RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Can I live there
Business
Crown Point, IN
Apr 9, 2013

Vacation in Paradise

The only reason I rated the Room Comfort "Average" is because the beds were too hard. Other than that the room was clean, the location was great and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. This hotel is not on the beach but it's only about a five minute walk to the sister-hotel's beach and it's a great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yorkville girl
Business
Pa
Apr 23, 2013

Family vacation Yea :)

Loved it, great value. Second trip already looking forward to next year! Rooms and grounds well kept, all the workers were friendly and would go out of their way for you. Would have liked the pool to have stayed opened later. Beds were a little hard but you could ask for a mattress topper which helped a little. Nice that you had access to several other Riu hotels. Easy access to beach by tram car or walking. If you like walking its a nice walk to Fifth ave. or seven dollars by taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. Avila
Business
playa del carmen
Nov 7, 2013

relaxing vacation

Our vacation was great. We loved the peoplw at the hotel and the nightly entertaiment. The food was good and the drinks were great. We will be going again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BKini
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 2, 2010

Wonderful Property

This is a beautiful, comfortable property. Well managed, well-kept grounds, clean & comfortable rooms, good evening entertainment, nice dining room with pleasingly presented buffets, and a very convenient beach club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoJac
Business
Coventry, Rhode Island (not Long Island)
Apr 22, 2009

Thanks, Bob!

Our friends from Utah booked this place and we followed on their recommendation. The hotel was perfect for us. Since there were 4 couples all staying here I asked if our rooms could be close-by to one and other and when we arrived they were all in the same building and on the same floor - it was perfect! The hotel has many buildings/rooms so being next to each other made our trip even more fun! When we arrived we were greeted with refreshing drinks from the front desk as we checked-in. The lobby was very open, relaxing, clean and beautiful! Our room was just as nice - large, comfortable and especially clean. Our building was tucked away, but not too far from the pool, restaurants and lobby - the walk to and from everything, etc was just right. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The restaurants were excellent - we tried them all. Loved the Asian cuisine and we like being able to leave the hotel and use the other Rui restaurants at the other hotel, nice change of scenery. The only negative comment was our ice machine in our building was broken but we managed with the one at the next building over..not a very big deal! We definitely would recommend the Rui Tequila - it was a great place and would go back again! THANKS BOB & CATHY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping just a short walk out the front lobby to the main road was just enough. Something for everyone and open at night too - We felt safe too, nothing to make you feel uncomfortable in the least, even with all the negative news coverage lately. The beach was a short walk too, even though the property is not on the beach, it was still a great place!! LOVED IT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rico1969
Business
Buffalo NY
Oct 7, 2009

very nice getaway

I think our only complaint would be as new people to the resort the first meeting felt bad at desk. It didn't give you the feeling of being most welcomed as I have found at other places.The staff beyond there were very good so that didn't hurt our vacation until we needed to talk to anyone at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tono & tere
Business
las vegas nv
Oct 18, 2010

exelent family hotel

the staff where ok, good famly hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeville, MN
Feb 28, 2010

Great place to meet Europeans

The food was good for an all Inclusive, the food at the speciality dinners was better. The entertainment was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not book your tours at the hotels. We found that on one tour we paid $20 more than the other people in our van for the exact same tour. On our other outing the person who set up our tour misquoted us as well as others at other hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Half Moon Bay, CA
Mar 18, 2009

Very Nice Hotel

This is the second time I've been to this hotel and, overall, I think it is a great deal for the money. I wouldn't have returned a second time if my first experience wasn't as good as it was. There were a couple of disappointments on this second trip. The air conditioning was not working on our first night and despite contacting the front desk about this, they said they would not be able to repair it until the following day - so that night's rest was less than adequate. However, it was fixed the following day. Also, the catamarans were out of use most of the time due to windy weather. There is nothing the hotel can do about this but I thought those of you considering this place (or any other hotel in the Yucatan) should know this may happen to you as well. I would definitely return here a third time since this hotel has so many good points to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My bags are already packed
Business
Connecticut
Nov 6, 2009

Hola! Fabulous

The overall stay was very nice and the staff was very accomodating. As I was checking in and filling out my paperwork, I was provided with a cool fruity drink after 2 hrs in Customs/Immigration, it was very much appreciated. We took a tour to Chichen Itza, which included lunch at the hotel next door. The lunch was buffet-style, but the food was great (much better than at the RIU - although the food at the RIU was not bad - very "cruise-ship" like). The entertainment at the resort was also good. We also had dinner at the "Beach Club" restaurant at the RIU Yucatan, the food was not great, but the view was certainly worth seeing (esp at night). One interesting thing I noticed at the RIU Tequila was there were quite a few cats that were on the premises. They didn't bother you or anything, but I just found it to be odd. All-in-all it was a great trip/stay and I would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top