$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
104 reviews
vacation

we have had a great time at Tequila. Great stuff, comfort, amenities. Jalisco restarant was great... See full review

  • scroodge
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great hotel

Great hotel. Friendly staff. Room was simple but very clean. 5-7 min walk to the beach and very... See full review

  • Ilana92
  • Jun 9, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 104
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fishfreek
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Aug 18, 2014

Great time at the Tequila!

My wife and I arrived at the Tequila about 1:00pm and check-in was a breeze. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but that was no problem, we had a drink in the air conditioned sports bar while we waited. Shortly after we arrived to our room we found the air conditioning was out. The following morning I called the front desk and we were promptly moved to another building witch was poolside and in a perfect location. The rooms are average, but comfortable with all the amenities you would expect. The Tequila is in a nice tropical setting with lots of palm trees, foliage and wildlife. We also liked the fact that it had great Mexican flair unlike its sister resort across the road, The Yucatan(witch you also share privileges with and is a great resort in its own respect, just a bit too modern for us). The Tequila is not situated on the beach, but that wasn't a problem for us, its only a few minute walk or trolley ride away. By the way the beach is AWSOME! Overall at this resort, we thought the food and drinks were very good. We mostly ate at the buffets, lots to choose from and we always found something great to eat. As far as restaurants, we ate at the Chinese and the steak restaurants and thought they were both great! The steak place is a bit of a drawn out affair, but worth it. The Chinese place is buffet style, but was also very good. As far as entertainment, I can't really comment on that too much. We are early risers and hit the beach by each day by 7:00 to reserve our loungers at the Yucatan. After cocktails and relaxing all day in the sun, we found it difficult to make it past 10:00 each night, so we didn't catch any shows. We have done quite a bit of traveling in the past years to Jamaica and Mexico and have never stayed at the same resort twice, but we are already planning on returning to the Tequila next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lonewolf713
pa
Jul 22, 2014

great vacation

hotel is really big the rooms are great it is nice to have some extra space and not be crammed into a small room.Rooms have a refridge that comes stocked with drinks and also a mini bar with alcohol that is included in all inclusive and restocked every couple of days. The staff all work very hard to keep evreyone happy and keeping hotel looking great. The beach is awesome we walked to town via beach almost every day it takes about 35=40 minutes if you stop to check out area. The beach near the hotel is the best the water is crystal clear. The hotel is located in Playacar which is nice as it is a gated community so there are guards checking who comes in and out. We had a great time will be back soon hopefully!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karibuni
Mwanza, africa
Jul 10, 2014

Location

Is not a ocean front but is close or walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dark Glass
Maine
May 30, 2014

excellent vacation

The resort is nice and has the charm of a smaller place although it is grouped together with several other RIU properties. The rooms are in smaller buildings on beautifully landscaped grounds. The rooms are large and comfortable, we especially enjoyed the balcony where you could sit outside and have a coffee in the morning or a drink in the evening. This was our first time in a resort with kids but the property Is big enough so you don't necessarily feel the presence of the kids. The beach is phenomenal! It is a 5 minute walk and not nearly as far as some people describe it. With plenty of shade from palm trees, we never had problems with finding a lounge chair. The food was very delicious, we didnt have a problem making a reservation for one of the restaurants but actually the buffet was so good that we didn't really go to the restaurants more than once. The buffet has themed evenings, Mexican, Asian, etc.., the selection is good and the food is delicious. Lunch is at the RIU Yukatan restaurant next to the beach - it is very busy around 1-2pm when everyone goes to lunch. Lunch is plenty and delicious, they never run out of anything. The most annoying part were actually some people who were more than obnoxious when trying to get their food - cutting in line, touching every bread roll on the stand before deciding not to get any, and etc. I suggest going to the restaurant by the pool in RIU Tequila - less crowded and same delicious food. We also liked the RIU Tequila pool and swim up bar - again, much less crowded and nicer atmosphere all around. Don't bother with the resort entertainment program in the evening - go to Playa del Carmen instead. You can walk there (about 30 minutes to the beginning of 5th ave) or take a cab (MX$70 going there and MX$90 coming back). The two big reasons we chose Riu Tequila (other than being the best value for money) were the awesome beach and the proximity to Playa Del Carmen. if you are looking to spend your days on the beach and relax in the evenings, RIU tequila is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend going to 2 places in Playa del Carmen: "El Bodeguita del Medio" - a Cuban bar with live Cuban music and excellent mojitos and "Zenzi" bar - a bar set right on the beach (some of the tables are actually in the sand with different choice of live music every evening (Brazilian salsa was especially good).

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMT16
Rochester, NY
Apr 23, 2014

Beautiful Resort!

The hotel is very nice, the Playa Del Carmen area is a very nice gated community. The other RIU Resorts are within walking distance to each other. The beach was across the street which was not a bad walk. There is also a trolly that runs about every 15 minutes to and from the beach. The food was good, nothing special. We are 23-24 this hotel was a good mix of families and younger couples. We did a Turtle snorkel, cave tour and ATV. The ATVs were not worth it, however the other two were. We also went parasailing which we found from someone on the beach. You can deal with them on the price. The beach was beautiful (lots of security to make sure only RIU guests were in the area.) The staff was very friendly. Make sure you tip your bartender and they will make sure you never have an empty glass! The pictures are exactly what the resort is nothing is a surprise. We will be booking again with the RIU Resorts the next time we travel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a US ATM in the shopping center next to the resort! Paying in dollars saves you money. The exchange rate is $1 = 13 pesos!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. Avila
playa del carmen
Nov 7, 2013

relaxing vacation

Our vacation was great. We loved the peoplw at the hotel and the nightly entertaiment. The food was good and the drinks were great. We will be going again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D. Avila
playa del carmen
Oct 31, 2013

Vacation

It was very relaxing and fun vacation. Hotel had great staff and lot of different things to do every night. Good food. Looking forward to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
March Travelers
Massachusetts
Mar 17, 2013

Affordable and Fun!

Decent to good entertainment- wonderful costumes and dancing from the house entertainment! Great Mexican show, and Casino dancers. Two of the specialty restaurants were very average, but the nightly buffet was excellent in quality, variety, and theme. Proliferation of wildlife was disconcerting, but not bothersome. Rooms, t.v., were average, but not a hinderance. We spent very little time there anyway! Beds and pillows were comfortable. We did not mind the walk to the beach. It is not far, and the shuttle was very accessible. We had a great time and look forward to a return trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
relaxing stay
New York
Mar 14, 2013

relaxing stay

stayed with husband, but will be back with kids in Sept!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

you can bike ride or 7min cab ride!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sergey from MN
MN
Jan 21, 2013

Very good for the price

If you are not too lazy to have a nice and shaded 1/2 mile walk or not too impatient to wait 10 min for a small and fun shuttle to reach the beach then it's perfect for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search