RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
110 reviews
Riu Tequila Again

This was my 8th trip to the Tequila and again, it was consistently good. It's one of the best... See full review

  • ktlktl
  • Nov 19, 2014
Great time and value

we had a great experience at this hotel. Food was very good, facilities very nice,and staff very... See full review

  • Degek
  • Nov 18, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Mar 11, 2010

A disappointing holiday

A much less satisfatory hotel than the Riu Cancun I stayed at 3 years ago and which I enjoyed for 3 weeks. RIU TEQUILA is far away from Playa del Carmen. 3.5 kms to get to the exit of the Playacar compound; then you need to add another 2 kms to get to the nice parts of the village. No buses are available from the hotels to the village; only an expensive taxi ride ($10.00 return from the entrance of Playacar to the hotels. Result: I only went to the village once in 2 weeks and bought nothing because the beginning of the village, next to the Playacar compound, has been commercialized in the ugliest and cheapest way possible and was a complete turn-off.The prices, however are far from cheap. There are new hotels downtown Playa del Carmen which would offer a much more satisfactory holiday. None of the restaurants are very good or even good. My first dinner in the main restaurant was excellent; after that it went downhill steadily. The Steak restaurant serves meat that is tough; the Oriental restaurant is average; the beach restaurant is poor. None of the restaurants were anywhere close to being on a par with the RIU CANCUN restaurants where I stayed 3 weeks for the price it cost me for 2 at the TEQUILA. Of course, that was 3 years ago, but still . . . I felt trapped at the TEQUILA. I am middle-aged but in decent shape. However a solid 10kms-a-day walk to go anywhere is not my cup of tea. They have a golf-cart to take clients to the beach. Why can't they have one to take them to the entrance of the PLayacar compound? I certainly would not go back nor recommend it to friends. It's a pity because I had been to Playa del Carmen some years ago in a little hotel downtown and had loved it. They were building Playacar at the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The evenings shows about 4 nights a week were good. The sound, though, was poor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alicia and Alex
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 8, 2010

We LOVED our stay at RIU Tequila!!!

We absolutely loved, loved, loved our stay! It was very relaxing, re-energizing and satisfying 6-day get-away. The hotel is super clean, the staff is awesome, and the buffet left us speechless and full. There were still homeless cats and some other weird-looking creatures, but it really did not spoil the comfort of the hotel. We went to visit one of our friends at a different hotel and what a difference: dirty and depressing rooms, dirty bars and facilities, unfriendly staff. RIU Tequila is always full! We booked 8 weeks prior to our trip, and 2 weeks after our booking the hotel disappeared from [...] (it was ALL booked up!!!). The housekeeper kept leaving cute swans, elephants, doggies made out of the towels. Several things that would make it even a better hotel: bathroom robes, slippers (the floor was always cold), and a little heater. The rooms were a bit damp in the evening especially if it was not a very hot day. So bring warm pajamas, it will help! :) Also, my bf and I were looking forward to soaking in jacuzzi, but it was small and located on the 2nd floor at the Spa Center. Was not the best location, but we survived! The buffet was awesome. We could use the buffet facilities at other RIU hotels: Yucatan and etc. It was very useful. We soaked in the sun all day long and went for lunches right at the beach (RIU Yucatan facilities are right off the beach). The food was delicious and had all sorts of food even french fries and pizza for picky little eaters! Coconuts right on the beach!!! Yam! Several times we woke up at 7 am to book specialty restaurants, but we found the buffet much more satisfying! Maybe steakhouse was the only good alternative. Asian restaurant was nothing special at all! :) The walk to the beach is short and very beautiful. You can always take a little golf cart there. Perfect!!! It an awesome hotel for the money you pay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't take an expensive taxi to the hotel. Take ADO bus for $105 pesos - $10 (from the airport to Playa Del Carmen) and then take a $5 cab straight to the hotel. The buses leave every 30 minutes. http://www.ado.com.mx/ado/index.jsp The cabs park right by the bus station. Change $ for pesos there. It is a better rate: $1:13 pesos. Also, bring warm pjs and slippers. Nights could be a bit chilly and the hotel rooms do not have heaters. It's Mexico!!! :) Take advantage of the free activities offered by the hotel: air gun shooting, water polo, volleyball and etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeville, MN
Feb 28, 2010

Great place to meet Europeans

The food was good for an all Inclusive, the food at the speciality dinners was better. The entertainment was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not book your tours at the hotels. We found that on one tour we paid $20 more than the other people in our van for the exact same tour. On our other outing the person who set up our tour misquoted us as well as others at other hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Preston, WA
Feb 24, 2010

The Perfect Get away

So many side trips to choose from. The Three guided tours we really enjoyed were: Rio Secreto Nature Reserve, Dive Mike Caribbean diving, and the Mayan Xtreme over the edge. Then for fun we took the ferry to Cozamel and spent the day shopping in the plaza market

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go to 5th Avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
one relaxed chica
Business
boston, ma
Feb 21, 2010

THE place to relax

This was our first all inclusive trip, and we loved every minute of it. The hotel staff works so hard (yet makes it look effortless) to make visitors comfortable and entertained. The shows that they put on at night are not to be missed. We had planned to spend a lot of time at the recently refurbished beach (gorgous and not a far walk if the golf carts are too lazy for you), but the sprawling pool is more than adequate with plenty of comfy deck chairs/towel service, lunch nearby, and palapas if you want shade. The swim up bar is fabluous!!! The food was also delicous: the three restaurants are nice if you want a more intimate experience (view at beach club is fabulous!)but honestly we found the food to be the freshest and most varied at the standard restaurant. What the restaurant does to carve centerpeices out of vegetables and ice is breathtaking... The grounds are beautiful. There are five other RIU hotels in the area that you can visit with your bracelet. We had the opportunity to visit RIU Playacar which seemed perfectly nice but like one long stretch. Since it is on the waterfront, the grounds are thin but long. RIU Tequilla felt much more spread out with curving paths, different views depending on which way one walked, and much more variety. There is abundant wildlife to be seen too. It is cool to be able to check out the other RIUs though if you want to. We took a day trip to vist the Mayan ruins of Coba. Visitors can still climb one of the ancient ruins there and see old ball courts too. I recommend cooling off afterwards by swimming in one of the numerous underground cenotes (underground caves). I can't finish this review without mentioning the friendly and professional concierge staff...Joseph was more than accomodating and even send fresh fruit to the room the night my husband was not feeling well. All in all, I would highly reccomend staying at the RIU Tequilla!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Feb 14, 2010

Riu Tequla

Fourth Riu vacation in Playacar area in last two years. Always happy with Riu experience. Unfortunately timed it with beach restoration project but that wasn't Riu's fault. Prefer Riu Palace Riviera Maya, but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book specialty restaurants on the way in to breakfast buffet in the morning

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tough Customer
Business
Winnipeg, Canada
Dec 22, 2009

Amazing!!!

We arrived late and still found a great buffet going on!! We relaxed by the pool the first day and booked a ziplining excursion to Aktun Chen through Lomas travel. All week the staff were amazing and very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use pesos as compared to american dollars you will get better deals. If you are staying in playacar the stores in the plaza are actually priced better than the street vendors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiamiFl
Business
Miami Fl
Nov 29, 2009

Excellent!!

Beautiful Hotel! I was very impressed with the service, the dining options and how very well kept all the green areas are. The rooms are big and very clean. It has an excellent location, close to everything you need and the staff is always willing to help you. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My bags are already packed
Business
Connecticut
Nov 6, 2009

Hola! Fabulous

The overall stay was very nice and the staff was very accomodating. As I was checking in and filling out my paperwork, I was provided with a cool fruity drink after 2 hrs in Customs/Immigration, it was very much appreciated. We took a tour to Chichen Itza, which included lunch at the hotel next door. The lunch was buffet-style, but the food was great (much better than at the RIU - although the food at the RIU was not bad - very "cruise-ship" like). The entertainment at the resort was also good. We also had dinner at the "Beach Club" restaurant at the RIU Yucatan, the food was not great, but the view was certainly worth seeing (esp at night). One interesting thing I noticed at the RIU Tequila was there were quite a few cats that were on the premises. They didn't bother you or anything, but I just found it to be odd. All-in-all it was a great trip/stay and I would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rico1969
Business
Buffalo NY
Oct 7, 2009

very nice getaway

I think our only complaint would be as new people to the resort the first meeting felt bad at desk. It didn't give you the feeling of being most welcomed as I have found at other places.The staff beyond there were very good so that didn't hurt our vacation until we needed to talk to anyone at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top