RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tough Customer
Business
Winnipeg, Canada
Dec 22, 2009

Amazing!!!

We arrived late and still found a great buffet going on!! We relaxed by the pool the first day and booked a ziplining excursion to Aktun Chen through Lomas travel. All week the staff were amazing and very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use pesos as compared to american dollars you will get better deals. If you are staying in playacar the stores in the plaza are actually priced better than the street vendors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiamiFl
Business
Miami Fl
Nov 29, 2009

Excellent!!

Beautiful Hotel! I was very impressed with the service, the dining options and how very well kept all the green areas are. The rooms are big and very clean. It has an excellent location, close to everything you need and the staff is always willing to help you. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My bags are already packed
Business
Connecticut
Nov 6, 2009

Hola! Fabulous

The overall stay was very nice and the staff was very accomodating. As I was checking in and filling out my paperwork, I was provided with a cool fruity drink after 2 hrs in Customs/Immigration, it was very much appreciated. We took a tour to Chichen Itza, which included lunch at the hotel next door. The lunch was buffet-style, but the food was great (much better than at the RIU - although the food at the RIU was not bad - very "cruise-ship" like). The entertainment at the resort was also good. We also had dinner at the "Beach Club" restaurant at the RIU Yucatan, the food was not great, but the view was certainly worth seeing (esp at night). One interesting thing I noticed at the RIU Tequila was there were quite a few cats that were on the premises. They didn't bother you or anything, but I just found it to be odd. All-in-all it was a great trip/stay and I would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rico1969
Business
Buffalo NY
Oct 7, 2009

very nice getaway

I think our only complaint would be as new people to the resort the first meeting felt bad at desk. It didn't give you the feeling of being most welcomed as I have found at other places.The staff beyond there were very good so that didn't hurt our vacation until we needed to talk to anyone at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BKini
Business
Clackamas Oregon
Sep 9, 2009

Riu Tequila Trip August 2009

This resort does an impressive job of maintaining the grounds, common buildings, and rooms and of presenting wonderful meals and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
atcaputo44
Business
Playa Del Carmen
Aug 21, 2009

RIU TEQUILA HEAVEN!

This hotel was amazing!!!! Their customer service is so friendly that they made sure you were having fun every single day. The food was outstanding and the rooms were perfectly sized. Our room had our own minibar of liquor bottles and a fridge that was restocked everyday with soft drinks and water. The swim up bar made the pool that much more fun along with the enormous swimming pool that they have. This is my 3rd time to Playa Del Carmen and this was by far the best time I have every had. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BlueGrl Traveler
Business
Monterey County, CA
Aug 7, 2009

Beautiful Hotel! Loved it!

Our hotel was very nice and the staff was really friendly. The rooms were clean and the food was very good. Usually at an all-inclusive, you get tired of the food after 4 or 5 days, but the Riu Tequila had a nice variety and 3 different specialty restaurants to choose from. The only thing about the specialty restaurants that I didn't like was that you had to make your reservations for dinner between 7am-10:30am. There is a limited amount of seating so the earlier you get in line the more likely it is that you'll get a table. The entertainment shows were pretty funny and we always ended our nights at the Sports Bar playing Air Hockey. There are also Billiard tables, Internet and other games (extra charge for Sports Bar activities.) The hotel itself has a beautiful open-air lobby and well tended grounds. It is located in a private community called Playacar. It is well guarded and we didn't have any trouble with overbearing vendors. There is a group of shops located a 5 minute walk away from Riu Tequila. Some of the shops are pricey, but they have pretty and interesting items for sale. We dubbed them the "Five Minute Shops." There is also a bank, pharmacy and a Starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

From the hotel, it is a 30 minute walk to Playa Del Carmen. There, there are shops, restaurants, and the dock to get to Cozumel. The souvenir shops there are less expensive than the Five Minute Shops. If you don't want to walk to Playa Del Carmen, you can get a taxi from the hotel and it will only cost 50 pesos ($3+ depending on the exchange rate). Some of the shops there will accept the American Dollar at a higher rate than the exchange houses so its worth paying with American. Ask for the rate before you pay. Overall my experience at the Riu Tequila and Playa del Carmen was excellent. If you plan to do excursions, I recommend Coba (The only Mayan Pyramid you can still climb) After climbing the pyramid, I recommend a swim in a cenote (underground swimming hole) There is one 15 minutes away from the Coba Ruins. After climbing down from the ruins you will be VERY tired and sweaty. A cool swim is what you will be wanting. Also visit Xcaret at some point during your stay. You don't have to book this trip through the hotel. The hotel is only about a 15 minute taxi ride from Xcaret. The entrance fee is a bit pricey (worth geting the Xcaret Plus Package), but the experience there is worth it. It's part zoo and part ameusment park (no roller coasters). There is an underground river that you can swim and snorkel in. There is so much to do and the park is so big that you should get there early and stay for the closing show. Its a must do!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have passport, will travel.
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Aug 7, 2009

Excellent hotel!

This was our first trip to Mexico, but we have been to many all-inclusive resorts around the Caribbean. The resort was very neat and tidy, with a very private feel to it with lots of vegetation lining the sidewalks. The food was good, very comparable to other resorts we've been to, and service at the bars was great. Rarely did we have to ask for a drink, most times the bartenders were asking us if they could refresh our drinks. They were not skimpy on the alcohol at all! Our room was always cleaned by noon and the staff was always very friendly. The resort was in a nice part of the city, and just a short cab ride to the shopping area. The beach was across the road at another Riu, however it was only a 5 minute walk and worth it. Overall, we felt this was a great resort and we would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Jul 9, 2009

A lovely break...

We had a great time doing absolutely nothing. This was our first time at an all-inclusive, and it was a great experience. It was really cool to see the animals in the open the areas around the rooms, we saw a spider monkey, (had to look up what they are when we got home) coatimundi, and agouti, which look like big, long legged guinea pigs. With all the good food at the buffets, I was glad that there was a short walk to the beach. I didn't even get a chance to check out the fitness center, even though I wanted to, because I was too busy relaxing ^-^

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young unmarried couple who had a blast!!
Business
Dallas, TX
May 27, 2009

Beautiful Hotel; Outstanding Service

Great professional service. Front desk was extremely helpful with everything. $5 taxi ride to downtown Playa del Carmen, would not recommend walking. Beautiful beach that was 20 steps from our room. Room was spotless everyday. Our room was a perfect size for a couple. Had excursion representatives there every morning that helped us pick what to do during our entire stay. Would recommend to everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top