RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
caribbeanlover
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Dec 26, 2011

Overall, good quality for the price

Staffs are kind and foods are pretty good. My only complain is that the room is not soundproofed well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Yalkul Lagoon for snorkeling...it's an excellent place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jan33
Business
québec
Jan 16, 2012

recommand this place

Great vacation, bed a bit to hard... in general great place. Food very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kamloops, B.C.
Jan 19, 2012

Nice place to vacation

Have stayed at several Riu Resorts and again was not disappointed. Good restaurants, with a wide variety of food. Best meals of the day were breakfast and dinner. Best theme night was defnitely Asian night. Lunch could have offered a bit more selection, nonetheless we definitely did not starve. Drinks are plentiful and the bartenders were fun. Staff are friendly, rooms are very, very clean. Beach is amazing, just a short walk (or shuttle ride). Waves are just perfect, just a bit of wave to play in but definitely great swimmable beach. No rocks!!! This trip we travelled with our adult children, however I would feel comfortable bringing our granddaughter (toddler) to this beach (unlike Los Cabos), just to be aware you will encounter the topless mommas of all ages. It was nice to have the option to visit/eat/drink at the other Riu sister resorts (Yucatan and Playacar) too. I would not hesitate to recommend any of these three resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan on spending an afternoon at 5th Avenue, a short cab ride, or 25 minute walk away from the resort via a beautiful rural, safe area. It is a fantastic Mexican shopping area where you can also enjoy a cervaza, a meal and culture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
linksladdie
Business
Missouri
Jan 22, 2012

Riu Tequila

This was our sixth visit to the Playa area in the last four years, our second at the Riu Tequila, and we feel that on a value per dollar basis it would be difficult to do better than tis hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk south on the beach for 10 minutes and enjoy the natural solitude beyond the last hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jayhawk1855
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Fun trip!

The trip was great. The hotel isn't perfect, but as long as you can overlook those little things, you'll have a good time. Yeah, the beds are hard as a rock and the a/c isn't the best, but for the price, it is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The small retail area next door is a little overpriced. A short cab ride downtown has the same touristy items for about half the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rested Riu guest
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 9, 2012

Quick getaway

My wife and I stayed here with another couple for 3 days in late January and we had a great time! The hotel grounds were beautifully maintained and every staff member greeted us with a smile and a friendly "Hola!" The hotel provided everything we needed to relax and let loose for our stay. The hotel is located off the beach but a 5-7 minute walk will get you there! We will return to Riu Tequila or a sister resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you plan on taking advantage of the hotel bars during the day, plan a later dinner when making reservations in the morning. You will need the late afternoon nap to assure you wont miss your dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOHNNYC67
Business
ONTARIO, CANADA
Mar 20, 2012

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

This was our first time here and I'm already looking forward to booking again next year. The resort is beautiful and it's the perfect place to unwind and relax with the family. There are plenty of activities for both adults and children so you will never be bored. The staff are very hard working and make your experience there even more enjoyable. I wasn't sure what to expect with the food as the reviews I read prior to coming were mixed. I will say that I was pleasantly surprised with the variety and quality and all four of us enjoyed different meals every day (2 adults and 2 children). Make sure to make it to the shows at night. There is a segment at the beginning for kids immediately followed by the main entertainment. Make sure to tip the staff. They all work very hard to make sure you enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alorocky
Business
Murrieta, CA
Apr 9, 2012

Very good hotel for the price

It is a very good hotel, food is the best all over. I have timeshare with westin regina and sandos hotel chains, but I always book this riu tequila for at least 3 nights when we are in Playa del Carmen, it is worth. Don't hesitate to book here, you won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss CocoBongo, it's a great show. If you go to Cozumel, do not rent those "buggys". The one we rented broke in the farest side of the island, have to ask for a ride to other tourists, and we got nothing back from the rental company. These buggys should be banned, total no safety, no rear mirrors, suspension to roll over in a second, no horn, no lights, nothing. BEWARE. Better rent a scooter if possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonytony23
Business
Carol Stream, Illinois
Aug 4, 2012

Nice if you bring your kids with you.

Nice place to relax. Lots of activities. Be sure to bring your sunglass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sam zamir
Business
houston,texas
Mar 13, 2013

very relaxing

loved the resort and the freedom to visit other resorts,loved the staff,loved the location,food was good,did not like the 90 minute free wifi only in the lobby as everyone seemed to use at once!! was charged for 3 beds for 3 adults but got 2 beds and an army bed that a 6ft person can not sleep on!! not sure if this was a booking mistake or the hotel?over all i will go back again mainly because of the friendly staff and the peace and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the steak house and the japanese buffet was excellent but dont eat at their mexican resturant you are better off going to the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top