RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
112 reviews
Gréât relaxing teip

Although the internet blows, everything else was perfect. It is a great place for people who just... See full review

  • Ariana W.
  • Aug 30, 2015
Great time in Playa del Carmen

First time in Playa del Carmen, it was awesome! The hotel was beautiful. The people are great. A... See full review

  • Russ the gman
  • Jul 20, 2015
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Rooms

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Property features

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Highlights
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Nearby attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Policies
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My bags are already packed
Single
Connecticut
Nov 6, 2009

Hola! Fabulous

The overall stay was very nice and the staff was very accomodating. As I was checking in and filling out my paperwork, I was provided with a cool fruity drink after 2 hrs in Customs/Immigration, it was very much appreciated. We took a tour to Chichen Itza, which included lunch at the hotel next door. The lunch was buffet-style, but the food was great (much better than at the RIU - although the food at the RIU was not bad - very "cruise-ship" like). The entertainment at the resort was also good. We also had dinner at the "Beach Club" restaurant at the RIU Yucatan, the food was not great, but the view was certainly worth seeing (esp at night). One interesting thing I noticed at the RIU Tequila was there were quite a few cats that were on the premises. They didn't bother you or anything, but I just found it to be odd. All-in-all it was a great trip/stay and I would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Missouri
Jun 25, 2011

Mexico 2011

The resort was quiet and clean. Not a lot to do there but lots to do in the area. Employees were friendly and the food was good. The beds leave a lot to be desired, not very comfortable. Overall a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
new jersey
Apr 22, 2009

nice place though not on the beach

this was a girls trip just to get away. we did have a great time and i would recommend this resort to anyone as long as you are not looking to be directly on the beach. the beach shuttle was working only about half the time and we had a handicapped person with us so getting to the beach was almost impossible. The pools were very nice though. The resort was very clean and well kept. There were people from other riu resorts at ours because they said we had the best pool. That was nice to hear. The only real complaint was the shuttle. The food was actually quite good for an all-inlcusive resort as was the steak restaurant. That is the only one we tried.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hugue
Friends
Montreal, QC
Apr 10, 2008

easy access to main events

We had to be switch for a larger room because we were three adults sharing a tight room. The food, was good, the staff was great but the Playa was under reconstruction witch was a turnoff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Must go to Playa Del Carmen; a nice village with a fantastic ambiance all trough the night.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B-day celebration
Friends
Washington, D.C.
Jun 22, 2011

Easy and Convenient Beach Getaway

If you're looking for a relaxing beach trip, this is the place for you. The resort is nice and family-friendly, the staff is very helpful and friendly, the food is pretty good for buffet food. The nightly shows are ridiculous but entertaining. The whole place reminded me of Dirty Dancing with the staff interactions and the cheesy nightly shows involving the audience. However, if you are looking to go out and party, go to Cancun because there is not much nightlife besides a cheesy club where the teenagers go. The guests are almost all couples and families. Also, the Riu Tequila is not on the beach adn can be a 10 mintue walk to the beach depending on where your room is located. If you want to be closer to the water, stay at the Riu Yucatan. Additionally, the pool water at the resorts are surprisingly hot and not refreshing at all so I recommend the beach which is fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need sunscreen, toiletries etc, walk two blocks to the local pharmacy rather than going to the hotel shop which is double the price.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Esperansita
Friends
Detroit, MI
Jun 3, 2007

Great Staff!!! Great Food!!!

The hotel had a wonderful staff, starting from the reservation receptionist to the waiters, cooks, bartenders, internet staff and beach/scuba attendants! The hotel room is basic, but sufficient! Always very very clean. The poolwas so-so, the beach has suffered erosion and is a 5-7minute walk from the hotel, but by no means was it an problem. The bartenders serve great drinks (great mojitos) and made it worth it to hang around the hotel! No need to leave the premises!! I had a great time and for the price, it was a great week-long get-away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Veronica's Spa in downtown Playa Del Carmen!!!! It was so worth it!! I got 3 wonderful massages for what I would pay for one back at home!! The Spa is located at the end of the tourist downtown Playa del Carmen, on the second floor!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St. Cathareines, ontario canada
Jan 10, 2011

Fantastic getaway

We went down there because our daughters enjoyed them selves on their visit and they were right on the mark the staff were very freindly and extremely helpful the facilities were great the entertainment was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have passport, will travel.
Family
Cedar Rapids, IA
Aug 7, 2009

Excellent hotel!

This was our first trip to Mexico, but we have been to many all-inclusive resorts around the Caribbean. The resort was very neat and tidy, with a very private feel to it with lots of vegetation lining the sidewalks. The food was good, very comparable to other resorts we've been to, and service at the bars was great. Rarely did we have to ask for a drink, most times the bartenders were asking us if they could refresh our drinks. They were not skimpy on the alcohol at all! Our room was always cleaned by noon and the staff was always very friendly. The resort was in a nice part of the city, and just a short cab ride to the shopping area. The beach was across the road at another Riu, however it was only a 5 minute walk and worth it. Overall, we felt this was a great resort and we would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 21, 2011

Great Place

I went with my boyfriend and we spent the entire week at the pool bars and beach. I thought everything was great. Although the Tequila isn't on the beach the neighbor hotel RIUS you have access to and there are always good snacks available and pool bars right next to the beach. All the employees were very friendly. Rooms were very clean but smelled musty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Theres quite a bit of fun nightlife on 12th near the blue parrot. If traveling from the RIU you can get a cab there for about 70 pesos, not bad.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romanus
Friends
New York, NY
Feb 15, 2011

Overall good bang for the buck

Be careful, this hotel is NOT directly on the beach. The beach is about 5-10 minute walk through a very pleasant alley, or there is regular 6 seat golf cart shuttle going back and fourth. While on the beach you can use all the amenities of RIU Yucatan, (which is directly on the beach) including bars, snacks and lunch. Other than that hotel is clean, with good service, helpful staff and good food. Tips are not usually expected and good service is provided regardless. Rooms are clean, with pretty well stocked mini bar. Definitely go snorkeling. The trip is $35 and is totally worth it. Do not bother to eat at the steakhouse restaurant there. If you want steak, go to a steakhouse at home. It is sort of expected that they do not know how to make a steak (which we found out the hard way). On the other hand if you want an overcooked piece of rubber, by all means give it a try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi (one is always available right outside the hotel) for a $5 go into Playa del Carmen 5th Ave. Although its geared towards tourists and you would rarely find a local there just hanging out, it is still a great place to spend an evening. There are a whole bunch of clubs, smaller bars and tons of people (tourists just like you) on the streets.

Back to menu Return to top