RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
110 reviews
Riu Tequila Again

This was my 8th trip to the Tequila and again, it was consistently good. It's one of the best... See full review

  • ktlktl
  • Nov 19, 2014
Great time and value

we had a great experience at this hotel. Food was very good, facilities very nice,and staff very... See full review

  • Degek
  • Nov 18, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner. Previous reservation is required
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dark Glass
Business
Maine
May 30, 2014

excellent vacation

The resort is nice and has the charm of a smaller place although it is grouped together with several other RIU properties. The rooms are in smaller buildings on beautifully landscaped grounds. The rooms are large and comfortable, we especially enjoyed the balcony where you could sit outside and have a coffee in the morning or a drink in the evening. This was our first time in a resort with kids but the property Is big enough so you don't necessarily feel the presence of the kids. The beach is phenomenal! It is a 5 minute walk and not nearly as far as some people describe it. With plenty of shade from palm trees, we never had problems with finding a lounge chair. The food was very delicious, we didnt have a problem making a reservation for one of the restaurants but actually the buffet was so good that we didn't really go to the restaurants more than once. The buffet has themed evenings, Mexican, Asian, etc.., the selection is good and the food is delicious. Lunch is at the RIU Yukatan restaurant next to the beach - it is very busy around 1-2pm when everyone goes to lunch. Lunch is plenty and delicious, they never run out of anything. The most annoying part were actually some people who were more than obnoxious when trying to get their food - cutting in line, touching every bread roll on the stand before deciding not to get any, and etc. I suggest going to the restaurant by the pool in RIU Tequila - less crowded and same delicious food. We also liked the RIU Tequila pool and swim up bar - again, much less crowded and nicer atmosphere all around. Don't bother with the resort entertainment program in the evening - go to Playa del Carmen instead. You can walk there (about 30 minutes to the beginning of 5th ave) or take a cab (MX$70 going there and MX$90 coming back). The two big reasons we chose Riu Tequila (other than being the best value for money) were the awesome beach and the proximity to Playa Del Carmen. if you are looking to spend your days on the beach and relax in the evenings, RIU tequila is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend going to 2 places in Playa del Carmen: "El Bodeguita del Medio" - a Cuban bar with live Cuban music and excellent mojitos and "Zenzi" bar - a bar set right on the beach (some of the tables are actually in the sand with different choice of live music every evening (Brazilian salsa was especially good).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ilana92
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 9, 2014

Great hotel

Great hotel. Friendly staff. Room was simple but very clean. 5-7 min walk to the beach and very close to Playa de Carmen (about 10 min drive). The other reviews are very accurate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiamiFl
Business
Miami Fl
Nov 29, 2009

Excellent!!

Beautiful Hotel! I was very impressed with the service, the dining options and how very well kept all the green areas are. The rooms are big and very clean. It has an excellent location, close to everything you need and the staff is always willing to help you. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
one relaxed chica
Business
boston, ma
Feb 21, 2010

THE place to relax

This was our first all inclusive trip, and we loved every minute of it. The hotel staff works so hard (yet makes it look effortless) to make visitors comfortable and entertained. The shows that they put on at night are not to be missed. We had planned to spend a lot of time at the recently refurbished beach (gorgous and not a far walk if the golf carts are too lazy for you), but the sprawling pool is more than adequate with plenty of comfy deck chairs/towel service, lunch nearby, and palapas if you want shade. The swim up bar is fabluous!!! The food was also delicous: the three restaurants are nice if you want a more intimate experience (view at beach club is fabulous!)but honestly we found the food to be the freshest and most varied at the standard restaurant. What the restaurant does to carve centerpeices out of vegetables and ice is breathtaking... The grounds are beautiful. There are five other RIU hotels in the area that you can visit with your bracelet. We had the opportunity to visit RIU Playacar which seemed perfectly nice but like one long stretch. Since it is on the waterfront, the grounds are thin but long. RIU Tequilla felt much more spread out with curving paths, different views depending on which way one walked, and much more variety. There is abundant wildlife to be seen too. It is cool to be able to check out the other RIUs though if you want to. We took a day trip to vist the Mayan ruins of Coba. Visitors can still climb one of the ancient ruins there and see old ball courts too. I recommend cooling off afterwards by swimming in one of the numerous underground cenotes (underground caves). I can't finish this review without mentioning the friendly and professional concierge staff...Joseph was more than accomodating and even send fresh fruit to the room the night my husband was not feeling well. All in all, I would highly reccomend staying at the RIU Tequilla!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cheektowaga, NY
May 10, 2009

Riu Palace

Because of the threat of Swine Flu there was a delcine of guests, so the Tequila was closed. Other members of our family were meeting us there, and they placed them in the Riu Palace. They also upgraded us to that Hotel, at no charge. It was the most beautiful hotel. We liked everything about it. The many resturants, the great service, the pool and the rooms were beautiful. Orbitz did a fine job calling us to let us know our flight was leaving on time, they provided the transportation to and from the airport as we included this in our trip cost. We would definitely travel using Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel provided entertainment all day by the pool and every evening. There was no need to leave the resort at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alicia and Alex
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 8, 2010

We LOVED our stay at RIU Tequila!!!

We absolutely loved, loved, loved our stay! It was very relaxing, re-energizing and satisfying 6-day get-away. The hotel is super clean, the staff is awesome, and the buffet left us speechless and full. There were still homeless cats and some other weird-looking creatures, but it really did not spoil the comfort of the hotel. We went to visit one of our friends at a different hotel and what a difference: dirty and depressing rooms, dirty bars and facilities, unfriendly staff. RIU Tequila is always full! We booked 8 weeks prior to our trip, and 2 weeks after our booking the hotel disappeared from [...] (it was ALL booked up!!!). The housekeeper kept leaving cute swans, elephants, doggies made out of the towels. Several things that would make it even a better hotel: bathroom robes, slippers (the floor was always cold), and a little heater. The rooms were a bit damp in the evening especially if it was not a very hot day. So bring warm pajamas, it will help! :) Also, my bf and I were looking forward to soaking in jacuzzi, but it was small and located on the 2nd floor at the Spa Center. Was not the best location, but we survived! The buffet was awesome. We could use the buffet facilities at other RIU hotels: Yucatan and etc. It was very useful. We soaked in the sun all day long and went for lunches right at the beach (RIU Yucatan facilities are right off the beach). The food was delicious and had all sorts of food even french fries and pizza for picky little eaters! Coconuts right on the beach!!! Yam! Several times we woke up at 7 am to book specialty restaurants, but we found the buffet much more satisfying! Maybe steakhouse was the only good alternative. Asian restaurant was nothing special at all! :) The walk to the beach is short and very beautiful. You can always take a little golf cart there. Perfect!!! It an awesome hotel for the money you pay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't take an expensive taxi to the hotel. Take ADO bus for $105 pesos - $10 (from the airport to Playa Del Carmen) and then take a $5 cab straight to the hotel. The buses leave every 30 minutes. http://www.ado.com.mx/ado/index.jsp The cabs park right by the bus station. Change $ for pesos there. It is a better rate: $1:13 pesos. Also, bring warm pjs and slippers. Nights could be a bit chilly and the hotel rooms do not have heaters. It's Mexico!!! :) Take advantage of the free activities offered by the hotel: air gun shooting, water polo, volleyball and etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york city
Apr 15, 2010

fantastic place for getaway

very good hotel i recommended to all my friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young unmarried couple who had a blast!!
Business
Dallas, TX
May 27, 2009

Beautiful Hotel; Outstanding Service

Great professional service. Front desk was extremely helpful with everything. $5 taxi ride to downtown Playa del Carmen, would not recommend walking. Beautiful beach that was 20 steps from our room. Room was spotless everyday. Our room was a perfect size for a couple. Had excursion representatives there every morning that helped us pick what to do during our entire stay. Would recommend to everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evanston, *
Jul 21, 2008

Very relaxing.

The hotel is located across the street and away from the beach. If you don't mind a little walking-- not a bad thing given it is all inclusive... Our only issue were the misquitos in our room. We didn't ask to change rooms, so it was our own decision to stay. But the misquitos would just fly in when we opened our door to go in or out. This is misquito season it seems. Food was good. Steakhouse is very good. Mexican not as good as the Mexican restaurant. You can also eat breakfest + lunch. We had stayed at the Playacar before, so we ended there a lot of the time.. All in all a great stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen is about 2 miles, 5 min $5 cab drive away, or a long walk. Nice to go in the evening for some super cheap massages! $30/hour!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Highlands Ranch
Jun 10, 2008

Great Getaway

The Riu Tequila was just beautiful. They had a large choice of food options, highly friendly and helpful staff, and great amenities (pool, shows, bars). It is a short walk to the beach and you have 2 other resorts that you can take avantage of. The only draw back was the beds were a little hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You must checkout your beach/pool towel from your hotel only (not one of the other 2 resorts). You also can only checkout 1 towel per person a day. Everything else (food, drinks, shows, & pool) can be done at the other resorts also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top