$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
relaxing stay
New York
Mar 14, 2013

relaxing stay

stayed with husband, but will be back with kids in Sept!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

you can bike ride or 7min cab ride!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BKini
Business
Clackamas Oregon
Sep 9, 2009

Riu Tequila Trip August 2009

This resort does an impressive job of maintaining the grounds, common buildings, and rooms and of presenting wonderful meals and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
atcaputo44
Business
Playa Del Carmen
Aug 21, 2009

RIU TEQUILA HEAVEN!

This hotel was amazing!!!! Their customer service is so friendly that they made sure you were having fun every single day. The food was outstanding and the rooms were perfectly sized. Our room had our own minibar of liquor bottles and a fridge that was restocked everyday with soft drinks and water. The swim up bar made the pool that much more fun along with the enormous swimming pool that they have. This is my 3rd time to Playa Del Carmen and this was by far the best time I have every had. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have passport, will travel.
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Aug 7, 2009

Excellent hotel!

This was our first trip to Mexico, but we have been to many all-inclusive resorts around the Caribbean. The resort was very neat and tidy, with a very private feel to it with lots of vegetation lining the sidewalks. The food was good, very comparable to other resorts we've been to, and service at the bars was great. Rarely did we have to ask for a drink, most times the bartenders were asking us if they could refresh our drinks. They were not skimpy on the alcohol at all! Our room was always cleaned by noon and the staff was always very friendly. The resort was in a nice part of the city, and just a short cab ride to the shopping area. The beach was across the road at another Riu, however it was only a 5 minute walk and worth it. Overall, we felt this was a great resort and we would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Jul 9, 2009

A lovely break...

We had a great time doing absolutely nothing. This was our first time at an all-inclusive, and it was a great experience. It was really cool to see the animals in the open the areas around the rooms, we saw a spider monkey, (had to look up what they are when we got home) coatimundi, and agouti, which look like big, long legged guinea pigs. With all the good food at the buffets, I was glad that there was a short walk to the beach. I didn't even get a chance to check out the fitness center, even though I wanted to, because I was too busy relaxing ^-^

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young unmarried couple who had a blast!!
Business
Dallas, TX
May 27, 2009

Beautiful Hotel; Outstanding Service

Great professional service. Front desk was extremely helpful with everything. $5 taxi ride to downtown Playa del Carmen, would not recommend walking. Beautiful beach that was 20 steps from our room. Room was spotless everyday. Our room was a perfect size for a couple. Had excursion representatives there every morning that helped us pick what to do during our entire stay. Would recommend to everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cheektowaga, NY
May 10, 2009

Riu Palace

Because of the threat of Swine Flu there was a delcine of guests, so the Tequila was closed. Other members of our family were meeting us there, and they placed them in the Riu Palace. They also upgraded us to that Hotel, at no charge. It was the most beautiful hotel. We liked everything about it. The many resturants, the great service, the pool and the rooms were beautiful. Orbitz did a fine job calling us to let us know our flight was leaving on time, they provided the transportation to and from the airport as we included this in our trip cost. We would definitely travel using Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel provided entertainment all day by the pool and every evening. There was no need to leave the resort at all.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoJac
Business
Coventry, Rhode Island (not Long Island)
Apr 22, 2009

Thanks, Bob!

Our friends from Utah booked this place and we followed on their recommendation. The hotel was perfect for us. Since there were 4 couples all staying here I asked if our rooms could be close-by to one and other and when we arrived they were all in the same building and on the same floor - it was perfect! The hotel has many buildings/rooms so being next to each other made our trip even more fun! When we arrived we were greeted with refreshing drinks from the front desk as we checked-in. The lobby was very open, relaxing, clean and beautiful! Our room was just as nice - large, comfortable and especially clean. Our building was tucked away, but not too far from the pool, restaurants and lobby - the walk to and from everything, etc was just right. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The restaurants were excellent - we tried them all. Loved the Asian cuisine and we like being able to leave the hotel and use the other Rui restaurants at the other hotel, nice change of scenery. The only negative comment was our ice machine in our building was broken but we managed with the one at the next building over..not a very big deal! We definitely would recommend the Rui Tequila - it was a great place and would go back again! THANKS BOB & CATHY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping just a short walk out the front lobby to the main road was just enough. Something for everyone and open at night too - We felt safe too, nothing to make you feel uncomfortable in the least, even with all the negative news coverage lately. The beach was a short walk too, even though the property is not on the beach, it was still a great place!! LOVED IT!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Apr 22, 2009

nice place though not on the beach

this was a girls trip just to get away. we did have a great time and i would recommend this resort to anyone as long as you are not looking to be directly on the beach. the beach shuttle was working only about half the time and we had a handicapped person with us so getting to the beach was almost impossible. The pools were very nice though. The resort was very clean and well kept. There were people from other riu resorts at ours because they said we had the best pool. That was nice to hear. The only real complaint was the shuttle. The food was actually quite good for an all-inlcusive resort as was the steak restaurant. That is the only one we tried.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Half Moon Bay, CA
Mar 18, 2009

Very Nice Hotel

This is the second time I've been to this hotel and, overall, I think it is a great deal for the money. I wouldn't have returned a second time if my first experience wasn't as good as it was. There were a couple of disappointments on this second trip. The air conditioning was not working on our first night and despite contacting the front desk about this, they said they would not be able to repair it until the following day - so that night's rest was less than adequate. However, it was fixed the following day. Also, the catamarans were out of use most of the time due to windy weather. There is nothing the hotel can do about this but I thought those of you considering this place (or any other hotel in the Yucatan) should know this may happen to you as well. I would definitely return here a third time since this hotel has so many good points to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Colorado
Mar 10, 2009

The best of Mexico resort living

Fantastic to be able to enjoy the other RIU hotels, Yucatan, Playacar and Lupita, as well as using the Tequila as home base. A very nice walk to town. The hotel staff are exceptional. The food is the best of any hotel (served quantity stye) that I have ever had. I am planning, with 7 others at this time, returning to the Tequila in October 2009 (my 6th). I have recommended the Tequila to many friends and they have been there and enjoyed it as I do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Appreciate the excellent service by tipping the maids and bartenders and do it as you go. Give a few bucks each day, as you will not find harder workers where you live. Your glass will never go empty. If you like to see a smile on people's faces, give a few bucks.

Back to menu Return to top