$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
105 reviews
our getway

Our stay at the riu tequila was great. The nightly shows were spectacular. The weather at this time... See full review

  • Eddie DJ
  • Sep 22, 2014
vacation

we have had a great time at Tequila. Great stuff, comfort, amenities. Jalisco restarant was great... See full review

  • scroodge
  • Jun 27, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Feb 14, 2010

Riu Tequla

Fourth Riu vacation in Playacar area in last two years. Always happy with Riu experience. Unfortunately timed it with beach restoration project but that wasn't Riu's fault. Prefer Riu Palace Riviera Maya, but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book specialty restaurants on the way in to breakfast buffet in the morning

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tough Customer
Business
Winnipeg, Canada
Dec 22, 2009

Amazing!!!

We arrived late and still found a great buffet going on!! We relaxed by the pool the first day and booked a ziplining excursion to Aktun Chen through Lomas travel. All week the staff were amazing and very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use pesos as compared to american dollars you will get better deals. If you are staying in playacar the stores in the plaza are actually priced better than the street vendors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiamiFl
Business
Miami Fl
Nov 29, 2009

Excellent!!

Beautiful Hotel! I was very impressed with the service, the dining options and how very well kept all the green areas are. The rooms are big and very clean. It has an excellent location, close to everything you need and the staff is always willing to help you. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My bags are already packed
Business
Connecticut
Nov 6, 2009

Hola! Fabulous

The overall stay was very nice and the staff was very accomodating. As I was checking in and filling out my paperwork, I was provided with a cool fruity drink after 2 hrs in Customs/Immigration, it was very much appreciated. We took a tour to Chichen Itza, which included lunch at the hotel next door. The lunch was buffet-style, but the food was great (much better than at the RIU - although the food at the RIU was not bad - very "cruise-ship" like). The entertainment at the resort was also good. We also had dinner at the "Beach Club" restaurant at the RIU Yucatan, the food was not great, but the view was certainly worth seeing (esp at night). One interesting thing I noticed at the RIU Tequila was there were quite a few cats that were on the premises. They didn't bother you or anything, but I just found it to be odd. All-in-all it was a great trip/stay and I would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rico1969
Business
Buffalo NY
Oct 7, 2009

very nice getaway

I think our only complaint would be as new people to the resort the first meeting felt bad at desk. It didn't give you the feeling of being most welcomed as I have found at other places.The staff beyond there were very good so that didn't hurt our vacation until we needed to talk to anyone at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BKini
Business
Clackamas Oregon
Sep 9, 2009

Riu Tequila Trip August 2009

This resort does an impressive job of maintaining the grounds, common buildings, and rooms and of presenting wonderful meals and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
atcaputo44
Business
Playa Del Carmen
Aug 21, 2009

RIU TEQUILA HEAVEN!

This hotel was amazing!!!! Their customer service is so friendly that they made sure you were having fun every single day. The food was outstanding and the rooms were perfectly sized. Our room had our own minibar of liquor bottles and a fridge that was restocked everyday with soft drinks and water. The swim up bar made the pool that much more fun along with the enormous swimming pool that they have. This is my 3rd time to Playa Del Carmen and this was by far the best time I have every had. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BlueGrl Traveler
Business
Monterey County, CA
Aug 7, 2009

Beautiful Hotel! Loved it!

Our hotel was very nice and the staff was really friendly. The rooms were clean and the food was very good. Usually at an all-inclusive, you get tired of the food after 4 or 5 days, but the Riu Tequila had a nice variety and 3 different specialty restaurants to choose from. The only thing about the specialty restaurants that I didn't like was that you had to make your reservations for dinner between 7am-10:30am. There is a limited amount of seating so the earlier you get in line the more likely it is that you'll get a table. The entertainment shows were pretty funny and we always ended our nights at the Sports Bar playing Air Hockey. There are also Billiard tables, Internet and other games (extra charge for Sports Bar activities.) The hotel itself has a beautiful open-air lobby and well tended grounds. It is located in a private community called Playacar. It is well guarded and we didn't have any trouble with overbearing vendors. There is a group of shops located a 5 minute walk away from Riu Tequila. Some of the shops are pricey, but they have pretty and interesting items for sale. We dubbed them the "Five Minute Shops." There is also a bank, pharmacy and a Starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

From the hotel, it is a 30 minute walk to Playa Del Carmen. There, there are shops, restaurants, and the dock to get to Cozumel. The souvenir shops there are less expensive than the Five Minute Shops. If you don't want to walk to Playa Del Carmen, you can get a taxi from the hotel and it will only cost 50 pesos ($3+ depending on the exchange rate). Some of the shops there will accept the American Dollar at a higher rate than the exchange houses so its worth paying with American. Ask for the rate before you pay. Overall my experience at the Riu Tequila and Playa del Carmen was excellent. If you plan to do excursions, I recommend Coba (The only Mayan Pyramid you can still climb) After climbing the pyramid, I recommend a swim in a cenote (underground swimming hole) There is one 15 minutes away from the Coba Ruins. After climbing down from the ruins you will be VERY tired and sweaty. A cool swim is what you will be wanting. Also visit Xcaret at some point during your stay. You don't have to book this trip through the hotel. The hotel is only about a 15 minute taxi ride from Xcaret. The entrance fee is a bit pricey (worth geting the Xcaret Plus Package), but the experience there is worth it. It's part zoo and part ameusment park (no roller coasters). There is an underground river that you can swim and snorkel in. There is so much to do and the park is so big that you should get there early and stay for the closing show. Its a must do!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have passport, will travel.
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Aug 7, 2009

Excellent hotel!

This was our first trip to Mexico, but we have been to many all-inclusive resorts around the Caribbean. The resort was very neat and tidy, with a very private feel to it with lots of vegetation lining the sidewalks. The food was good, very comparable to other resorts we've been to, and service at the bars was great. Rarely did we have to ask for a drink, most times the bartenders were asking us if they could refresh our drinks. They were not skimpy on the alcohol at all! Our room was always cleaned by noon and the staff was always very friendly. The resort was in a nice part of the city, and just a short cab ride to the shopping area. The beach was across the road at another Riu, however it was only a 5 minute walk and worth it. Overall, we felt this was a great resort and we would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Jul 9, 2009

A lovely break...

We had a great time doing absolutely nothing. This was our first time at an all-inclusive, and it was a great experience. It was really cool to see the animals in the open the areas around the rooms, we saw a spider monkey, (had to look up what they are when we got home) coatimundi, and agouti, which look like big, long legged guinea pigs. With all the good food at the buffets, I was glad that there was a short walk to the beach. I didn't even get a chance to check out the fitness center, even though I wanted to, because I was too busy relaxing ^-^

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top