RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
164 reviews
vacation

we have had a great time at Tequila. Great stuff, comfort, amenities. Jalisco restarant was great... See full review

  • scroodge
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great hotel

Great hotel. Friendly staff. Room was simple but very clean. 5-7 min walk to the beach and very... See full review

  • Ilana92
  • Jun 9, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 22, 2008

Had a great great time

Hotel was well worth the money. Only literally a few minutes to the beach..Decent shows, decent food, beautiful pool area, plenty of things to do, friendly staff..good upkeep on the room. Modern room with modern amenities. Good drinks that were flowing all day. Overall a very nice hotel. I was impressed. I would recommend it to everyone. Not a good place for singles at all. Mostly couples and families. Food wasn't anything 5 star but it did the job, big selection. Like I said..For the price I paid I was extremely impressed. Had a great time, my girlfriend had a great time. I'd recommend the place to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Apr 21, 2008

Truly Remarkable

The Riu Resorts in Playacar are all beautiful and well worth the trip. I found the staff at all of the resorts to be the most helpful group of people I've ever encountered. The landscaping is also the most beautiful landscaping I've seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't underestimate the on-sight dining options...best food I've ever eaten!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Triumph, *
Jul 24, 2008

My review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

The ClubHotel RIU Tequila was wonderful! From the moment we arrived til the day we left. We stayed for 8 days and have no complaints that the staff had any control over. Staff is very very friendly and make your stay very fun. They get you whatever you want and are very accomodating. Rooms are very clean and have a nice dressing area with private curtain and a sink, closet (iron and ironing board and umbrella and safe provided in closet) with a separate shower area and a separate room with toilet. The room had two night stands, dresser drawers, tv, clock, table and two chairs inside and a small table and two chairs on each balcony/patio. My husband and I had one room and we had four teen-age boys in the second room. They brought us a roll away bed. They took their turns sleeping on the roll away bed and alternating who got to sleep in the crack! They said the roll away bed was very comfortable. I read alot in the reviews about how hard the beds are. They are quite firm, but we loved it. Slept wonderful! Each room has it's own thermostat AND a ceiling fan - which we loved. We kept the rooms quite cool in the day, but were very surprised how cold we were at night. There are blankets in the closet and we very suprised we had to use them in July! Sometimes at night we would turn the a/c to a higher temp and not use the blanket. There was also a mini fridge and a booze dispenser on the wall. They stocked the fridge with bottled soda, water and corona beer. Also with club soda, tonic water, etc. The alcohol provided in the room was rum, tequila, vodka and gin. The hotel also provided soap and shampoo packets (no conditioner) Shower was awesome - immediate hot water and lots of pressure. Rooms did smell a bit musty - really realized this when we got home and smelled how bad our clean clothes smelt!! But you must remember you are in Mexico and the jungle. My only other complaint was the mosquitos in our room. We had two rooms and only one of our rooms had mosquitos in it daily - quite a few of them. If you call the front desk, they come immediately and spray your room and it's no problem. Even though we had mosquitos, they were annoying, yet we never got bit! So either take your own bug spray for the room or call the front desk. We walked to the 5th Avenue Shopping area/flea markets. It took us 30 minutes. I'd guess it's a little less than 2 miles away. Very nice walk. Felt very safe and a beautiful scenery on the way. Our 4 kids, ages 13-15 walked there several times with no adults and were fine. Cab rides are $5. 5th Avenue offers flea markets and stores and that is where you can get ferry tickets and go to Cozumel. Tickets are $12 per person, each way. There are restaurants like Carlos and Charlies and Johnny Rockets, Starbucks, Sushi, McDonalds, etc. The beach is beautiful. The RIU Tequila is not on the beach but it is not a problem at all to walk across the street and down a long shaded sidewalk to the beach. They have a little shuttle that you can take there, but we always walked. We ate on site every day and loved all the food. So much variety, you can't go hungry. There is definitely something for everyone! And the drinks are wonderful... whatever you want, they will make it if they have it. We made reservations and ate at the Steak dinner twice. We didn't try the other restaurants as we liked the buffet dining and all the variet. Very good. The entertainment staff does a wonderful job. Very energetic and love to work with the guests. The Michael Jackson show and the Grease show were very good. I'd see them again. We only saw those two shows as we did other things in the evenings. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. I'd go back in a hearbeat! Loved the place. You could relax and enjoy your own peace and quiet or get involved in all the activities they offer. Since we had teenage boys, we didn't leave the premises at night to go to nightclubs, but had a great time at ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cab rides are $5 or you can walk it in 30 minutes. VERY NICE WALK.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skogs
Brainerd, MN
Mar 28, 2011

Great vacation

First time visitor, greeted with drinks and bags taken to rooms, informative meet and greet the next day not to long! very clean, hotel cleaners always working hard, never seen bar staff work so hard always smiling and happy.. Food very good lots of choice and theme nights, resturant very clean, food well prepaired. entertainment very good. plenty of fantasic excursions... definately will go to hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The international flair of crowd at the the bar kept me coming back every night.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skogs
Brainerd, MN
Mar 28, 2011

Great vacation

First time visitor, greeted with drinks and bags taken to rooms, informative meet and greet the next day not to long! very clean, hotel cleaners always working hard, never seen bar staff work so hard always smiling and happy.. Food very good lots of choice and theme nights, resturant very clean, food well prepaired. entertainment very good. plenty of fantasic excursions... definately will go to hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The international flair of crowd at the the bar kept me coming back every night.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fayetteville
Jun 20, 2008

Great Resort!

Riu Tequila is a wonderful resort! My husband and I have stayed at this resort several times. The staff are great. They are very friendly and will help you in any way. The food is wonderful. You will not go hungry. Their cocktails are also very good and they have a wide selection with good name brand booze. We love their rum though. The rooms are very clean. This resort is right on the beach and its grounds are beautiful. There is a lot to do games and sports wise. You will never find a more beautiful beach. Entertainment in the evening could be improved but if you have never been before you might enjoy. I recommend this resort. You will have a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiamiFl
Miami Fl
Nov 29, 2009

Excellent!!

Beautiful Hotel! I was very impressed with the service, the dining options and how very well kept all the green areas are. The rooms are big and very clean. It has an excellent location, close to everything you need and the staff is always willing to help you. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
May 30, 2007

Great Value and Vacation

This hotel and resort was excellent. The staff were outstanding, rooms spacious and clean, food wonderful and excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
playa del carmen
Jun 6, 2010

Great Value

great all inclusive package. no tipping requirement

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

short cab ride. $5 each way...

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Highlands Ranch
Jun 10, 2008

Great Getaway

The Riu Tequila was just beautiful. They had a large choice of food options, highly friendly and helpful staff, and great amenities (pool, shows, bars). It is a short walk to the beach and you have 2 other resorts that you can take avantage of. The only draw back was the beds were a little hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You must checkout your beach/pool towel from your hotel only (not one of the other 2 resorts). You also can only checkout 1 towel per person a day. Everything else (food, drinks, shows, & pool) can be done at the other resorts also.

Back to menu Return to top