RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
110 reviews
Riu Tequila Again

This was my 8th trip to the Tequila and again, it was consistently good. It's one of the best... See full review

  • ktlktl
  • Nov 19, 2014
Great time and value

we had a great experience at this hotel. Food was very good, facilities very nice,and staff very... See full review

  • Degek
  • Nov 18, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D. Avila
Business
playa del carmen
Oct 31, 2013

Vacation

It was very relaxing and fun vacation. Hotel had great staff and lot of different things to do every night. Good food. Looking forward to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Feb 14, 2010

Riu Tequla

Fourth Riu vacation in Playacar area in last two years. Always happy with Riu experience. Unfortunately timed it with beach restoration project but that wasn't Riu's fault. Prefer Riu Palace Riviera Maya, but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book specialty restaurants on the way in to breakfast buffet in the morning

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 5, 2011

NOT ON THE BEACH

RIU Tequila hotel is not located on the beach - contrary to what the description claims. The description that is given is very tricky to make you believe that you are going to be steps from the water. In reality, you need to walk up to 1/2 mile from your room to the hotel entrance, then cross a busy street and walk another 1/2 mile along the sister RIU Palace hotel before you even see some beach sand. A golf cart style shuttle will also pick you at the lobby, but it works limited hours and sometimes you will be waiting for it to come back if too many people need a ride. Interesting detail - you must get you beach towel at Tequila. You go to RIU Yucatan for the beach. If for some reason you need to get a fresh towel, you must walk back to Tequila as Yucatan staff would refuse to exchange a towel if they learn that you are from Tequila. Customer service at its best! I wish I have not made my decision to book this place based entirely on the description. I respect people who work there - they work very hard to make us, tourists, happy and keep the place very clean. But the misleading description and the management decision to squeeze a buck by serving cheap food and drinks have spoiled the impression. I have seen a better RIU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Shop for your hotel wisely and do you research outside of the booking web site. Even popular traveler review sites may contain biased opinions or their reviews may be written by people who have little or no experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Mar 11, 2010

A disappointing holiday

A much less satisfatory hotel than the Riu Cancun I stayed at 3 years ago and which I enjoyed for 3 weeks. RIU TEQUILA is far away from Playa del Carmen. 3.5 kms to get to the exit of the Playacar compound; then you need to add another 2 kms to get to the nice parts of the village. No buses are available from the hotels to the village; only an expensive taxi ride ($10.00 return from the entrance of Playacar to the hotels. Result: I only went to the village once in 2 weeks and bought nothing because the beginning of the village, next to the Playacar compound, has been commercialized in the ugliest and cheapest way possible and was a complete turn-off.The prices, however are far from cheap. There are new hotels downtown Playa del Carmen which would offer a much more satisfactory holiday. None of the restaurants are very good or even good. My first dinner in the main restaurant was excellent; after that it went downhill steadily. The Steak restaurant serves meat that is tough; the Oriental restaurant is average; the beach restaurant is poor. None of the restaurants were anywhere close to being on a par with the RIU CANCUN restaurants where I stayed 3 weeks for the price it cost me for 2 at the TEQUILA. Of course, that was 3 years ago, but still . . . I felt trapped at the TEQUILA. I am middle-aged but in decent shape. However a solid 10kms-a-day walk to go anywhere is not my cup of tea. They have a golf-cart to take clients to the beach. Why can't they have one to take them to the entrance of the PLayacar compound? I certainly would not go back nor recommend it to friends. It's a pity because I had been to Playa del Carmen some years ago in a little hotel downtown and had loved it. They were building Playacar at the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The evenings shows about 4 nights a week were good. The sound, though, was poor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loves Mexico
Business
Madison Heights Michigan
Feb 27, 2011

decent hotel for the price

the hotel was OK albeit dated. The king size bed was 2 dbles pushed together. The hotel could use a face lift. It was very clean and the food for the all inclusive was better than most I have had.The hotel is not on the beach so a leisurely walk of about 8 minutes was nice or you could take the golf cart. We spent more time at the RIU Yucatan at the beach and used their facilities more than the Tequilla's. I will go back to Playacar but I wont stay at the RIU Tequilla. I will more than likely stay at the RIU Yucatan or the RIU Playacar. The Tequilla pool and the Yucatan pool were nice but not lively. I found a more fun time at the RIU Playacar. The patrons there were more fun and there seemed to be more Americans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Got to GO to Bad Boys bar on the beach off 5th AVE. You have to take the side street down to the beach from the cab/bus terminal and take a left. About a 1/2 block down you will find a true beach bar. Don't forget the roast chicken or ribs on Thurs and Saturday night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oppa Cancun Style
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 1, 2014

just ok

My AC didn't work didn't bring towels food was ok 10 mins drive by shuttle to the beach u need cards to get towels everyday (not too convenient)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lizzy1313
Business
Ontario
Dec 2, 2014

Very nice

Very nice and clean. Food was good but not exceptional. The rooms could use an update but that is not as important to me as how clean it was. Good value for the money. We had a really nice time. The beach was beautiful and the water was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BlueGrl Traveler
Business
Monterey County, CA
Aug 7, 2009

Beautiful Hotel! Loved it!

Our hotel was very nice and the staff was really friendly. The rooms were clean and the food was very good. Usually at an all-inclusive, you get tired of the food after 4 or 5 days, but the Riu Tequila had a nice variety and 3 different specialty restaurants to choose from. The only thing about the specialty restaurants that I didn't like was that you had to make your reservations for dinner between 7am-10:30am. There is a limited amount of seating so the earlier you get in line the more likely it is that you'll get a table. The entertainment shows were pretty funny and we always ended our nights at the Sports Bar playing Air Hockey. There are also Billiard tables, Internet and other games (extra charge for Sports Bar activities.) The hotel itself has a beautiful open-air lobby and well tended grounds. It is located in a private community called Playacar. It is well guarded and we didn't have any trouble with overbearing vendors. There is a group of shops located a 5 minute walk away from Riu Tequila. Some of the shops are pricey, but they have pretty and interesting items for sale. We dubbed them the "Five Minute Shops." There is also a bank, pharmacy and a Starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

From the hotel, it is a 30 minute walk to Playa Del Carmen. There, there are shops, restaurants, and the dock to get to Cozumel. The souvenir shops there are less expensive than the Five Minute Shops. If you don't want to walk to Playa Del Carmen, you can get a taxi from the hotel and it will only cost 50 pesos ($3+ depending on the exchange rate). Some of the shops there will accept the American Dollar at a higher rate than the exchange houses so its worth paying with American. Ask for the rate before you pay. Overall my experience at the Riu Tequila and Playa del Carmen was excellent. If you plan to do excursions, I recommend Coba (The only Mayan Pyramid you can still climb) After climbing the pyramid, I recommend a swim in a cenote (underground swimming hole) There is one 15 minutes away from the Coba Ruins. After climbing down from the ruins you will be VERY tired and sweaty. A cool swim is what you will be wanting. Also visit Xcaret at some point during your stay. You don't have to book this trip through the hotel. The hotel is only about a 15 minute taxi ride from Xcaret. The entrance fee is a bit pricey (worth geting the Xcaret Plus Package), but the experience there is worth it. It's part zoo and part ameusment park (no roller coasters). There is an underground river that you can swim and snorkel in. There is so much to do and the park is so big that you should get there early and stay for the closing show. Its a must do!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis,IN
Apr 23, 2010

Great Hotel

Great location near shopping and use of 3 other sister hotel within walking distance. Only downsized is dinning if wanting to go to specilized resturants you have to get up at 7 am every morning to book restuant that day or be forced to eat in buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mclovin1788
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 28, 2011

best vacation ever had

it was great. the food, the drinks, the hospitality, all the people were very nice and kind! the room was very good also. aver all everything was great, we had a great great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top