$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Preston, WA
Feb 24, 2010

The Perfect Get away

So many side trips to choose from. The Three guided tours we really enjoyed were: Rio Secreto Nature Reserve, Dive Mike Caribbean diving, and the Mayan Xtreme over the edge. Then for fun we took the ferry to Cozamel and spent the day shopping in the plaza market

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go to 5th Avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
one relaxed chica
Business
boston, ma
Feb 21, 2010

THE place to relax

This was our first all inclusive trip, and we loved every minute of it. The hotel staff works so hard (yet makes it look effortless) to make visitors comfortable and entertained. The shows that they put on at night are not to be missed. We had planned to spend a lot of time at the recently refurbished beach (gorgous and not a far walk if the golf carts are too lazy for you), but the sprawling pool is more than adequate with plenty of comfy deck chairs/towel service, lunch nearby, and palapas if you want shade. The swim up bar is fabluous!!! The food was also delicous: the three restaurants are nice if you want a more intimate experience (view at beach club is fabulous!)but honestly we found the food to be the freshest and most varied at the standard restaurant. What the restaurant does to carve centerpeices out of vegetables and ice is breathtaking... The grounds are beautiful. There are five other RIU hotels in the area that you can visit with your bracelet. We had the opportunity to visit RIU Playacar which seemed perfectly nice but like one long stretch. Since it is on the waterfront, the grounds are thin but long. RIU Tequilla felt much more spread out with curving paths, different views depending on which way one walked, and much more variety. There is abundant wildlife to be seen too. It is cool to be able to check out the other RIUs though if you want to. We took a day trip to vist the Mayan ruins of Coba. Visitors can still climb one of the ancient ruins there and see old ball courts too. I recommend cooling off afterwards by swimming in one of the numerous underground cenotes (underground caves). I can't finish this review without mentioning the friendly and professional concierge staff...Joseph was more than accomodating and even send fresh fruit to the room the night my husband was not feeling well. All in all, I would highly reccomend staying at the RIU Tequilla!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Feb 14, 2010

Riu Tequla

Fourth Riu vacation in Playacar area in last two years. Always happy with Riu experience. Unfortunately timed it with beach restoration project but that wasn't Riu's fault. Prefer Riu Palace Riviera Maya, but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book specialty restaurants on the way in to breakfast buffet in the morning

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tough Customer
Business
Winnipeg, Canada
Dec 22, 2009

Amazing!!!

We arrived late and still found a great buffet going on!! We relaxed by the pool the first day and booked a ziplining excursion to Aktun Chen through Lomas travel. All week the staff were amazing and very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use pesos as compared to american dollars you will get better deals. If you are staying in playacar the stores in the plaza are actually priced better than the street vendors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiamiFl
Business
Miami Fl
Nov 29, 2009

Excellent!!

Beautiful Hotel! I was very impressed with the service, the dining options and how very well kept all the green areas are. The rooms are big and very clean. It has an excellent location, close to everything you need and the staff is always willing to help you. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My bags are already packed
Business
Connecticut
Nov 6, 2009

Hola! Fabulous

The overall stay was very nice and the staff was very accomodating. As I was checking in and filling out my paperwork, I was provided with a cool fruity drink after 2 hrs in Customs/Immigration, it was very much appreciated. We took a tour to Chichen Itza, which included lunch at the hotel next door. The lunch was buffet-style, but the food was great (much better than at the RIU - although the food at the RIU was not bad - very "cruise-ship" like). The entertainment at the resort was also good. We also had dinner at the "Beach Club" restaurant at the RIU Yucatan, the food was not great, but the view was certainly worth seeing (esp at night). One interesting thing I noticed at the RIU Tequila was there were quite a few cats that were on the premises. They didn't bother you or anything, but I just found it to be odd. All-in-all it was a great trip/stay and I would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rico1969
Business
Buffalo NY
Oct 7, 2009

very nice getaway

I think our only complaint would be as new people to the resort the first meeting felt bad at desk. It didn't give you the feeling of being most welcomed as I have found at other places.The staff beyond there were very good so that didn't hurt our vacation until we needed to talk to anyone at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BKini
Business
Clackamas Oregon
Sep 9, 2009

Riu Tequila Trip August 2009

This resort does an impressive job of maintaining the grounds, common buildings, and rooms and of presenting wonderful meals and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
atcaputo44
Business
Playa Del Carmen
Aug 21, 2009

RIU TEQUILA HEAVEN!

This hotel was amazing!!!! Their customer service is so friendly that they made sure you were having fun every single day. The food was outstanding and the rooms were perfectly sized. Our room had our own minibar of liquor bottles and a fridge that was restocked everyday with soft drinks and water. The swim up bar made the pool that much more fun along with the enormous swimming pool that they have. This is my 3rd time to Playa Del Carmen and this was by far the best time I have every had. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BlueGrl Traveler
Business
Monterey County, CA
Aug 7, 2009

Beautiful Hotel! Loved it!

Our hotel was very nice and the staff was really friendly. The rooms were clean and the food was very good. Usually at an all-inclusive, you get tired of the food after 4 or 5 days, but the Riu Tequila had a nice variety and 3 different specialty restaurants to choose from. The only thing about the specialty restaurants that I didn't like was that you had to make your reservations for dinner between 7am-10:30am. There is a limited amount of seating so the earlier you get in line the more likely it is that you'll get a table. The entertainment shows were pretty funny and we always ended our nights at the Sports Bar playing Air Hockey. There are also Billiard tables, Internet and other games (extra charge for Sports Bar activities.) The hotel itself has a beautiful open-air lobby and well tended grounds. It is located in a private community called Playacar. It is well guarded and we didn't have any trouble with overbearing vendors. There is a group of shops located a 5 minute walk away from Riu Tequila. Some of the shops are pricey, but they have pretty and interesting items for sale. We dubbed them the "Five Minute Shops." There is also a bank, pharmacy and a Starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

From the hotel, it is a 30 minute walk to Playa Del Carmen. There, there are shops, restaurants, and the dock to get to Cozumel. The souvenir shops there are less expensive than the Five Minute Shops. If you don't want to walk to Playa Del Carmen, you can get a taxi from the hotel and it will only cost 50 pesos ($3+ depending on the exchange rate). Some of the shops there will accept the American Dollar at a higher rate than the exchange houses so its worth paying with American. Ask for the rate before you pay. Overall my experience at the Riu Tequila and Playa del Carmen was excellent. If you plan to do excursions, I recommend Coba (The only Mayan Pyramid you can still climb) After climbing the pyramid, I recommend a swim in a cenote (underground swimming hole) There is one 15 minutes away from the Coba Ruins. After climbing down from the ruins you will be VERY tired and sweaty. A cool swim is what you will be wanting. Also visit Xcaret at some point during your stay. You don't have to book this trip through the hotel. The hotel is only about a 15 minute taxi ride from Xcaret. The entrance fee is a bit pricey (worth geting the Xcaret Plus Package), but the experience there is worth it. It's part zoo and part ameusment park (no roller coasters). There is an underground river that you can swim and snorkel in. There is so much to do and the park is so big that you should get there early and stay for the closing show. Its a must do!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top