$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 25, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
105 reviews
our getway

Our stay at the riu tequila was great. The nightly shows were spectacular. The weather at this time... See full review

  • Eddie DJ
  • Sep 22, 2014
vacation

we have had a great time at Tequila. Great stuff, comfort, amenities. Jalisco restarant was great... See full review

  • scroodge
  • Jun 27, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young unmarried couple who had a blast!!
Business
Dallas, TX
May 27, 2009

Beautiful Hotel; Outstanding Service

Great professional service. Front desk was extremely helpful with everything. $5 taxi ride to downtown Playa del Carmen, would not recommend walking. Beautiful beach that was 20 steps from our room. Room was spotless everyday. Our room was a perfect size for a couple. Had excursion representatives there every morning that helped us pick what to do during our entire stay. Would recommend to everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cheektowaga, NY
May 10, 2009

Riu Palace

Because of the threat of Swine Flu there was a delcine of guests, so the Tequila was closed. Other members of our family were meeting us there, and they placed them in the Riu Palace. They also upgraded us to that Hotel, at no charge. It was the most beautiful hotel. We liked everything about it. The many resturants, the great service, the pool and the rooms were beautiful. Orbitz did a fine job calling us to let us know our flight was leaving on time, they provided the transportation to and from the airport as we included this in our trip cost. We would definitely travel using Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel provided entertainment all day by the pool and every evening. There was no need to leave the resort at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoJac
Business
Coventry, Rhode Island (not Long Island)
Apr 22, 2009

Thanks, Bob!

Our friends from Utah booked this place and we followed on their recommendation. The hotel was perfect for us. Since there were 4 couples all staying here I asked if our rooms could be close-by to one and other and when we arrived they were all in the same building and on the same floor - it was perfect! The hotel has many buildings/rooms so being next to each other made our trip even more fun! When we arrived we were greeted with refreshing drinks from the front desk as we checked-in. The lobby was very open, relaxing, clean and beautiful! Our room was just as nice - large, comfortable and especially clean. Our building was tucked away, but not too far from the pool, restaurants and lobby - the walk to and from everything, etc was just right. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The restaurants were excellent - we tried them all. Loved the Asian cuisine and we like being able to leave the hotel and use the other Rui restaurants at the other hotel, nice change of scenery. The only negative comment was our ice machine in our building was broken but we managed with the one at the next building over..not a very big deal! We definitely would recommend the Rui Tequila - it was a great place and would go back again! THANKS BOB & CATHY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping just a short walk out the front lobby to the main road was just enough. Something for everyone and open at night too - We felt safe too, nothing to make you feel uncomfortable in the least, even with all the negative news coverage lately. The beach was a short walk too, even though the property is not on the beach, it was still a great place!! LOVED IT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Apr 22, 2009

nice place though not on the beach

this was a girls trip just to get away. we did have a great time and i would recommend this resort to anyone as long as you are not looking to be directly on the beach. the beach shuttle was working only about half the time and we had a handicapped person with us so getting to the beach was almost impossible. The pools were very nice though. The resort was very clean and well kept. There were people from other riu resorts at ours because they said we had the best pool. That was nice to hear. The only real complaint was the shuttle. The food was actually quite good for an all-inlcusive resort as was the steak restaurant. That is the only one we tried.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Half Moon Bay, CA
Mar 18, 2009

Very Nice Hotel

This is the second time I've been to this hotel and, overall, I think it is a great deal for the money. I wouldn't have returned a second time if my first experience wasn't as good as it was. There were a couple of disappointments on this second trip. The air conditioning was not working on our first night and despite contacting the front desk about this, they said they would not be able to repair it until the following day - so that night's rest was less than adequate. However, it was fixed the following day. Also, the catamarans were out of use most of the time due to windy weather. There is nothing the hotel can do about this but I thought those of you considering this place (or any other hotel in the Yucatan) should know this may happen to you as well. I would definitely return here a third time since this hotel has so many good points to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Colorado
Mar 10, 2009

The best of Mexico resort living

Fantastic to be able to enjoy the other RIU hotels, Yucatan, Playacar and Lupita, as well as using the Tequila as home base. A very nice walk to town. The hotel staff are exceptional. The food is the best of any hotel (served quantity stye) that I have ever had. I am planning, with 7 others at this time, returning to the Tequila in October 2009 (my 6th). I have recommended the Tequila to many friends and they have been there and enjoyed it as I do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Appreciate the excellent service by tipping the maids and bartenders and do it as you go. Give a few bucks each day, as you will not find harder workers where you live. Your glass will never go empty. If you like to see a smile on people's faces, give a few bucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milton
Jan 1, 2009

beautiful grounds, location

This was our first visit to the the Playa Del Carmen area and we found the Riu Tequila to be a very pleasant surprise. Newly renovated, the lobby, rooms, restaurants, bars, were all very attractive. The staff was friendly and helpful. In particular, the bartenders were always cheerful and working at top speed. We found the walk to the beach, through a shady walkway, to be very pleasant. It took under 10 minutes and it was good to get some exercise. The beach was more crowded than any other Caribbean beach we've visited, but the sand and water were gorgeous and the people watching was terrific. We were able to get loungers in the shade very day, simply by getting to the beach early, which was what we were there for anyway. There are sand whales in the water to help stop erosion and they seem to be working. We travel with our three young-adult children and they really enjoyed themselves. The Tequila has the best nightlife of all the Riu's in the area (or so I'm told), so everyone congregates there, there's a disco that stays open until 2 am. There were beach volley ball games going on all day, which they enjoyed. One day we did parasailing which was affordable and a real experience. Another day, two of us took a cab to Akumal for snorkeling. It was a nice day, with lunch at the restaurant on the beach there. While we try to go to different places each year, I would not hesitate to go back to the Riu Tequila. My only complaint is one that goes for most AI's and that is the quality of the food. While the breakfast buffet is excellent, the lunch and dinners are pretty repetitive and mediocre. Even the a la carte restaurants were forgetable. (And, rather unusual, this resort has two seatings at their a la carte restaurants, 6:45 and 8:45, rather limiting, and the service is quite poor, which sort of defeats the purpose of avoiding the buffets!) We love to try different foods, but for some reason we have never been able to get a really unique meal that seems mexican at the Yucatan AI's, and I'm not just talking about burritos or tacos. However, if I go to the Playa area again I will most definitely budget to eat out a couple of meals in Playa Del Carmen. The cab fare from the Tequila was about $5 and there were endless restaurants that looked interesting. Touristy of course but interesting nonetheless. That being said, we don't go to the Caribbean for the food, but rather for the weather (it was perfect Dec 24-Jan1) and the sand and water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Lancaster, NY
Dec 22, 2008

Great food, friendly staff, good entertainment

The food options and quality were more than I expected! Staff were always friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is very close to this hotel - and you have access to the beach front hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 22, 2008

Had a great great time

Hotel was well worth the money. Only literally a few minutes to the beach..Decent shows, decent food, beautiful pool area, plenty of things to do, friendly staff..good upkeep on the room. Modern room with modern amenities. Good drinks that were flowing all day. Overall a very nice hotel. I was impressed. I would recommend it to everyone. Not a good place for singles at all. Mostly couples and families. Food wasn't anything 5 star but it did the job, big selection. Like I said..For the price I paid I was extremely impressed. Had a great time, my girlfriend had a great time. I'd recommend the place to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Poland
Aug 7, 2008

Our room was very dirty ...

Our room was very dirty and it smelled of mold. The shower head and safe were broken. The room was almost unlivable. Also, it was a 1/2 mile walk to the beach from our room. This certainly isn't ocean front. I will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcerete was fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top