$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
160 reviews
vacation

we have had a great time at Tequila. Great stuff, comfort, amenities. Jalisco restarant was great... See full review

  • scroodge
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great hotel

Great hotel. Friendly staff. Room was simple but very clean. 5-7 min walk to the beach and very... See full review

  • Ilana92
  • Jun 9, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alchemistali
Kauai, Hawaii
Nov 4, 2012

Fantastic!!!

I dragged in at 7 p.m. after waiting at the airport for a ride, had guacamole & chips at the snack bar so I wasn't very hungry once I arrived at the hotel at 7. Unbeknownst to me, the dinner buffet (and breakfast buffet) was included in the price of the room. I never saw so much food in one place at one time. There were at least 8 stations of every imaginable type of meat, salad, vegetable and dessert entrees. Fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Did the Chichen Itza tour, long drive to and from but the information and the Mayan structures were amazing! Again another fabulous lunch buffet included in the price of admission!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scroodge
sacramento
Jun 27, 2014

vacation

we have had a great time at Tequila. Great stuff, comfort, amenities. Jalisco restarant was great too unlike Lupita one. Ocean was great but quite stormy - there was either red or yellow flag all the time. use KinMont transfer company from and to airport - the best in terms of price and comfort. it cost me $100 round trip for family of four. if you are going to Dolfins Adventure be ready to shell out $143 for fotos and video only and $120-150 for Adventure itself. this price for one person. but hotel itself was outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

all the tours are expensive unless you attend time share presentation and get big discount. for example, we attended one presentation and got FREE tour to Chichen-Itza for family of four.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 15, 2007

Pleasantly surprised.

Excellent staff and great food. This was our first all inclusive and we would definitely go back to the riu tequilla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Evanston, *
Jul 21, 2008

Very relaxing.

The hotel is located across the street and away from the beach. If you don't mind a little walking-- not a bad thing given it is all inclusive... Our only issue were the misquitos in our room. We didn't ask to change rooms, so it was our own decision to stay. But the misquitos would just fly in when we opened our door to go in or out. This is misquito season it seems. Food was good. Steakhouse is very good. Mexican not as good as the Mexican restaurant. You can also eat breakfest + lunch. We had stayed at the Playacar before, so we ended there a lot of the time.. All in all a great stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen is about 2 miles, 5 min $5 cab drive away, or a long walk. Nice to go in the evening for some super cheap massages! $30/hour!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fayetteville
Jun 20, 2008

Great Resort!

Riu Tequila is a wonderful resort! My husband and I have stayed at this resort several times. The staff are great. They are very friendly and will help you in any way. The food is wonderful. You will not go hungry. Their cocktails are also very good and they have a wide selection with good name brand booze. We love their rum though. The rooms are very clean. This resort is right on the beach and its grounds are beautiful. There is a lot to do games and sports wise. You will never find a more beautiful beach. Entertainment in the evening could be improved but if you have never been before you might enjoy. I recommend this resort. You will have a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canon City
Jun 30, 2008

people friendly

The Riu Tequila is one of 6 RIU hotels in Playa. It was a great experiance and we were treated like royalty by the staff. On our arrival we found a friut basket and a bottle of champagne in the room. Nice start for a 1st anniversary trip. The rooms were well kept and the service was impecable. Food was always good with lots of choices. The beaches are in a bit of trouble with erosion right now but the RIU folks are working on restoring them. I think they are back to about 75% of finished. In any case it is the Carribean so who really cares if the sand is 40 ft or 30 ft from the tree line. The grey line was used for our transportation to and from the hotel from Cancun and they were ok. Just don't stop until you get out of the airport to find them. Locals selling time shares make you think they are the transport people so if you stop you may miss your bus. The transports are OUTSIDE the building. I would reccomend this or any RIU property in Playa or Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A trip into Playa costs about $5 usd from the hotel or you can take a 15 minute walk and enjoy seeing the custom homes you may miss on those fast taxi rides. LOTS of shopping on 5th ave Take the ferry to Cozumel for a day from the pier ($15 round trip).

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
atcaputo44
Playa Del Carmen
Aug 21, 2009

RIU TEQUILA HEAVEN!

This hotel was amazing!!!! Their customer service is so friendly that they made sure you were having fun every single day. The food was outstanding and the rooms were perfectly sized. Our room had our own minibar of liquor bottles and a fridge that was restocked everyday with soft drinks and water. The swim up bar made the pool that much more fun along with the enormous swimming pool that they have. This is my 3rd time to Playa Del Carmen and this was by far the best time I have every had. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tough Customer
Winnipeg, Canada
Dec 22, 2009

Amazing!!!

We arrived late and still found a great buffet going on!! We relaxed by the pool the first day and booked a ziplining excursion to Aktun Chen through Lomas travel. All week the staff were amazing and very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use pesos as compared to american dollars you will get better deals. If you are staying in playacar the stores in the plaza are actually priced better than the street vendors.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 28, 2008

A beautiful, relaxing getaway !

The Riu Tequila is a very comfortable, spacious resort. My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary at this beautifully landscaped and relaxing paradise, we couldn't have made a better choice. The food is fantastic, the staff is very friendly and helpful, plentiful choices for entertainment, just a great time all around! We can,t wait to go back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some great little shops a couple of blocks down the street or take a $5 cab ride to Playa del Carmen.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, Colorado
Mar 10, 2009

The best of Mexico resort living

Fantastic to be able to enjoy the other RIU hotels, Yucatan, Playacar and Lupita, as well as using the Tequila as home base. A very nice walk to town. The hotel staff are exceptional. The food is the best of any hotel (served quantity stye) that I have ever had. I am planning, with 7 others at this time, returning to the Tequila in October 2009 (my 6th). I have recommended the Tequila to many friends and they have been there and enjoyed it as I do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Appreciate the excellent service by tipping the maids and bartenders and do it as you go. Give a few bucks each day, as you will not find harder workers where you live. Your glass will never go empty. If you like to see a smile on people's faces, give a few bucks.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Herkyhawk
North Liberty, Iowa
Mar 21, 2011

Upgraded to RUI Palace Mexico

Upon arrival at RUI Tequila we were given an upgrade to the RUI Palace Mexico across the street and on the beachfront. We took a tour of the RUI Tequila to see what would have missed and noticed a few major differences. First, the Tequila is not on the beach, but rather a five minute walk from it. Not bad, but still could be an issue for some. Also the RUI Tequila seems more family and children oriented than the RUI Palace or RUI Yucatan. Overall, all of the RUI hotels that we visited seemed very nice, clean and the food was pretty decent. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid time shares at all costs as they eat up a whole day.

Back to menu Return to top