$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jayhawk1855
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Fun trip!

The trip was great. The hotel isn't perfect, but as long as you can overlook those little things, you'll have a good time. Yeah, the beds are hard as a rock and the a/c isn't the best, but for the price, it is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The small retail area next door is a little overpriced. A short cab ride downtown has the same touristy items for about half the price.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rested Riu guest
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 9, 2012

Quick getaway

My wife and I stayed here with another couple for 3 days in late January and we had a great time! The hotel grounds were beautifully maintained and every staff member greeted us with a smile and a friendly "Hola!" The hotel provided everything we needed to relax and let loose for our stay. The hotel is located off the beach but a 5-7 minute walk will get you there! We will return to Riu Tequila or a sister resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you plan on taking advantage of the hotel bars during the day, plan a later dinner when making reservations in the morning. You will need the late afternoon nap to assure you wont miss your dinner!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOHNNYC67
Business
ONTARIO, CANADA
Mar 20, 2012

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

This was our first time here and I'm already looking forward to booking again next year. The resort is beautiful and it's the perfect place to unwind and relax with the family. There are plenty of activities for both adults and children so you will never be bored. The staff are very hard working and make your experience there even more enjoyable. I wasn't sure what to expect with the food as the reviews I read prior to coming were mixed. I will say that I was pleasantly surprised with the variety and quality and all four of us enjoyed different meals every day (2 adults and 2 children). Make sure to make it to the shows at night. There is a segment at the beginning for kids immediately followed by the main entertainment. Make sure to tip the staff. They all work very hard to make sure you enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alorocky
Business
Murrieta, CA
Apr 9, 2012

Very good hotel for the price

It is a very good hotel, food is the best all over. I have timeshare with westin regina and sandos hotel chains, but I always book this riu tequila for at least 3 nights when we are in Playa del Carmen, it is worth. Don't hesitate to book here, you won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss CocoBongo, it's a great show. If you go to Cozumel, do not rent those "buggys". The one we rented broke in the farest side of the island, have to ask for a ride to other tourists, and we got nothing back from the rental company. These buggys should be banned, total no safety, no rear mirrors, suspension to roll over in a second, no horn, no lights, nothing. BEWARE. Better rent a scooter if possible.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonytony23
Business
Carol Stream, Illinois
Aug 4, 2012

Nice if you bring your kids with you.

Nice place to relax. Lots of activities. Be sure to bring your sunglass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sam zamir
Business
houston,texas
Mar 13, 2013

very relaxing

loved the resort and the freedom to visit other resorts,loved the staff,loved the location,food was good,did not like the 90 minute free wifi only in the lobby as everyone seemed to use at once!! was charged for 3 beds for 3 adults but got 2 beds and an army bed that a 6ft person can not sleep on!! not sure if this was a booking mistake or the hotel?over all i will go back again mainly because of the friendly staff and the peace and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the steak house and the japanese buffet was excellent but dont eat at their mexican resturant you are better off going to the buffet.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
March Travelers
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 17, 2013

Affordable and Fun!

Decent to good entertainment- wonderful costumes and dancing from the house entertainment! Great Mexican show, and Casino dancers. Two of the specialty restaurants were very average, but the nightly buffet was excellent in quality, variety, and theme. Proliferation of wildlife was disconcerting, but not bothersome. Rooms, t.v., were average, but not a hinderance. We spent very little time there anyway! Beds and pillows were comfortable. We did not mind the walk to the beach. It is not far, and the shuttle was very accessible. We had a great time and look forward to a return trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Can I live there
Business
Crown Point, IN
Apr 9, 2013

Vacation in Paradise

The only reason I rated the Room Comfort "Average" is because the beds were too hard. Other than that the room was clean, the location was great and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. This hotel is not on the beach but it's only about a five minute walk to the sister-hotel's beach and it's a great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yorkville girl
Business
Pa
Apr 23, 2013

Family vacation Yea :)

Loved it, great value. Second trip already looking forward to next year! Rooms and grounds well kept, all the workers were friendly and would go out of their way for you. Would have liked the pool to have stayed opened later. Beds were a little hard but you could ask for a mattress topper which helped a little. Nice that you had access to several other Riu hotels. Easy access to beach by tram car or walking. If you like walking its a nice walk to Fifth ave. or seven dollars by taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. Avila
Business
playa del carmen
Nov 7, 2013

relaxing vacation

Our vacation was great. We loved the peoplw at the hotel and the nightly entertaiment. The food was good and the drinks were great. We will be going again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top