$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronnie Rowdy
Friends
Midwest
Apr 11, 2013

Spring getaway

Not close enough to the beach for my liking. Had to walk a long way each day to hang on the water. I do not go on vacation to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Can I live there
Family
Crown Point, IN
Apr 9, 2013

Vacation in Paradise

The only reason I rated the Room Comfort "Average" is because the beds were too hard. Other than that the room was clean, the location was great and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. This hotel is not on the beach but it's only about a five minute walk to the sister-hotel's beach and it's a great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fathers with 2
Family
Miami
Apr 1, 2013

Good value not spectacular

Great location, rooms and hotel are nice. No in room wifi ( good and bad). Food was ok not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
March Travelers
Couples
Massachusetts
Mar 17, 2013

Affordable and Fun!

Decent to good entertainment- wonderful costumes and dancing from the house entertainment! Great Mexican show, and Casino dancers. Two of the specialty restaurants were very average, but the nightly buffet was excellent in quality, variety, and theme. Proliferation of wildlife was disconcerting, but not bothersome. Rooms, t.v., were average, but not a hinderance. We spent very little time there anyway! Beds and pillows were comfortable. We did not mind the walk to the beach. It is not far, and the shuttle was very accessible. We had a great time and look forward to a return trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
relaxing stay
Couples
New York
Mar 14, 2013

relaxing stay

stayed with husband, but will be back with kids in Sept!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

you can bike ride or 7min cab ride!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sam zamir
Family
houston,texas
Mar 13, 2013

very relaxing

loved the resort and the freedom to visit other resorts,loved the staff,loved the location,food was good,did not like the 90 minute free wifi only in the lobby as everyone seemed to use at once!! was charged for 3 beds for 3 adults but got 2 beds and an army bed that a 6ft person can not sleep on!! not sure if this was a booking mistake or the hotel?over all i will go back again mainly because of the friendly staff and the peace and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

the steak house and the japanese buffet was excellent but dont eat at their mexican resturant you are better off going to the buffet.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sergey from MN
Couples
MN
Jan 21, 2013

Very good for the price

If you are not too lazy to have a nice and shaded 1/2 mile walk or not too impatient to wait 10 min for a small and fun shuttle to reach the beach then it's perfect for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alchemistali
Single
Kauai, Hawaii
Nov 4, 2012

Fantastic!!!

I dragged in at 7 p.m. after waiting at the airport for a ride, had guacamole & chips at the snack bar so I wasn't very hungry once I arrived at the hotel at 7. Unbeknownst to me, the dinner buffet (and breakfast buffet) was included in the price of the room. I never saw so much food in one place at one time. There were at least 8 stations of every imaginable type of meat, salad, vegetable and dessert entrees. Fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Did the Chichen Itza tour, long drive to and from but the information and the Mayan structures were amazing! Again another fabulous lunch buffet included in the price of admission!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonytony23
Couples
Carol Stream, Illinois
Aug 4, 2012

Nice if you bring your kids with you.

Nice place to relax. Lots of activities. Be sure to bring your sunglass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gosha
Couples
Poland
May 10, 2012

Great vacations

It was a great hotel. Very clean, nice rooms. They changed towels every day, and cleaned the room nicely. We had a mini bar with different kind of alcohols, filled out every second day. The small fridge was fool of sodas and bottled water. The food was good, great selection of everything. The restaurant also provided different kind of dinners every day (Japanese, Italian etc.). The hotel amenities were very nice. The bars provided wonderful drinks till late at night. There was one open 24h/day. The hotel areas was beautiful. With many trees, palms, and bushes well kept! It was great to walk in the shades. The hotel was just beautiful, we would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top