$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
106 reviews
Great time in Playa del Carmen

First time in Playa del Carmen, it was awesome! The hotel was beautiful. The people are great. A... See full review

  • Russ the gman
  • Jul 20, 2015
Riu Tequila Again

This was my 8th trip to the Tequila and again, it was consistently good. It's one of the best... See full review

  • ktlktl
  • Nov 19, 2014
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Rooms

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Property features

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Highlights
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Nearby attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Policies
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sergey from MN
MN
Jan 21, 2013

Very good for the price

If you are not too lazy to have a nice and shaded 1/2 mile walk or not too impatient to wait 10 min for a small and fun shuttle to reach the beach then it's perfect for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMT16
Business
Rochester, NY
Apr 23, 2014

Beautiful Resort!

The hotel is very nice, the Playa Del Carmen area is a very nice gated community. The other RIU Resorts are within walking distance to each other. The beach was across the street which was not a bad walk. There is also a trolly that runs about every 15 minutes to and from the beach. The food was good, nothing special. We are 23-24 this hotel was a good mix of families and younger couples. We did a Turtle snorkel, cave tour and ATV. The ATVs were not worth it, however the other two were. We also went parasailing which we found from someone on the beach. You can deal with them on the price. The beach was beautiful (lots of security to make sure only RIU guests were in the area.) The staff was very friendly. Make sure you tip your bartender and they will make sure you never have an empty glass! The pictures are exactly what the resort is nothing is a surprise. We will be booking again with the RIU Resorts the next time we travel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a US ATM in the shopping center next to the resort! Paying in dollars saves you money. The exchange rate is $1 = 13 pesos!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gosha
Business
Poland
May 10, 2012

Great vacations

It was a great hotel. Very clean, nice rooms. They changed towels every day, and cleaned the room nicely. We had a mini bar with different kind of alcohols, filled out every second day. The small fridge was fool of sodas and bottled water. The food was good, great selection of everything. The restaurant also provided different kind of dinners every day (Japanese, Italian etc.). The hotel amenities were very nice. The bars provided wonderful drinks till late at night. There was one open 24h/day. The hotel areas was beautiful. With many trees, palms, and bushes well kept! It was great to walk in the shades. The hotel was just beautiful, we would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alchemistali
Business
Kauai, Hawaii
Nov 4, 2012

Fantastic!!!

I dragged in at 7 p.m. after waiting at the airport for a ride, had guacamole & chips at the snack bar so I wasn't very hungry once I arrived at the hotel at 7. Unbeknownst to me, the dinner buffet (and breakfast buffet) was included in the price of the room. I never saw so much food in one place at one time. There were at least 8 stations of every imaginable type of meat, salad, vegetable and dessert entrees. Fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Did the Chichen Itza tour, long drive to and from but the information and the Mayan structures were amazing! Again another fabulous lunch buffet included in the price of admission!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
relaxing stay
Business
New York
Mar 14, 2013

relaxing stay

stayed with husband, but will be back with kids in Sept!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

you can bike ride or 7min cab ride!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dark Glass
Business
Maine
May 30, 2014

excellent vacation

The resort is nice and has the charm of a smaller place although it is grouped together with several other RIU properties. The rooms are in smaller buildings on beautifully landscaped grounds. The rooms are large and comfortable, we especially enjoyed the balcony where you could sit outside and have a coffee in the morning or a drink in the evening. This was our first time in a resort with kids but the property Is big enough so you don't necessarily feel the presence of the kids. The beach is phenomenal! It is a 5 minute walk and not nearly as far as some people describe it. With plenty of shade from palm trees, we never had problems with finding a lounge chair. The food was very delicious, we didnt have a problem making a reservation for one of the restaurants but actually the buffet was so good that we didn't really go to the restaurants more than once. The buffet has themed evenings, Mexican, Asian, etc.., the selection is good and the food is delicious. Lunch is at the RIU Yukatan restaurant next to the beach - it is very busy around 1-2pm when everyone goes to lunch. Lunch is plenty and delicious, they never run out of anything. The most annoying part were actually some people who were more than obnoxious when trying to get their food - cutting in line, touching every bread roll on the stand before deciding not to get any, and etc. I suggest going to the restaurant by the pool in RIU Tequila - less crowded and same delicious food. We also liked the RIU Tequila pool and swim up bar - again, much less crowded and nicer atmosphere all around. Don't bother with the resort entertainment program in the evening - go to Playa del Carmen instead. You can walk there (about 30 minutes to the beginning of 5th ave) or take a cab (MX$70 going there and MX$90 coming back). The two big reasons we chose Riu Tequila (other than being the best value for money) were the awesome beach and the proximity to Playa Del Carmen. if you are looking to spend your days on the beach and relax in the evenings, RIU tequila is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend going to 2 places in Playa del Carmen: "El Bodeguita del Medio" - a Cuban bar with live Cuban music and excellent mojitos and "Zenzi" bar - a bar set right on the beach (some of the tables are actually in the sand with different choice of live music every evening (Brazilian salsa was especially good).

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ilana92
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 9, 2014

Great hotel

Great hotel. Friendly staff. Room was simple but very clean. 5-7 min walk to the beach and very close to Playa de Carmen (about 10 min drive). The other reviews are very accurate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Payson, Az
Apr 23, 2010

Impeccable Services

On this trip I enjoyed the Beach Club, Pools, restaurants and bars. In all venues I found the service to be impeccable and the food/beverages to be of excellent quality. Honestly, I can not say a negative word.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiamiFl
Business
Miami Fl
Nov 29, 2009

Excellent!!

Beautiful Hotel! I was very impressed with the service, the dining options and how very well kept all the green areas are. The rooms are big and very clean. It has an excellent location, close to everything you need and the staff is always willing to help you. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
one relaxed chica
Business
boston, ma
Feb 21, 2010

THE place to relax

This was our first all inclusive trip, and we loved every minute of it. The hotel staff works so hard (yet makes it look effortless) to make visitors comfortable and entertained. The shows that they put on at night are not to be missed. We had planned to spend a lot of time at the recently refurbished beach (gorgous and not a far walk if the golf carts are too lazy for you), but the sprawling pool is more than adequate with plenty of comfy deck chairs/towel service, lunch nearby, and palapas if you want shade. The swim up bar is fabluous!!! The food was also delicous: the three restaurants are nice if you want a more intimate experience (view at beach club is fabulous!)but honestly we found the food to be the freshest and most varied at the standard restaurant. What the restaurant does to carve centerpeices out of vegetables and ice is breathtaking... The grounds are beautiful. There are five other RIU hotels in the area that you can visit with your bracelet. We had the opportunity to visit RIU Playacar which seemed perfectly nice but like one long stretch. Since it is on the waterfront, the grounds are thin but long. RIU Tequilla felt much more spread out with curving paths, different views depending on which way one walked, and much more variety. There is abundant wildlife to be seen too. It is cool to be able to check out the other RIUs though if you want to. We took a day trip to vist the Mayan ruins of Coba. Visitors can still climb one of the ancient ruins there and see old ball courts too. I recommend cooling off afterwards by swimming in one of the numerous underground cenotes (underground caves). I can't finish this review without mentioning the friendly and professional concierge staff...Joseph was more than accomodating and even send fresh fruit to the room the night my husband was not feeling well. All in all, I would highly reccomend staying at the RIU Tequilla!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top