RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
109 reviews
Riu Tequila Again

This was my 8th trip to the Tequila and again, it was consistently good. It's one of the best... See full review

  • ktlktl
  • Nov 19, 2014
Great time and value

we had a great experience at this hotel. Food was very good, facilities very nice,and staff very... See full review

  • Degek
  • Nov 18, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BKini
Business
Clackamas Oregon
Sep 9, 2009

Riu Tequila Trip August 2009

This resort does an impressive job of maintaining the grounds, common buildings, and rooms and of presenting wonderful meals and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
atcaputo44
Business
Playa Del Carmen
Aug 21, 2009

RIU TEQUILA HEAVEN!

This hotel was amazing!!!! Their customer service is so friendly that they made sure you were having fun every single day. The food was outstanding and the rooms were perfectly sized. Our room had our own minibar of liquor bottles and a fridge that was restocked everyday with soft drinks and water. The swim up bar made the pool that much more fun along with the enormous swimming pool that they have. This is my 3rd time to Playa Del Carmen and this was by far the best time I have every had. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BlueGrl Traveler
Business
Monterey County, CA
Aug 7, 2009

Beautiful Hotel! Loved it!

Our hotel was very nice and the staff was really friendly. The rooms were clean and the food was very good. Usually at an all-inclusive, you get tired of the food after 4 or 5 days, but the Riu Tequila had a nice variety and 3 different specialty restaurants to choose from. The only thing about the specialty restaurants that I didn't like was that you had to make your reservations for dinner between 7am-10:30am. There is a limited amount of seating so the earlier you get in line the more likely it is that you'll get a table. The entertainment shows were pretty funny and we always ended our nights at the Sports Bar playing Air Hockey. There are also Billiard tables, Internet and other games (extra charge for Sports Bar activities.) The hotel itself has a beautiful open-air lobby and well tended grounds. It is located in a private community called Playacar. It is well guarded and we didn't have any trouble with overbearing vendors. There is a group of shops located a 5 minute walk away from Riu Tequila. Some of the shops are pricey, but they have pretty and interesting items for sale. We dubbed them the "Five Minute Shops." There is also a bank, pharmacy and a Starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

From the hotel, it is a 30 minute walk to Playa Del Carmen. There, there are shops, restaurants, and the dock to get to Cozumel. The souvenir shops there are less expensive than the Five Minute Shops. If you don't want to walk to Playa Del Carmen, you can get a taxi from the hotel and it will only cost 50 pesos ($3+ depending on the exchange rate). Some of the shops there will accept the American Dollar at a higher rate than the exchange houses so its worth paying with American. Ask for the rate before you pay. Overall my experience at the Riu Tequila and Playa del Carmen was excellent. If you plan to do excursions, I recommend Coba (The only Mayan Pyramid you can still climb) After climbing the pyramid, I recommend a swim in a cenote (underground swimming hole) There is one 15 minutes away from the Coba Ruins. After climbing down from the ruins you will be VERY tired and sweaty. A cool swim is what you will be wanting. Also visit Xcaret at some point during your stay. You don't have to book this trip through the hotel. The hotel is only about a 15 minute taxi ride from Xcaret. The entrance fee is a bit pricey (worth geting the Xcaret Plus Package), but the experience there is worth it. It's part zoo and part ameusment park (no roller coasters). There is an underground river that you can swim and snorkel in. There is so much to do and the park is so big that you should get there early and stay for the closing show. Its a must do!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have passport, will travel.
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Aug 7, 2009

Excellent hotel!

This was our first trip to Mexico, but we have been to many all-inclusive resorts around the Caribbean. The resort was very neat and tidy, with a very private feel to it with lots of vegetation lining the sidewalks. The food was good, very comparable to other resorts we've been to, and service at the bars was great. Rarely did we have to ask for a drink, most times the bartenders were asking us if they could refresh our drinks. They were not skimpy on the alcohol at all! Our room was always cleaned by noon and the staff was always very friendly. The resort was in a nice part of the city, and just a short cab ride to the shopping area. The beach was across the road at another Riu, however it was only a 5 minute walk and worth it. Overall, we felt this was a great resort and we would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Jul 9, 2009

A lovely break...

We had a great time doing absolutely nothing. This was our first time at an all-inclusive, and it was a great experience. It was really cool to see the animals in the open the areas around the rooms, we saw a spider monkey, (had to look up what they are when we got home) coatimundi, and agouti, which look like big, long legged guinea pigs. With all the good food at the buffets, I was glad that there was a short walk to the beach. I didn't even get a chance to check out the fitness center, even though I wanted to, because I was too busy relaxing ^-^

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young unmarried couple who had a blast!!
Business
Dallas, TX
May 27, 2009

Beautiful Hotel; Outstanding Service

Great professional service. Front desk was extremely helpful with everything. $5 taxi ride to downtown Playa del Carmen, would not recommend walking. Beautiful beach that was 20 steps from our room. Room was spotless everyday. Our room was a perfect size for a couple. Had excursion representatives there every morning that helped us pick what to do during our entire stay. Would recommend to everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cheektowaga, NY
May 10, 2009

Riu Palace

Because of the threat of Swine Flu there was a delcine of guests, so the Tequila was closed. Other members of our family were meeting us there, and they placed them in the Riu Palace. They also upgraded us to that Hotel, at no charge. It was the most beautiful hotel. We liked everything about it. The many resturants, the great service, the pool and the rooms were beautiful. Orbitz did a fine job calling us to let us know our flight was leaving on time, they provided the transportation to and from the airport as we included this in our trip cost. We would definitely travel using Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel provided entertainment all day by the pool and every evening. There was no need to leave the resort at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Apr 22, 2009

nice place though not on the beach

this was a girls trip just to get away. we did have a great time and i would recommend this resort to anyone as long as you are not looking to be directly on the beach. the beach shuttle was working only about half the time and we had a handicapped person with us so getting to the beach was almost impossible. The pools were very nice though. The resort was very clean and well kept. There were people from other riu resorts at ours because they said we had the best pool. That was nice to hear. The only real complaint was the shuttle. The food was actually quite good for an all-inlcusive resort as was the steak restaurant. That is the only one we tried.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoJac
Business
Coventry, Rhode Island (not Long Island)
Apr 22, 2009

Thanks, Bob!

Our friends from Utah booked this place and we followed on their recommendation. The hotel was perfect for us. Since there were 4 couples all staying here I asked if our rooms could be close-by to one and other and when we arrived they were all in the same building and on the same floor - it was perfect! The hotel has many buildings/rooms so being next to each other made our trip even more fun! When we arrived we were greeted with refreshing drinks from the front desk as we checked-in. The lobby was very open, relaxing, clean and beautiful! Our room was just as nice - large, comfortable and especially clean. Our building was tucked away, but not too far from the pool, restaurants and lobby - the walk to and from everything, etc was just right. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The restaurants were excellent - we tried them all. Loved the Asian cuisine and we like being able to leave the hotel and use the other Rui restaurants at the other hotel, nice change of scenery. The only negative comment was our ice machine in our building was broken but we managed with the one at the next building over..not a very big deal! We definitely would recommend the Rui Tequila - it was a great place and would go back again! THANKS BOB & CATHY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping just a short walk out the front lobby to the main road was just enough. Something for everyone and open at night too - We felt safe too, nothing to make you feel uncomfortable in the least, even with all the negative news coverage lately. The beach was a short walk too, even though the property is not on the beach, it was still a great place!! LOVED IT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Half Moon Bay, CA
Mar 18, 2009

Very Nice Hotel

This is the second time I've been to this hotel and, overall, I think it is a great deal for the money. I wouldn't have returned a second time if my first experience wasn't as good as it was. There were a couple of disappointments on this second trip. The air conditioning was not working on our first night and despite contacting the front desk about this, they said they would not be able to repair it until the following day - so that night's rest was less than adequate. However, it was fixed the following day. Also, the catamarans were out of use most of the time due to windy weather. There is nothing the hotel can do about this but I thought those of you considering this place (or any other hotel in the Yucatan) should know this may happen to you as well. I would definitely return here a third time since this hotel has so many good points to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top