RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
110 reviews
Riu Tequila Again

This was my 8th trip to the Tequila and again, it was consistently good. It's one of the best... See full review

  • ktlktl
  • Nov 19, 2014
Great time and value

we had a great experience at this hotel. Food was very good, facilities very nice,and staff very... See full review

  • Degek
  • Nov 18, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Welland Ontario Canada
Mar 4, 2011

Great Holiday

Great Holiday location. Had some problems with noise and rowdy groups of spring breakers. Security quickly responded to complaint however. Coffee makers in rooms would be a great addition. I missed my morning coffee in my room. Staff, food, beach all wonderful - would recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not recommend deep sea fishing - depending on time of year, February fish were not to be found. Boat broke down and had to be towed back in. Ended up being a $100.00 boat ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
loom
Business
South Bend, Indiana
Nov 14, 2010

Great times at Tequila

Wonderful staff and hotel. Would not hesitate to stay here again in the future. Everything was perfect from check-in to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Would avoid the hotel dive shop. There are better priced and more professional shops elsewhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Teaneck, New Jersey
Apr 18, 2011

Great location

The hotel and staff were friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend the resort to friends and family. When returning to Mexico I would definitely go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Contact the hotel staff regarding nightlife. They were very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Apr 15, 2008

Beautiful

Rooms were larger than I expected. The bathroom area was separate but only had a drape between. Two double beds pushed together and both were very HARD. This is really our only complaint. You have access to three other RIU hotels ? two are across the street. This one is NOT on the beach but just a short walk. Everyone ?saves? the lounge chairs around the pools by placing towels and other personal items on the chairs. Do this EARLY before breakfast. I tried to find two chairs around 9 am and all were saved. Only a handful of people were actually using them at that time but still none to be found. We were told that most watersport items were free but never saw where to book or sign out. Didn?t really miss it. The pools and many swim up bars were plenty for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick and Gina
Business
New Jersey
Apr 25, 2011

RIU Tequila- Luxury On a Budget

If you need a week to just to forget about the everyday life, pack your bags and head on down to this resort. Food and refreshments start early and are available till you decide to retire to your room. Close enough to all the excursions in the Riviera Maya area of Mexico. Resort has available brokers that are not afraid to be barterred down in price, remember this is Mexico. Worth the money we spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Do yourself a favor. Hit the hotel review at Adventura. But dont sign up for the membership they ask you to do. It will get you a week of excursions for $65 at only 3 hours of your time. It is worth the wait if you want to see the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith5919
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 12, 2011

Fantastic trip

Everything was great. Better than last time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to town. Take cab back if tired.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Apr 24, 2011

Awesome time at the Riu Tequila

My husband and I have traveled to Cancun and to the Playa Del Carmen area before. This time we took the family, 19, 16 and 9. I wanted to be close to 5th Ave. so I chose the Playcar area. I read numerous reviews before finally deciding on the Riu Tequila. There was so much to keep the whole family busy. We spent our days at the beach and used the other Riu resorts the Yukatan and the Playacar for lunch and snacks, etc. Then we made the short trip back to our resort and hit the pools. No one was ever bored. The food at the buffets was good. We had no problem getting a reservation for the A la Cartes. The steak was good, the Asian just ok. Our rooms were adequate. The Jr. Suite was especially nice. The entertainment was good. My daughter 9 especially liked it. The guys spent a lot of time in the sports bar. All in all I would recommend this resort. For the money it is really a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Ave is a 25 minute walk by land and maybe a 30 minute walk by the beach. We did both.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BKini
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 2, 2010

Wonderful Property

This is a beautiful, comfortable property. Well managed, well-kept grounds, clean & comfortable rooms, good evening entertainment, nice dining room with pleasingly presented buffets, and a very convenient beach club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoJac
Business
Coventry, Rhode Island (not Long Island)
Apr 22, 2009

Thanks, Bob!

Our friends from Utah booked this place and we followed on their recommendation. The hotel was perfect for us. Since there were 4 couples all staying here I asked if our rooms could be close-by to one and other and when we arrived they were all in the same building and on the same floor - it was perfect! The hotel has many buildings/rooms so being next to each other made our trip even more fun! When we arrived we were greeted with refreshing drinks from the front desk as we checked-in. The lobby was very open, relaxing, clean and beautiful! Our room was just as nice - large, comfortable and especially clean. Our building was tucked away, but not too far from the pool, restaurants and lobby - the walk to and from everything, etc was just right. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The restaurants were excellent - we tried them all. Loved the Asian cuisine and we like being able to leave the hotel and use the other Rui restaurants at the other hotel, nice change of scenery. The only negative comment was our ice machine in our building was broken but we managed with the one at the next building over..not a very big deal! We definitely would recommend the Rui Tequila - it was a great place and would go back again! THANKS BOB & CATHY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping just a short walk out the front lobby to the main road was just enough. Something for everyone and open at night too - We felt safe too, nothing to make you feel uncomfortable in the least, even with all the negative news coverage lately. The beach was a short walk too, even though the property is not on the beach, it was still a great place!! LOVED IT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karibuni
Business
Mwanza, africa
Jul 10, 2014

Location

Is not a ocean front but is close or walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top