$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 21, 2011

Great Place

I went with my boyfriend and we spent the entire week at the pool bars and beach. I thought everything was great. Although the Tequila isn't on the beach the neighbor hotel RIUS you have access to and there are always good snacks available and pool bars right next to the beach. All the employees were very friendly. Rooms were very clean but smelled musty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Theres quite a bit of fun nightlife on 12th near the blue parrot. If traveling from the RIU you can get a cab there for about 70 pesos, not bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romanus
Business
New York, NY
Feb 15, 2011

Overall good bang for the buck

Be careful, this hotel is NOT directly on the beach. The beach is about 5-10 minute walk through a very pleasant alley, or there is regular 6 seat golf cart shuttle going back and fourth. While on the beach you can use all the amenities of RIU Yucatan, (which is directly on the beach) including bars, snacks and lunch. Other than that hotel is clean, with good service, helpful staff and good food. Tips are not usually expected and good service is provided regardless. Rooms are clean, with pretty well stocked mini bar. Definitely go snorkeling. The trip is $35 and is totally worth it. Do not bother to eat at the steakhouse restaurant there. If you want steak, go to a steakhouse at home. It is sort of expected that they do not know how to make a steak (which we found out the hard way). On the other hand if you want an overcooked piece of rubber, by all means give it a try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi (one is always available right outside the hotel) for a $5 go into Playa del Carmen 5th Ave. Although its geared towards tourists and you would rarely find a local there just hanging out, it is still a great place to spend an evening. There are a whole bunch of clubs, smaller bars and tons of people (tourists just like you) on the streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 2, 2010

RIU Tequila

I've been to many RIU Resorts and really like the fact that I know in advance what to expect. This time at Tequila my expectations were not met in the main buffet restaurant. Don't get me wrong, what was available was very good but the variety was just not there. Some suggest this was due to a low occupancy rate. I will say that the hamburgers at lunch were the best I've ever had in the Caribbean! One other oddity is the shuttle service to the beach. It was not available from 1-3. Overall, our experience was very good and as long as you know going in what to expect I don't think you'll be disapointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Welland Ontario Canada
Mar 4, 2011

Great Holiday

Great Holiday location. Had some problems with noise and rowdy groups of spring breakers. Security quickly responded to complaint however. Coffee makers in rooms would be a great addition. I missed my morning coffee in my room. Staff, food, beach all wonderful - would recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not recommend deep sea fishing - depending on time of year, February fish were not to be found. Boat broke down and had to be towed back in. Ended up being a $100.00 boat ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
loom
Business
South Bend, Indiana
Nov 14, 2010

Great times at Tequila

Wonderful staff and hotel. Would not hesitate to stay here again in the future. Everything was perfect from check-in to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Would avoid the hotel dive shop. There are better priced and more professional shops elsewhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Teaneck, New Jersey
Apr 18, 2011

Great location

The hotel and staff were friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend the resort to friends and family. When returning to Mexico I would definitely go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Contact the hotel staff regarding nightlife. They were very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Apr 15, 2008

Beautiful

Rooms were larger than I expected. The bathroom area was separate but only had a drape between. Two double beds pushed together and both were very HARD. This is really our only complaint. You have access to three other RIU hotels ? two are across the street. This one is NOT on the beach but just a short walk. Everyone ?saves? the lounge chairs around the pools by placing towels and other personal items on the chairs. Do this EARLY before breakfast. I tried to find two chairs around 9 am and all were saved. Only a handful of people were actually using them at that time but still none to be found. We were told that most watersport items were free but never saw where to book or sign out. Didn?t really miss it. The pools and many swim up bars were plenty for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick and Gina
Business
New Jersey
Apr 25, 2011

RIU Tequila- Luxury On a Budget

If you need a week to just to forget about the everyday life, pack your bags and head on down to this resort. Food and refreshments start early and are available till you decide to retire to your room. Close enough to all the excursions in the Riviera Maya area of Mexico. Resort has available brokers that are not afraid to be barterred down in price, remember this is Mexico. Worth the money we spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Do yourself a favor. Hit the hotel review at Adventura. But dont sign up for the membership they ask you to do. It will get you a week of excursions for $65 at only 3 hours of your time. It is worth the wait if you want to see the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith5919
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 12, 2011

Fantastic trip

Everything was great. Better than last time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to town. Take cab back if tired.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Apr 24, 2011

Awesome time at the Riu Tequila

My husband and I have traveled to Cancun and to the Playa Del Carmen area before. This time we took the family, 19, 16 and 9. I wanted to be close to 5th Ave. so I chose the Playcar area. I read numerous reviews before finally deciding on the Riu Tequila. There was so much to keep the whole family busy. We spent our days at the beach and used the other Riu resorts the Yukatan and the Playacar for lunch and snacks, etc. Then we made the short trip back to our resort and hit the pools. No one was ever bored. The food at the buffets was good. We had no problem getting a reservation for the A la Cartes. The steak was good, the Asian just ok. Our rooms were adequate. The Jr. Suite was especially nice. The entertainment was good. My daughter 9 especially liked it. The guys spent a lot of time in the sports bar. All in all I would recommend this resort. For the money it is really a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Ave is a 25 minute walk by land and maybe a 30 minute walk by the beach. We did both.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top