI Palace Mexico

Upon arrival at RUI Tequila we were given an upgrade to the RUI Palace Mexico across the street and on the beachfront. We took a tour of the RUI Tequila to see what would have missed and noticed a few major differences. First, the Tequila is not on the beach, but rather a five minute walk from it. Not bad, but still could be an issue for some. Also the RUI Tequila seems more family and children oriented than the RUI Palace or RUI Yucatan. Overall, all of the RUI hotels that we visited seemed very nice, clean and the food was pretty decent. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid time shares at all costs as they eat up a whole day.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
playa del carmen
Jun 6, 2010

Great Value

great all inclusive package. no tipping requirement

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

short cab ride. $5 each way...

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 15, 2007

Pleasantly surprised.

Excellent staff and great food. This was our first all inclusive and we would definitely go back to the riu tequilla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville
Jun 20, 2008

Great Resort!

Riu Tequila is a wonderful resort! My husband and I have stayed at this resort several times. The staff are great. They are very friendly and will help you in any way. The food is wonderful. You will not go hungry. Their cocktails are also very good and they have a wide selection with good name brand booze. We love their rum though. The rooms are very clean. This resort is right on the beach and its grounds are beautiful. There is a lot to do games and sports wise. You will never find a more beautiful beach. Entertainment in the evening could be improved but if you have never been before you might enjoy. I recommend this resort. You will have a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 22, 2008

Had a great great time

Hotel was well worth the money. Only literally a few minutes to the beach..Decent shows, decent food, beautiful pool area, plenty of things to do, friendly staff..good upkeep on the room. Modern room with modern amenities. Good drinks that were flowing all day. Overall a very nice hotel. I was impressed. I would recommend it to everyone. Not a good place for singles at all. Mostly couples and families. Food wasn't anything 5 star but it did the job, big selection. Like I said..For the price I paid I was extremely impressed. Had a great time, my girlfriend had a great time. I'd recommend the place to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milton
Jan 1, 2009

beautiful grounds, location

This was our first visit to the the Playa Del Carmen area and we found the Riu Tequila to be a very pleasant surprise. Newly renovated, the lobby, rooms, restaurants, bars, were all very attractive. The staff was friendly and helpful. In particular, the bartenders were always cheerful and working at top speed. We found the walk to the beach, through a shady walkway, to be very pleasant. It took under 10 minutes and it was good to get some exercise. The beach was more crowded than any other Caribbean beach we've visited, but the sand and water were gorgeous and the people watching was terrific. We were able to get loungers in the shade very day, simply by getting to the beach early, which was what we were there for anyway. There are sand whales in the water to help stop erosion and they seem to be working. We travel with our three young-adult children and they really enjoyed themselves. The Tequila has the best nightlife of all the Riu's in the area (or so I'm told), so everyone congregates there, there's a disco that stays open until 2 am. There were beach volley ball games going on all day, which they enjoyed. One day we did parasailing which was affordable and a real experience. Another day, two of us took a cab to Akumal for snorkeling. It was a nice day, with lunch at the restaurant on the beach there. While we try to go to different places each year, I would not hesitate to go back to the Riu Tequila. My only complaint is one that goes for most AI's and that is the quality of the food. While the breakfast buffet is excellent, the lunch and dinners are pretty repetitive and mediocre. Even the a la carte restaurants were forgetable. (And, rather unusual, this resort has two seatings at their a la carte restaurants, 6:45 and 8:45, rather limiting, and the service is quite poor, which sort of defeats the purpose of avoiding the buffets!) We love to try different foods, but for some reason we have never been able to get a really unique meal that seems mexican at the Yucatan AI's, and I'm not just talking about burritos or tacos. However, if I go to the Playa area again I will most definitely budget to eat out a couple of meals in Playa Del Carmen. The cab fare from the Tequila was about $5 and there were endless restaurants that looked interesting. Touristy of course but interesting nonetheless. That being said, we don't go to the Caribbean for the food, but rather for the weather (it was perfect Dec 24-Jan1) and the sand and water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BKini
Business
Clackamas Oregon
Sep 9, 2009

Riu Tequila Trip August 2009

This resort does an impressive job of maintaining the grounds, common buildings, and rooms and of presenting wonderful meals and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Colorado
Mar 10, 2009

The best of Mexico resort living

Fantastic to be able to enjoy the other RIU hotels, Yucatan, Playacar and Lupita, as well as using the Tequila as home base. A very nice walk to town. The hotel staff are exceptional. The food is the best of any hotel (served quantity stye) that I have ever had. I am planning, with 7 others at this time, returning to the Tequila in October 2009 (my 6th). I have recommended the Tequila to many friends and they have been there and enjoyed it as I do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Appreciate the excellent service by tipping the maids and bartenders and do it as you go. Give a few bucks each day, as you will not find harder workers where you live. Your glass will never go empty. If you like to see a smile on people's faces, give a few bucks.

Back to menu Return to top