$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
104 reviews
vacation

we have had a great time at Tequila. Great stuff, comfort, amenities. Jalisco restarant was great... See full review

  • scroodge
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great hotel

Great hotel. Friendly staff. Room was simple but very clean. 5-7 min walk to the beach and very... See full review

  • Ilana92
  • Jun 9, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alchemistali
Kauai, Hawaii
Nov 4, 2012

Fantastic!!!

I dragged in at 7 p.m. after waiting at the airport for a ride, had guacamole & chips at the snack bar so I wasn't very hungry once I arrived at the hotel at 7. Unbeknownst to me, the dinner buffet (and breakfast buffet) was included in the price of the room. I never saw so much food in one place at one time. There were at least 8 stations of every imaginable type of meat, salad, vegetable and dessert entrees. Fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Did the Chichen Itza tour, long drive to and from but the information and the Mayan structures were amazing! Again another fabulous lunch buffet included in the price of admission!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Regina, Sask. Canada
Nov 11, 2010

Simply AMAZING!

This resort has so much to offer for both children, teens and adults. The resort is in a gated community with 3 other Riu resorts around it which you get access too. - There are 4 bars, one being 24 hours -A stage where they have different performances every night: It starts with a interactive show for children then there is a show for all ages which is interactive with the audience some nights as well. - 4 bars: 1 is a swim up and another is open 24 hours - 3 pools: child pool, adult pool and game pool - rec area with soccer nets, beach volleyball, basketball court. - 2 minute walk to the beach or less then that with the golf cart rides going back and forth - Free snorkeling gear, boogie board, etc. rentals - In each room there's a mini bar that has beer, 26 of whiskey, rum. vodka and tequila. - 3 restaurants in the resort and more in the surrounding ones. With everything listed above, their amazing staff and so much more made this one of, or even, the best vacation I have been one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

50 paco cab ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 22, 2007

Great Hotel

We had a wonderful stay at the Riu Tequila. The staff was so attentive and the buffet was excellent. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. We would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a shopping plaza just a block or so from the Hotel where the prices are similar to downtown Playa Del Carmen. There is also a bank with an ATM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMT16
Rochester, NY
Apr 23, 2014

Beautiful Resort!

The hotel is very nice, the Playa Del Carmen area is a very nice gated community. The other RIU Resorts are within walking distance to each other. The beach was across the street which was not a bad walk. There is also a trolly that runs about every 15 minutes to and from the beach. The food was good, nothing special. We are 23-24 this hotel was a good mix of families and younger couples. We did a Turtle snorkel, cave tour and ATV. The ATVs were not worth it, however the other two were. We also went parasailing which we found from someone on the beach. You can deal with them on the price. The beach was beautiful (lots of security to make sure only RIU guests were in the area.) The staff was very friendly. Make sure you tip your bartender and they will make sure you never have an empty glass! The pictures are exactly what the resort is nothing is a surprise. We will be booking again with the RIU Resorts the next time we travel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a US ATM in the shopping center next to the resort! Paying in dollars saves you money. The exchange rate is $1 = 13 pesos!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Highlands Ranch
Jun 10, 2008

Great Getaway

The Riu Tequila was just beautiful. They had a large choice of food options, highly friendly and helpful staff, and great amenities (pool, shows, bars). It is a short walk to the beach and you have 2 other resorts that you can take avantage of. The only draw back was the beds were a little hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You must checkout your beach/pool towel from your hotel only (not one of the other 2 resorts). You also can only checkout 1 towel per person a day. Everything else (food, drinks, shows, & pool) can be done at the other resorts also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Evanston, *
Jul 21, 2008

Very relaxing.

The hotel is located across the street and away from the beach. If you don't mind a little walking-- not a bad thing given it is all inclusive... Our only issue were the misquitos in our room. We didn't ask to change rooms, so it was our own decision to stay. But the misquitos would just fly in when we opened our door to go in or out. This is misquito season it seems. Food was good. Steakhouse is very good. Mexican not as good as the Mexican restaurant. You can also eat breakfest + lunch. We had stayed at the Playacar before, so we ended there a lot of the time.. All in all a great stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen is about 2 miles, 5 min $5 cab drive away, or a long walk. Nice to go in the evening for some super cheap massages! $30/hour!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Lancaster, NY
Dec 22, 2008

Great food, friendly staff, good entertainment

The food options and quality were more than I expected! Staff were always friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is very close to this hotel - and you have access to the beach front hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boulder, CO
Jul 9, 2009

A lovely break...

We had a great time doing absolutely nothing. This was our first time at an all-inclusive, and it was a great experience. It was really cool to see the animals in the open the areas around the rooms, we saw a spider monkey, (had to look up what they are when we got home) coatimundi, and agouti, which look like big, long legged guinea pigs. With all the good food at the buffets, I was glad that there was a short walk to the beach. I didn't even get a chance to check out the fitness center, even though I wanted to, because I was too busy relaxing ^-^

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
relaxing stay
New York
Mar 14, 2013

relaxing stay

stayed with husband, but will be back with kids in Sept!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

you can bike ride or 7min cab ride!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young unmarried couple who had a blast!!
Dallas, TX
May 27, 2009

Beautiful Hotel; Outstanding Service

Great professional service. Front desk was extremely helpful with everything. $5 taxi ride to downtown Playa del Carmen, would not recommend walking. Beautiful beach that was 20 steps from our room. Room was spotless everyday. Our room was a perfect size for a couple. Had excursion representatives there every morning that helped us pick what to do during our entire stay. Would recommend to everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County CA.
Jun 27, 2011

Cancun 6/19/11

Just great...! it could not better; except for phone calls to US, 3 dollars per minute (with taxes)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All inclusive is great...!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search