$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lizzy1313
Couples
Ontario
Dec 2, 2014

Very nice

Very nice and clean. Food was good but not exceptional. The rooms could use an update but that is not as important to me as how clean it was. Good value for the money. We had a really nice time. The beach was beautiful and the water was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oppa Cancun Style
Family
San Francisco, CA
Dec 1, 2014

just ok

My AC didn't work didn't bring towels food was ok 10 mins drive by shuttle to the beach u need cards to get towels everyday (not too convenient)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ktlktl
Friends
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Nov 19, 2014

Riu Tequila Again

This was my 8th trip to the Tequila and again, it was consistently good. It's one of the best values for the Playacar area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Degek
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 18, 2014

Great time and value

we had a great experience at this hotel. Food was very good, facilities very nice,and staff very friendly. Great economic stay and it was a plus being able to use the facilities at the Yucatan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T and T from WA
Couples
Spokane, Washington
Oct 22, 2014

Great time and a super value

My wife and I had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate recommending this resort. The internet access isn't good but everything else was above expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddie DJ
Couples
Tucson, Arizona
Sep 22, 2014

our getway

Our stay at the riu tequila was great. The nightly shows were spectacular. The weather at this time of the year was warm & humid, but bearable. We spent a lot of time in the pool area with plenty of drinks at our disposable. We met a lot of people from England, Scotland & Ireland. The food at the buffets was good and plentiful. We will surely be back next year for yet, another great week of fun & relaxation. Thanks,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Or take a cab for $7.00 one way, for up to 4 people.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fishfreek
Couples
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Aug 18, 2014

Great time at the Tequila!

My wife and I arrived at the Tequila about 1:00pm and check-in was a breeze. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but that was no problem, we had a drink in the air conditioned sports bar while we waited. Shortly after we arrived to our room we found the air conditioning was out. The following morning I called the front desk and we were promptly moved to another building witch was poolside and in a perfect location. The rooms are average, but comfortable with all the amenities you would expect. The Tequila is in a nice tropical setting with lots of palm trees, foliage and wildlife. We also liked the fact that it had great Mexican flair unlike its sister resort across the road, The Yucatan(witch you also share privileges with and is a great resort in its own respect, just a bit too modern for us). The Tequila is not situated on the beach, but that wasn't a problem for us, its only a few minute walk or trolley ride away. By the way the beach is AWSOME! Overall at this resort, we thought the food and drinks were very good. We mostly ate at the buffets, lots to choose from and we always found something great to eat. As far as restaurants, we ate at the Chinese and the steak restaurants and thought they were both great! The steak place is a bit of a drawn out affair, but worth it. The Chinese place is buffet style, but was also very good. As far as entertainment, I can't really comment on that too much. We are early risers and hit the beach by each day by 7:00 to reserve our loungers at the Yucatan. After cocktails and relaxing all day in the sun, we found it difficult to make it past 10:00 each night, so we didn't catch any shows. We have done quite a bit of traveling in the past years to Jamaica and Mexico and have never stayed at the same resort twice, but we are already planning on returning to the Tequila next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanchez 303
Family
denver
Jul 26, 2014

overall good stay

pretty nice place for the price not very close to the beach but just a 10-minute walk and you could also use the facilities at the beach which is nice. beds not very comfortable, food is good I would recommend overall. Beach is pristine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Obnurse96
Family
Blue Springs, MO
Jul 25, 2014

Beautiful hotel with great service

This was a beautiful hotel. Lots of food and places to get drinks. Only draw back was the walk to the beach. It's not very far but the tram was only available 8-1 3-6. Room was nice and cool & the mini fridge was always stocked. Only complaint was the wi-fi. In this day and age most hotels offer it all day not just 90 min. And it wasn't a good signal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lonewolf713
Couples
pa
Jul 22, 2014

great vacation

hotel is really big the rooms are great it is nice to have some extra space and not be crammed into a small room.Rooms have a refridge that comes stocked with drinks and also a mini bar with alcohol that is included in all inclusive and restocked every couple of days. The staff all work very hard to keep evreyone happy and keeping hotel looking great. The beach is awesome we walked to town via beach almost every day it takes about 35=40 minutes if you stop to check out area. The beach near the hotel is the best the water is crystal clear. The hotel is located in Playacar which is nice as it is a gated community so there are guards checking who comes in and out. We had a great time will be back soon hopefully!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top