$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMT16
Business
Rochester, NY
Apr 23, 2014

Beautiful Resort!

The hotel is very nice, the Playa Del Carmen area is a very nice gated community. The other RIU Resorts are within walking distance to each other. The beach was across the street which was not a bad walk. There is also a trolly that runs about every 15 minutes to and from the beach. The food was good, nothing special. We are 23-24 this hotel was a good mix of families and younger couples. We did a Turtle snorkel, cave tour and ATV. The ATVs were not worth it, however the other two were. We also went parasailing which we found from someone on the beach. You can deal with them on the price. The beach was beautiful (lots of security to make sure only RIU guests were in the area.) The staff was very friendly. Make sure you tip your bartender and they will make sure you never have an empty glass! The pictures are exactly what the resort is nothing is a surprise. We will be booking again with the RIU Resorts the next time we travel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a US ATM in the shopping center next to the resort! Paying in dollars saves you money. The exchange rate is $1 = 13 pesos!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry123
Business
new york NY
Nov 10, 2013

fantastic

the best vacation ever :) strongly recommended . nothing was missing . this was my 2-nd time in Riu Tequila and I wish not last .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. Avila
Business
playa del carmen
Nov 7, 2013

relaxing vacation

Our vacation was great. We loved the peoplw at the hotel and the nightly entertaiment. The food was good and the drinks were great. We will be going again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D. Avila
Business
playa del carmen
Oct 31, 2013

Vacation

It was very relaxing and fun vacation. Hotel had great staff and lot of different things to do every night. Good food. Looking forward to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georgina007
Business
New Milford,ct
May 15, 2013

Best vacation ever!

This was are 2nd time in Playa del Carmen. W absolutely love this place. The Riu Tequila resort was amazing, so as the workers and the service. We had no 1 complain the whole tired time. The food was more than anybody can wish for and the taste just amazing!!!:-))) We would definitely recommend the Riu Tequila to everybody who loves Mexican style , people and an amazing beach. Oh .. by the way - This resort doesn't have a beach on the resort. You will have to walk ( 5 min-8 min) or take the little open bus/train to the beach. It did not bother us to walk at all. Achli we felt it was refreshing and beautiful!!!!:-))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yorkville girl
Business
Pa
Apr 23, 2013

Family vacation Yea :)

Loved it, great value. Second trip already looking forward to next year! Rooms and grounds well kept, all the workers were friendly and would go out of their way for you. Would have liked the pool to have stayed opened later. Beds were a little hard but you could ask for a mattress topper which helped a little. Nice that you had access to several other Riu hotels. Easy access to beach by tram car or walking. If you like walking its a nice walk to Fifth ave. or seven dollars by taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronnie Rowdy
Business
Midwest
Apr 11, 2013

Spring getaway

Not close enough to the beach for my liking. Had to walk a long way each day to hang on the water. I do not go on vacation to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Can I live there
Business
Crown Point, IN
Apr 9, 2013

Vacation in Paradise

The only reason I rated the Room Comfort "Average" is because the beds were too hard. Other than that the room was clean, the location was great and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. This hotel is not on the beach but it's only about a five minute walk to the sister-hotel's beach and it's a great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fathers with 2
Business
Miami
Apr 1, 2013

Good value not spectacular

Great location, rooms and hotel are nice. No in room wifi ( good and bad). Food was ok not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
March Travelers
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 17, 2013

Affordable and Fun!

Decent to good entertainment- wonderful costumes and dancing from the house entertainment! Great Mexican show, and Casino dancers. Two of the specialty restaurants were very average, but the nightly buffet was excellent in quality, variety, and theme. Proliferation of wildlife was disconcerting, but not bothersome. Rooms, t.v., were average, but not a hinderance. We spent very little time there anyway! Beds and pillows were comfortable. We did not mind the walk to the beach. It is not far, and the shuttle was very accessible. We had a great time and look forward to a return trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top