$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
105 reviews
our getway

Our stay at the riu tequila was great. The nightly shows were spectacular. The weather at this time... See full review

  • Eddie DJ
  • Sep 22, 2014
vacation

we have had a great time at Tequila. Great stuff, comfort, amenities. Jalisco restarant was great... See full review

  • scroodge
  • Jun 27, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sam zamir
houston,texas
Mar 13, 2013

very relaxing

loved the resort and the freedom to visit other resorts,loved the staff,loved the location,food was good,did not like the 90 minute free wifi only in the lobby as everyone seemed to use at once!! was charged for 3 beds for 3 adults but got 2 beds and an army bed that a 6ft person can not sleep on!! not sure if this was a booking mistake or the hotel?over all i will go back again mainly because of the friendly staff and the peace and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

the steak house and the japanese buffet was excellent but dont eat at their mexican resturant you are better off going to the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alorocky
Murrieta, CA
Apr 9, 2012

Very good hotel for the price

It is a very good hotel, food is the best all over. I have timeshare with westin regina and sandos hotel chains, but I always book this riu tequila for at least 3 nights when we are in Playa del Carmen, it is worth. Don't hesitate to book here, you won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss CocoBongo, it's a great show. If you go to Cozumel, do not rent those "buggys". The one we rented broke in the farest side of the island, have to ask for a ride to other tourists, and we got nothing back from the rental company. These buggys should be banned, total no safety, no rear mirrors, suspension to roll over in a second, no horn, no lights, nothing. BEWARE. Better rent a scooter if possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cheektowaga, NY
May 10, 2009

Riu Palace

Because of the threat of Swine Flu there was a delcine of guests, so the Tequila was closed. Other members of our family were meeting us there, and they placed them in the Riu Palace. They also upgraded us to that Hotel, at no charge. It was the most beautiful hotel. We liked everything about it. The many resturants, the great service, the pool and the rooms were beautiful. Orbitz did a fine job calling us to let us know our flight was leaving on time, they provided the transportation to and from the airport as we included this in our trip cost. We would definitely travel using Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel provided entertainment all day by the pool and every evening. There was no need to leave the resort at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dark Glass
Maine
May 30, 2014

excellent vacation

The resort is nice and has the charm of a smaller place although it is grouped together with several other RIU properties. The rooms are in smaller buildings on beautifully landscaped grounds. The rooms are large and comfortable, we especially enjoyed the balcony where you could sit outside and have a coffee in the morning or a drink in the evening. This was our first time in a resort with kids but the property Is big enough so you don't necessarily feel the presence of the kids. The beach is phenomenal! It is a 5 minute walk and not nearly as far as some people describe it. With plenty of shade from palm trees, we never had problems with finding a lounge chair. The food was very delicious, we didnt have a problem making a reservation for one of the restaurants but actually the buffet was so good that we didn't really go to the restaurants more than once. The buffet has themed evenings, Mexican, Asian, etc.., the selection is good and the food is delicious. Lunch is at the RIU Yukatan restaurant next to the beach - it is very busy around 1-2pm when everyone goes to lunch. Lunch is plenty and delicious, they never run out of anything. The most annoying part were actually some people who were more than obnoxious when trying to get their food - cutting in line, touching every bread roll on the stand before deciding not to get any, and etc. I suggest going to the restaurant by the pool in RIU Tequila - less crowded and same delicious food. We also liked the RIU Tequila pool and swim up bar - again, much less crowded and nicer atmosphere all around. Don't bother with the resort entertainment program in the evening - go to Playa del Carmen instead. You can walk there (about 30 minutes to the beginning of 5th ave) or take a cab (MX$70 going there and MX$90 coming back). The two big reasons we chose Riu Tequila (other than being the best value for money) were the awesome beach and the proximity to Playa Del Carmen. if you are looking to spend your days on the beach and relax in the evenings, RIU tequila is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend going to 2 places in Playa del Carmen: "El Bodeguita del Medio" - a Cuban bar with live Cuban music and excellent mojitos and "Zenzi" bar - a bar set right on the beach (some of the tables are actually in the sand with different choice of live music every evening (Brazilian salsa was especially good).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alicia and Alex
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 8, 2010

We LOVED our stay at RIU Tequila!!!

We absolutely loved, loved, loved our stay! It was very relaxing, re-energizing and satisfying 6-day get-away. The hotel is super clean, the staff is awesome, and the buffet left us speechless and full. There were still homeless cats and some other weird-looking creatures, but it really did not spoil the comfort of the hotel. We went to visit one of our friends at a different hotel and what a difference: dirty and depressing rooms, dirty bars and facilities, unfriendly staff. RIU Tequila is always full! We booked 8 weeks prior to our trip, and 2 weeks after our booking the hotel disappeared from [...] (it was ALL booked up!!!). The housekeeper kept leaving cute swans, elephants, doggies made out of the towels. Several things that would make it even a better hotel: bathroom robes, slippers (the floor was always cold), and a little heater. The rooms were a bit damp in the evening especially if it was not a very hot day. So bring warm pajamas, it will help! :) Also, my bf and I were looking forward to soaking in jacuzzi, but it was small and located on the 2nd floor at the Spa Center. Was not the best location, but we survived! The buffet was awesome. We could use the buffet facilities at other RIU hotels: Yucatan and etc. It was very useful. We soaked in the sun all day long and went for lunches right at the beach (RIU Yucatan facilities are right off the beach). The food was delicious and had all sorts of food even french fries and pizza for picky little eaters! Coconuts right on the beach!!! Yam! Several times we woke up at 7 am to book specialty restaurants, but we found the buffet much more satisfying! Maybe steakhouse was the only good alternative. Asian restaurant was nothing special at all! :) The walk to the beach is short and very beautiful. You can always take a little golf cart there. Perfect!!! It an awesome hotel for the money you pay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't take an expensive taxi to the hotel. Take ADO bus for $105 pesos - $10 (from the airport to Playa Del Carmen) and then take a $5 cab straight to the hotel. The buses leave every 30 minutes. http://www.ado.com.mx/ado/index.jsp The cabs park right by the bus station. Change $ for pesos there. It is a better rate: $1:13 pesos. Also, bring warm pjs and slippers. Nights could be a bit chilly and the hotel rooms do not have heaters. It's Mexico!!! :) Take advantage of the free activities offered by the hotel: air gun shooting, water polo, volleyball and etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gosha
Poland
May 10, 2012

Great vacations

It was a great hotel. Very clean, nice rooms. They changed towels every day, and cleaned the room nicely. We had a mini bar with different kind of alcohols, filled out every second day. The small fridge was fool of sodas and bottled water. The food was good, great selection of everything. The restaurant also provided different kind of dinners every day (Japanese, Italian etc.). The hotel amenities were very nice. The bars provided wonderful drinks till late at night. There was one open 24h/day. The hotel areas was beautiful. With many trees, palms, and bushes well kept! It was great to walk in the shades. The hotel was just beautiful, we would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, Colorado
Mar 10, 2009

The best of Mexico resort living

Fantastic to be able to enjoy the other RIU hotels, Yucatan, Playacar and Lupita, as well as using the Tequila as home base. A very nice walk to town. The hotel staff are exceptional. The food is the best of any hotel (served quantity stye) that I have ever had. I am planning, with 7 others at this time, returning to the Tequila in October 2009 (my 6th). I have recommended the Tequila to many friends and they have been there and enjoyed it as I do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Appreciate the excellent service by tipping the maids and bartenders and do it as you go. Give a few bucks each day, as you will not find harder workers where you live. Your glass will never go empty. If you like to see a smile on people's faces, give a few bucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddie DJ
Tucson, Arizona
Sep 22, 2014

our getway

Our stay at the riu tequila was great. The nightly shows were spectacular. The weather at this time of the year was warm & humid, but bearable. We spent a lot of time in the pool area with plenty of drinks at our disposable. We met a lot of people from England, Scotland & Ireland. The food at the buffets was good and plentiful. We will surely be back next year for yet, another great week of fun & relaxation. Thanks,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Or take a cab for $7.00 one way, for up to 4 people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
one relaxed chica
boston, ma
Feb 21, 2010

THE place to relax

This was our first all inclusive trip, and we loved every minute of it. The hotel staff works so hard (yet makes it look effortless) to make visitors comfortable and entertained. The shows that they put on at night are not to be missed. We had planned to spend a lot of time at the recently refurbished beach (gorgous and not a far walk if the golf carts are too lazy for you), but the sprawling pool is more than adequate with plenty of comfy deck chairs/towel service, lunch nearby, and palapas if you want shade. The swim up bar is fabluous!!! The food was also delicous: the three restaurants are nice if you want a more intimate experience (view at beach club is fabulous!)but honestly we found the food to be the freshest and most varied at the standard restaurant. What the restaurant does to carve centerpeices out of vegetables and ice is breathtaking... The grounds are beautiful. There are five other RIU hotels in the area that you can visit with your bracelet. We had the opportunity to visit RIU Playacar which seemed perfectly nice but like one long stretch. Since it is on the waterfront, the grounds are thin but long. RIU Tequilla felt much more spread out with curving paths, different views depending on which way one walked, and much more variety. There is abundant wildlife to be seen too. It is cool to be able to check out the other RIUs though if you want to. We took a day trip to vist the Mayan ruins of Coba. Visitors can still climb one of the ancient ruins there and see old ball courts too. I recommend cooling off afterwards by swimming in one of the numerous underground cenotes (underground caves). I can't finish this review without mentioning the friendly and professional concierge staff...Joseph was more than accomodating and even send fresh fruit to the room the night my husband was not feeling well. All in all, I would highly reccomend staying at the RIU Tequilla!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sergey from MN
MN
Jan 21, 2013

Very good for the price

If you are not too lazy to have a nice and shaded 1/2 mile walk or not too impatient to wait 10 min for a small and fun shuttle to reach the beach then it's perfect for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top