$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
161 reviews
vacation

we have had a great time at Tequila. Great stuff, comfort, amenities. Jalisco restarant was great... See full review

  • scroodge
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great hotel

Great hotel. Friendly staff. Room was simple but very clean. 5-7 min walk to the beach and very... See full review

  • Ilana92
  • Jun 9, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lakeville, MN
Feb 28, 2010

Great place to meet Europeans

The food was good for an all Inclusive, the food at the speciality dinners was better. The entertainment was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not book your tours at the hotels. We found that on one tour we paid $20 more than the other people in our van for the exact same tour. On our other outing the person who set up our tour misquoted us as well as others at other hotels.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Preston, WA
Feb 24, 2010

The Perfect Get away

So many side trips to choose from. The Three guided tours we really enjoyed were: Rio Secreto Nature Reserve, Dive Mike Caribbean diving, and the Mayan Xtreme over the edge. Then for fun we took the ferry to Cozamel and spent the day shopping in the plaza market

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go to 5th Avenue

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Preston, WA
Feb 24, 2010

The Perfect Get away

So many side trips to choose from. The Three guided tours we really enjoyed were: Rio Secreto Nature Reserve, Dive Mike Caribbean diving, and the Mayan Xtreme over the edge. Then for fun we took the ferry to Cozamel and spent the day shopping in the plaza market

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go to 5th Avenue

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
one relaxed chica
boston, ma
Feb 21, 2010

THE place to relax

This was our first all inclusive trip, and we loved every minute of it. The hotel staff works so hard (yet makes it look effortless) to make visitors comfortable and entertained. The shows that they put on at night are not to be missed. We had planned to spend a lot of time at the recently refurbished beach (gorgous and not a far walk if the golf carts are too lazy for you), but the sprawling pool is more than adequate with plenty of comfy deck chairs/towel service, lunch nearby, and palapas if you want shade. The swim up bar is fabluous!!! The food was also delicous: the three restaurants are nice if you want a more intimate experience (view at beach club is fabulous!)but honestly we found the food to be the freshest and most varied at the standard restaurant. What the restaurant does to carve centerpeices out of vegetables and ice is breathtaking... The grounds are beautiful. There are five other RIU hotels in the area that you can visit with your bracelet. We had the opportunity to visit RIU Playacar which seemed perfectly nice but like one long stretch. Since it is on the waterfront, the grounds are thin but long. RIU Tequilla felt much more spread out with curving paths, different views depending on which way one walked, and much more variety. There is abundant wildlife to be seen too. It is cool to be able to check out the other RIUs though if you want to. We took a day trip to vist the Mayan ruins of Coba. Visitors can still climb one of the ancient ruins there and see old ball courts too. I recommend cooling off afterwards by swimming in one of the numerous underground cenotes (underground caves). I can't finish this review without mentioning the friendly and professional concierge staff...Joseph was more than accomodating and even send fresh fruit to the room the night my husband was not feeling well. All in all, I would highly reccomend staying at the RIU Tequilla!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
one relaxed chica
boston, ma
Feb 21, 2010

THE place to relax

This was our first all inclusive trip, and we loved every minute of it. The hotel staff works so hard (yet makes it look effortless) to make visitors comfortable and entertained. The shows that they put on at night are not to be missed. We had planned to spend a lot of time at the recently refurbished beach (gorgous and not a far walk if the golf carts are too lazy for you), but the sprawling pool is more than adequate with plenty of comfy deck chairs/towel service, lunch nearby, and palapas if you want shade. The swim up bar is fabluous!!! The food was also delicous: the three restaurants are nice if you want a more intimate experience (view at beach club is fabulous!)but honestly we found the food to be the freshest and most varied at the standard restaurant. What the restaurant does to carve centerpeices out of vegetables and ice is breathtaking... The grounds are beautiful. There are five other RIU hotels in the area that you can visit with your bracelet. We had the opportunity to visit RIU Playacar which seemed perfectly nice but like one long stretch. Since it is on the waterfront, the grounds are thin but long. RIU Tequilla felt much more spread out with curving paths, different views depending on which way one walked, and much more variety. There is abundant wildlife to be seen too. It is cool to be able to check out the other RIUs though if you want to. We took a day trip to vist the Mayan ruins of Coba. Visitors can still climb one of the ancient ruins there and see old ball courts too. I recommend cooling off afterwards by swimming in one of the numerous underground cenotes (underground caves). I can't finish this review without mentioning the friendly and professional concierge staff...Joseph was more than accomodating and even send fresh fruit to the room the night my husband was not feeling well. All in all, I would highly reccomend staying at the RIU Tequilla!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Missouri
Feb 14, 2010

Riu Tequla

Fourth Riu vacation in Playacar area in last two years. Always happy with Riu experience. Unfortunately timed it with beach restoration project but that wasn't Riu's fault. Prefer Riu Palace Riviera Maya, but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book specialty restaurants on the way in to breakfast buffet in the morning

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Missouri
Feb 14, 2010

Riu Tequla

Fourth Riu vacation in Playacar area in last two years. Always happy with Riu experience. Unfortunately timed it with beach restoration project but that wasn't Riu's fault. Prefer Riu Palace Riviera Maya, but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book specialty restaurants on the way in to breakfast buffet in the morning

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tough Customer
Winnipeg, Canada
Dec 22, 2009

Amazing!!!

We arrived late and still found a great buffet going on!! We relaxed by the pool the first day and booked a ziplining excursion to Aktun Chen through Lomas travel. All week the staff were amazing and very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use pesos as compared to american dollars you will get better deals. If you are staying in playacar the stores in the plaza are actually priced better than the street vendors.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tough Customer
Winnipeg, Canada
Dec 22, 2009

Amazing!!!

We arrived late and still found a great buffet going on!! We relaxed by the pool the first day and booked a ziplining excursion to Aktun Chen through Lomas travel. All week the staff were amazing and very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use pesos as compared to american dollars you will get better deals. If you are staying in playacar the stores in the plaza are actually priced better than the street vendors.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiamiFl
Miami Fl
Nov 29, 2009

Excellent!!

Beautiful Hotel! I was very impressed with the service, the dining options and how very well kept all the green areas are. The rooms are big and very clean. It has an excellent location, close to everything you need and the staff is always willing to help you. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top