RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
107 reviews
Great time and value

we had a great experience at this hotel. Food was very good, facilities very nice,and staff very... See full review

  • Degek
  • Nov 18, 2014
our getway

Our stay at the riu tequila was great. The nightly shows were spectacular. The weather at this time... See full review

  • Eddie DJ
  • Sep 22, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sergey from MN
MN
Jan 21, 2013

Very good for the price

If you are not too lazy to have a nice and shaded 1/2 mile walk or not too impatient to wait 10 min for a small and fun shuttle to reach the beach then it's perfect for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jun 25, 2011

Mexico 2011

The resort was quiet and clean. Not a lot to do there but lots to do in the area. Employees were friendly and the food was good. The beds leave a lot to be desired, not very comfortable. Overall a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Apr 22, 2009

nice place though not on the beach

this was a girls trip just to get away. we did have a great time and i would recommend this resort to anyone as long as you are not looking to be directly on the beach. the beach shuttle was working only about half the time and we had a handicapped person with us so getting to the beach was almost impossible. The pools were very nice though. The resort was very clean and well kept. There were people from other riu resorts at ours because they said we had the best pool. That was nice to hear. The only real complaint was the shuttle. The food was actually quite good for an all-inlcusive resort as was the steak restaurant. That is the only one we tried.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hugue
Business
Montreal, QC
Apr 10, 2008

easy access to main events

We had to be switch for a larger room because we were three adults sharing a tight room. The food, was good, the staff was great but the Playa was under reconstruction witch was a turnoff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Must go to Playa Del Carmen; a nice village with a fantastic ambiance all trough the night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B-day celebration
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jun 22, 2011

Easy and Convenient Beach Getaway

If you're looking for a relaxing beach trip, this is the place for you. The resort is nice and family-friendly, the staff is very helpful and friendly, the food is pretty good for buffet food. The nightly shows are ridiculous but entertaining. The whole place reminded me of Dirty Dancing with the staff interactions and the cheesy nightly shows involving the audience. However, if you are looking to go out and party, go to Cancun because there is not much nightlife besides a cheesy club where the teenagers go. The guests are almost all couples and families. Also, the Riu Tequila is not on the beach adn can be a 10 mintue walk to the beach depending on where your room is located. If you want to be closer to the water, stay at the Riu Yucatan. Additionally, the pool water at the resorts are surprisingly hot and not refreshing at all so I recommend the beach which is fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need sunscreen, toiletries etc, walk two blocks to the local pharmacy rather than going to the hotel shop which is double the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Esperansita
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 3, 2007

Great Staff!!! Great Food!!!

The hotel had a wonderful staff, starting from the reservation receptionist to the waiters, cooks, bartenders, internet staff and beach/scuba attendants! The hotel room is basic, but sufficient! Always very very clean. The poolwas so-so, the beach has suffered erosion and is a 5-7minute walk from the hotel, but by no means was it an problem. The bartenders serve great drinks (great mojitos) and made it worth it to hang around the hotel! No need to leave the premises!! I had a great time and for the price, it was a great week-long get-away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Veronica's Spa in downtown Playa Del Carmen!!!! It was so worth it!! I got 3 wonderful massages for what I would pay for one back at home!! The Spa is located at the end of the tourist downtown Playa del Carmen, on the second floor!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Cathareines, ontario canada
Jan 10, 2011

Fantastic getaway

We went down there because our daughters enjoyed them selves on their visit and they were right on the mark the staff were very freindly and extremely helpful the facilities were great the entertainment was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have passport, will travel.
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Aug 7, 2009

Excellent hotel!

This was our first trip to Mexico, but we have been to many all-inclusive resorts around the Caribbean. The resort was very neat and tidy, with a very private feel to it with lots of vegetation lining the sidewalks. The food was good, very comparable to other resorts we've been to, and service at the bars was great. Rarely did we have to ask for a drink, most times the bartenders were asking us if they could refresh our drinks. They were not skimpy on the alcohol at all! Our room was always cleaned by noon and the staff was always very friendly. The resort was in a nice part of the city, and just a short cab ride to the shopping area. The beach was across the road at another Riu, however it was only a 5 minute walk and worth it. Overall, we felt this was a great resort and we would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 21, 2011

Great Place

I went with my boyfriend and we spent the entire week at the pool bars and beach. I thought everything was great. Although the Tequila isn't on the beach the neighbor hotel RIUS you have access to and there are always good snacks available and pool bars right next to the beach. All the employees were very friendly. Rooms were very clean but smelled musty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Theres quite a bit of fun nightlife on 12th near the blue parrot. If traveling from the RIU you can get a cab there for about 70 pesos, not bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romanus
Business
New York, NY
Feb 15, 2011

Overall good bang for the buck

Be careful, this hotel is NOT directly on the beach. The beach is about 5-10 minute walk through a very pleasant alley, or there is regular 6 seat golf cart shuttle going back and fourth. While on the beach you can use all the amenities of RIU Yucatan, (which is directly on the beach) including bars, snacks and lunch. Other than that hotel is clean, with good service, helpful staff and good food. Tips are not usually expected and good service is provided regardless. Rooms are clean, with pretty well stocked mini bar. Definitely go snorkeling. The trip is $35 and is totally worth it. Do not bother to eat at the steakhouse restaurant there. If you want steak, go to a steakhouse at home. It is sort of expected that they do not know how to make a steak (which we found out the hard way). On the other hand if you want an overcooked piece of rubber, by all means give it a try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi (one is always available right outside the hotel) for a $5 go into Playa del Carmen 5th Ave. Although its geared towards tourists and you would rarely find a local there just hanging out, it is still a great place to spend an evening. There are a whole bunch of clubs, smaller bars and tons of people (tourists just like you) on the streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 2, 2010

RIU Tequila

I've been to many RIU Resorts and really like the fact that I know in advance what to expect. This time at Tequila my expectations were not met in the main buffet restaurant. Don't get me wrong, what was available was very good but the variety was just not there. Some suggest this was due to a low occupancy rate. I will say that the hamburgers at lunch were the best I've ever had in the Caribbean! One other oddity is the shuttle service to the beach. It was not available from 1-3. Overall, our experience was very good and as long as you know going in what to expect I don't think you'll be disapointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top