$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
164 reviews
vacation

we have had a great time at Tequila. Great stuff, comfort, amenities. Jalisco restarant was great... See full review

  • scroodge
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great hotel

Great hotel. Friendly staff. Room was simple but very clean. 5-7 min walk to the beach and very... See full review

  • Ilana92
  • Jun 9, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B-day celebration
Washington, D.C.
Jun 22, 2011

Easy and Convenient Beach Getaway

If you're looking for a relaxing beach trip, this is the place for you. The resort is nice and family-friendly, the staff is very helpful and friendly, the food is pretty good for buffet food. The nightly shows are ridiculous but entertaining. The whole place reminded me of Dirty Dancing with the staff interactions and the cheesy nightly shows involving the audience. However, if you are looking to go out and party, go to Cancun because there is not much nightlife besides a cheesy club where the teenagers go. The guests are almost all couples and families. Also, the Riu Tequila is not on the beach adn can be a 10 mintue walk to the beach depending on where your room is located. If you want to be closer to the water, stay at the Riu Yucatan. Additionally, the pool water at the resorts are surprisingly hot and not refreshing at all so I recommend the beach which is fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need sunscreen, toiletries etc, walk two blocks to the local pharmacy rather than going to the hotel shop which is double the price.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B-day celebration
Washington, D.C.
Jun 22, 2011

Easy and Convenient Beach Getaway

If you're looking for a relaxing beach trip, this is the place for you. The resort is nice and family-friendly, the staff is very helpful and friendly, the food is pretty good for buffet food. The nightly shows are ridiculous but entertaining. The whole place reminded me of Dirty Dancing with the staff interactions and the cheesy nightly shows involving the audience. However, if you are looking to go out and party, go to Cancun because there is not much nightlife besides a cheesy club where the teenagers go. The guests are almost all couples and families. Also, the Riu Tequila is not on the beach adn can be a 10 mintue walk to the beach depending on where your room is located. If you want to be closer to the water, stay at the Riu Yucatan. Additionally, the pool water at the resorts are surprisingly hot and not refreshing at all so I recommend the beach which is fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need sunscreen, toiletries etc, walk two blocks to the local pharmacy rather than going to the hotel shop which is double the price.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick and Gina
New Jersey
Apr 25, 2011

RIU Tequila- Luxury On a Budget

If you need a week to just to forget about the everyday life, pack your bags and head on down to this resort. Food and refreshments start early and are available till you decide to retire to your room. Close enough to all the excursions in the Riviera Maya area of Mexico. Resort has available brokers that are not afraid to be barterred down in price, remember this is Mexico. Worth the money we spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Do yourself a favor. Hit the hotel review at Adventura. But dont sign up for the membership they ask you to do. It will get you a week of excursions for $65 at only 3 hours of your time. It is worth the wait if you want to see the area.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick and Gina
New Jersey
Apr 25, 2011

RIU Tequila- Luxury On a Budget

If you need a week to just to forget about the everyday life, pack your bags and head on down to this resort. Food and refreshments start early and are available till you decide to retire to your room. Close enough to all the excursions in the Riviera Maya area of Mexico. Resort has available brokers that are not afraid to be barterred down in price, remember this is Mexico. Worth the money we spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Do yourself a favor. Hit the hotel review at Adventura. But dont sign up for the membership they ask you to do. It will get you a week of excursions for $65 at only 3 hours of your time. It is worth the wait if you want to see the area.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rhode Island
Apr 24, 2011

Awesome time at the Riu Tequila

My husband and I have traveled to Cancun and to the Playa Del Carmen area before. This time we took the family, 19, 16 and 9. I wanted to be close to 5th Ave. so I chose the Playcar area. I read numerous reviews before finally deciding on the Riu Tequila. There was so much to keep the whole family busy. We spent our days at the beach and used the other Riu resorts the Yukatan and the Playacar for lunch and snacks, etc. Then we made the short trip back to our resort and hit the pools. No one was ever bored. The food at the buffets was good. We had no problem getting a reservation for the A la Cartes. The steak was good, the Asian just ok. Our rooms were adequate. The Jr. Suite was especially nice. The entertainment was good. My daughter 9 especially liked it. The guys spent a lot of time in the sports bar. All in all I would recommend this resort. For the money it is really a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Ave is a 25 minute walk by land and maybe a 30 minute walk by the beach. We did both.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rhode Island
Apr 24, 2011

Awesome time at the Riu Tequila

My husband and I have traveled to Cancun and to the Playa Del Carmen area before. This time we took the family, 19, 16 and 9. I wanted to be close to 5th Ave. so I chose the Playcar area. I read numerous reviews before finally deciding on the Riu Tequila. There was so much to keep the whole family busy. We spent our days at the beach and used the other Riu resorts the Yukatan and the Playacar for lunch and snacks, etc. Then we made the short trip back to our resort and hit the pools. No one was ever bored. The food at the buffets was good. We had no problem getting a reservation for the A la Cartes. The steak was good, the Asian just ok. Our rooms were adequate. The Jr. Suite was especially nice. The entertainment was good. My daughter 9 especially liked it. The guys spent a lot of time in the sports bar. All in all I would recommend this resort. For the money it is really a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Ave is a 25 minute walk by land and maybe a 30 minute walk by the beach. We did both.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Teaneck, New Jersey
Apr 18, 2011

Great location

The hotel and staff were friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend the resort to friends and family. When returning to Mexico I would definitely go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Contact the hotel staff regarding nightlife. They were very helpful.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Teaneck, New Jersey
Apr 18, 2011

Great location

The hotel and staff were friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend the resort to friends and family. When returning to Mexico I would definitely go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Contact the hotel staff regarding nightlife. They were very helpful.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith5919
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 12, 2011

Fantastic trip

Everything was great. Better than last time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to town. Take cab back if tired.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith5919
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 12, 2011

Fantastic trip

Everything was great. Better than last time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to town. Take cab back if tired.

Back to menu Return to top