$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Teaneck, New Jersey
Apr 18, 2011

Great location

The hotel and staff were friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend the resort to friends and family. When returning to Mexico I would definitely go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Contact the hotel staff regarding nightlife. They were very helpful.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith5919
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 12, 2011

Fantastic trip

Everything was great. Better than last time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to town. Take cab back if tired.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skogs
Business
Brainerd, MN
Mar 28, 2011

Great vacation

First time visitor, greeted with drinks and bags taken to rooms, informative meet and greet the next day not to long! very clean, hotel cleaners always working hard, never seen bar staff work so hard always smiling and happy.. Food very good lots of choice and theme nights, resturant very clean, food well prepaired. entertainment very good. plenty of fantasic excursions... definately will go to hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The international flair of crowd at the the bar kept me coming back every night.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Herkyhawk
Business
North Liberty, Iowa
Mar 21, 2011

Upgraded to RUI Palace Mexico

Upon arrival at RUI Tequila we were given an upgrade to the RUI Palace Mexico across the street and on the beachfront. We took a tour of the RUI Tequila to see what would have missed and noticed a few major differences. First, the Tequila is not on the beach, but rather a five minute walk from it. Not bad, but still could be an issue for some. Also the RUI Tequila seems more family and children oriented than the RUI Palace or RUI Yucatan. Overall, all of the RUI hotels that we visited seemed very nice, clean and the food was pretty decent. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid time shares at all costs as they eat up a whole day.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 21, 2011

Great Place

I went with my boyfriend and we spent the entire week at the pool bars and beach. I thought everything was great. Although the Tequila isn't on the beach the neighbor hotel RIUS you have access to and there are always good snacks available and pool bars right next to the beach. All the employees were very friendly. Rooms were very clean but smelled musty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Theres quite a bit of fun nightlife on 12th near the blue parrot. If traveling from the RIU you can get a cab there for about 70 pesos, not bad.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Welland Ontario Canada
Mar 4, 2011

Great Holiday

Great Holiday location. Had some problems with noise and rowdy groups of spring breakers. Security quickly responded to complaint however. Coffee makers in rooms would be a great addition. I missed my morning coffee in my room. Staff, food, beach all wonderful - would recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not recommend deep sea fishing - depending on time of year, February fish were not to be found. Boat broke down and had to be towed back in. Ended up being a $100.00 boat ride.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loves Mexico
Business
Madison Heights Michigan
Feb 27, 2011

decent hotel for the price

the hotel was OK albeit dated. The king size bed was 2 dbles pushed together. The hotel could use a face lift. It was very clean and the food for the all inclusive was better than most I have had.The hotel is not on the beach so a leisurely walk of about 8 minutes was nice or you could take the golf cart. We spent more time at the RIU Yucatan at the beach and used their facilities more than the Tequilla's. I will go back to Playacar but I wont stay at the RIU Tequilla. I will more than likely stay at the RIU Yucatan or the RIU Playacar. The Tequilla pool and the Yucatan pool were nice but not lively. I found a more fun time at the RIU Playacar. The patrons there were more fun and there seemed to be more Americans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Got to GO to Bad Boys bar on the beach off 5th AVE. You have to take the side street down to the beach from the cab/bus terminal and take a left. About a 1/2 block down you will find a true beach bar. Don't forget the roast chicken or ribs on Thurs and Saturday night

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romanus
Business
New York, NY
Feb 15, 2011

Overall good bang for the buck

Be careful, this hotel is NOT directly on the beach. The beach is about 5-10 minute walk through a very pleasant alley, or there is regular 6 seat golf cart shuttle going back and fourth. While on the beach you can use all the amenities of RIU Yucatan, (which is directly on the beach) including bars, snacks and lunch. Other than that hotel is clean, with good service, helpful staff and good food. Tips are not usually expected and good service is provided regardless. Rooms are clean, with pretty well stocked mini bar. Definitely go snorkeling. The trip is $35 and is totally worth it. Do not bother to eat at the steakhouse restaurant there. If you want steak, go to a steakhouse at home. It is sort of expected that they do not know how to make a steak (which we found out the hard way). On the other hand if you want an overcooked piece of rubber, by all means give it a try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi (one is always available right outside the hotel) for a $5 go into Playa del Carmen 5th Ave. Although its geared towards tourists and you would rarely find a local there just hanging out, it is still a great place to spend an evening. There are a whole bunch of clubs, smaller bars and tons of people (tourists just like you) on the streets.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 5, 2011

NOT ON THE BEACH

RIU Tequila hotel is not located on the beach - contrary to what the description claims. The description that is given is very tricky to make you believe that you are going to be steps from the water. In reality, you need to walk up to 1/2 mile from your room to the hotel entrance, then cross a busy street and walk another 1/2 mile along the sister RIU Palace hotel before you even see some beach sand. A golf cart style shuttle will also pick you at the lobby, but it works limited hours and sometimes you will be waiting for it to come back if too many people need a ride. Interesting detail - you must get you beach towel at Tequila. You go to RIU Yucatan for the beach. If for some reason you need to get a fresh towel, you must walk back to Tequila as Yucatan staff would refuse to exchange a towel if they learn that you are from Tequila. Customer service at its best! I wish I have not made my decision to book this place based entirely on the description. I respect people who work there - they work very hard to make us, tourists, happy and keep the place very clean. But the misleading description and the management decision to squeeze a buck by serving cheap food and drinks have spoiled the impression. I have seen a better RIU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Shop for your hotel wisely and do you research outside of the booking web site. Even popular traveler review sites may contain biased opinions or their reviews may be written by people who have little or no experience.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Cathareines, ontario canada
Jan 10, 2011

Fantastic getaway

We went down there because our daughters enjoyed them selves on their visit and they were right on the mark the staff were very freindly and extremely helpful the facilities were great the entertainment was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top