$411 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

RIU Playacar All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M6 Lote 6, FRACC. Playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
59 reviews
Great place to stay

We went for a week.and had a great time. Hotel is walking distance to town. It is a very clean... See full review

  • Cmead
  • Nov 23, 2014
Excellent vacation !!!

I have taken my vacation (15 days) hosted on the Riu Palace Hotel Riviera Maya. I had hired in... See full review

  • Daniel Alberto
  • Feb 27, 2014
The Riu Playacar is a charming and colourful Caribbean style resort, located on the beach surrounded by lush tropical gardens, just 15 minutes from the heart of Playa del Carmen. The hotel features 396 spacious guestrooms with a full range of amenities including a mini-bar and liquor dispenser.
The guests enjoy a full range of sports and entertainment activities, such as Riu's famous theme shows, not to mention the excellent international buffet and superb restaurants as well as the assortment of facilities available at sister properties within the Riu Resort complex. With its relaxing atmosphere, Riu Playacar is the perfect holiday choice for families, singles or couples.

Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.

The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
***No Student groups under 21 years or Spring Breakers are accepted all year round***

***Guests have 90 min/day free WiFi-connection in the lobby.
***WiFi throughout the whole hotel, at cost

RIU Playacar All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room with two double beds, color satellite TV, safe deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, balcony or terrace, private bathroom with bath, shower and hairdryer, stocked mini bar, liquor dispenser and telephone.
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Turquesa
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.
La Olas
Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in pool bar/swim-up bar
La Cumbia
Lounge Bar, share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
El Porche
Main restaurant with buffet dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required. Serving local and continental cuisine. Open from 7am - 10:30 am and from 12pm - 3pm and from 6:30pm - 10pm.
Cafe Cubano
Cocktails and drinks, meets friends in lobby bar featuring live piano music.
Jade
Aisan style restaurante for dinner. Previous reservation is required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 59
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cmead
Business
Alta Loma, Ca
Nov 23, 2014

Great place to stay

We went for a week.and had a great time. Hotel is walking distance to town. It is a very clean facility and well taken care of. The room are big and clean. The only problem we had was that the shower did not drain very quickly so you end up standing in a pool of water. The staff is very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A lot of attractive to go too, all within driving distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Westy Traveler
Business
Westminster, Co
Jul 17, 2014

Paradise!

This was our first time staying here, and we loved it! The beach was absolutely perfect with clear waters and calm waves. We would stay again in this particular area for the beach alone! The staff at the hotel was amazing. We had an issue with our air conditioning not being cold enough for our taste and we were moved to another room with no problems. We stayed in building 5, which is closest to the pool, and it was very convenient. I would recommend this hotel to just about anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can rent bicycles across the street at Riu Tequilla and ride the short distance into Playa del Carmen, if you want to shop or just get out for a bit. It is about a 15 minute ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharkbite71
Business
Chicago
Jun 15, 2014

Honest Review - Good, but you get what you pay for

I went with my two children, ages 11 and 8. They loved it! The room was always clean with the towel animals that they always leave on the bed. The staff were very nice as well. The food at the buffet was pretty decent. Breakfast and dinner were the best. The theme "Steakhouse" was awful. Do NOT order the steak. The chicken was very good. The Japanese theme one is a buffet and was our favorite. Didn't go to any of the others. They have a "kids party" every night at 8:15. My son liked it. The shows were pretty good and the kids looked forward to them every night. Bottom line - it's an outdated resort with staff that seem to actually care about you having a good time. The location is great and it's clean. The food gets a "C" from me. It's not a Four Seasons but for what you pay I am very satisfied with the stay. Might even go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to XPLOR. This place was great and was the highlight of our trip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniel Alberto
Business
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Feb 27, 2014

Excellent vacation !!!

I have taken my vacation (15 days) hosted on the Riu Palace Hotel Riviera Maya. I had hired in Playacar, but this hotel was full I rushed to the Palace. The attention was excellent since the arrival of. Cleaning and breadth of rooms. The staff of the hotel. The food was perfect in quality and quantity. The beach is better. The shows activities presented are the highest level. I have spent a vacation excellent, thanks to the contribution of all personnel at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is excellent, both in variety and quantity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PTRX
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 20, 2012

Great family vacation

Plenty of food, decent drinks, friendly staff, nice beach and entertainment... will probably go back sometime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LisaB
Business
Brookfield, WI, USA
Jan 15, 2012

family vacation

I will start by saying this property/airfare package was a good value. The property set up and beach setting was nice, not extraordinary, but nice. Long narrow property. Three buildings on each side of a main corridor. Each building has rooms facing the corridor and rooms facing the property lines (on each side) We had the unfortunate luck of having two rooms which faced the property next door. The Wyndham's main physical plant was directly opposite our rooms. Constant drone of large air conditioning units, laundry services, etc. Delivery trucks arrived at 5am each morning, backing in (beep beep) and loud loud employees receiving the deliveries. What a nightmare! The food was very very average. Apparently not for lack of trying. However, food was bland and had many cross tastes (steak tasted like shrimp) "Specialty" restaurants were a bit of a joke. This was a very average experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Catwing
Business
South Carolina, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Playacar is the place

Lovedeverythingaboutthisresort.Planninganothertrip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food & drinks were available at all times. Beer was cold & food taste great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Lisa
Business
Boise, Idaho
Dec 4, 2011

RIU-Quality, Excellent Saff and Great Shows

RIU Playacar was a big surprise to us. We thought last year we had a good time at the Hotel next door, but they cannot hold a candle compared to RIU. I remembered last year how the check-in took forever, but at Riu it was smooth and fast and willing to change rooms for us if we didnt like what we got. We had 2 room adjoining and the set-up here couldnt be better. Instead of having a door between each room they have an entry door for both rooms and then a seperate door for each room about 10 feet away!!!! Great idea. A Hotel is a Hotel, but its the staff that makes it a place you enjoy. The staff at RIU Playacar is amazing ! Front desk, Bartenders, Servers, Maids, but I have to single out the RIU Entertainment Staff Headed by Pablo, they work really hard off for you and always have a wonderful smile and willingness to go out of their way for you. I must single out a few of them because I think they deserve it. Alexander, Isra, Maria and Oscar. These young men and women put in long hours ( I know its paradise ) but its work for them and are the finest we have come across. The beach is spectacular actually mind blowingly beautiful. The Hotel is the smallest of RIU's in the area and its makes for a more comfortable environment. Food was good in the Buffet, but I wish they would have more main course foods to choose from. Quality of what they made was good though. Steakhouse is good but dont expect an 1 inch thick steak, but you get a lot of food. Steakhouse is served to you. Jade the Japanese Dinner was only ok. It was billed like they cook the food in front of you, but its also a buffet style dinner. Should have known Japanese food in Mexico might not be the best anyway. Rooms are ok stocked bar, sodas and yes WATER!!! which is huge down here. It is stocked every other day which is perfect. Beds are firm for sure and the pillows are flat, but if you require a pad for the bed or more pillows they are more then accomodating. I would rate this Hotel for its Star rating of 3 stars to be a 4.9 out of 5 with the only ding being that Jade rest. Highly Recommend this place,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We book 2 excursions each time and that can be done right in your Hotel lobby. Pricing is better then doing on-line before you go. They will throw in some sort of incentive if you ask

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Texas
Jun 29, 2011

Riu Playacar

We had a great time after the rain stopped. (forgot to check their rainy season!). Rented a car to save on the price of the excursions, but don't rent from the guys at the hotel, they're higher. You can go to 5th ave and find things cheaper. If you like to snorkle Xel-Ha was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Storm Trooper
Business
Maine
Apr 22, 2011

My favorite all-inclusive!

I have vacationed in the Cancun/Playa De Carmen area 5 times now. The Playacar resort is my favorite so far. I liked the smaller, more cozy atmosphere. The beach is spectacular. The staff at all locations on the resort were especially friendly and seemed happy and not too over worked. I also liked that we were eligible to use two other resorts, both in walking distance. My two biggest complaints were: too many people smoked. People smoked around the pools, while they were in the pool, and also where there was food. My second complaint is how dirty the swim-up bar pool was. The pool was actually a different color and it had a bad smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very nice, affordable shopping plaza directly across from the resort entrance. It has many shops- from nice pearl jewelry to handmade crafts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top