RIU Playacar All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M6 Lote 6, FRACC. Playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
67 reviews
Awesome food!!!

Enjoyed my stay. The rooms were large and very clean, the grounds were very well kept. The staff... See full review

  • kat miss smiley
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great place to stay

We went for a week.and had a great time. Hotel is walking distance to town. It is a very clean... See full review

  • Cmead
  • Nov 23, 2014
The all-inclusive RIU Playacar is 35 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort is surrounded by stretches of white sand beaches and tropical vegetation. RIU Playacar features three international restaurants, three bars -- including the Las Olas swim-up bar -- two swimming pools, a separate children's swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers, sun terrace and children's playground.
Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. El Porche has special theme evenings, a buffet and on-the-spot cooking stations. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Rooms

The 386 guestrooms at RIU Playacar feature colonial-style furnishings and dark wood. Amenities include central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe, and private balcony or terrace. Junior suites include a living area and dressing room. Guestrooms with connecting doors are available upon request. Wi-Fi Internet access is available for a fee.

Property features

Sports and activities at the RIU Playacar include table tennis, hard surface tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding, snorkeling, complimentary scuba diving lesson in the pool, and volleyball. A full gym and workout facility is available for motivated guests. A sauna and Jacuzzi are also available for full relaxation for those over 18.

Kids at RIU enjoy the RIULand kids club while parents lounge by the pool, enjoying the daytime entertainment. For a fee, motorized water sports and an 18-hole golf course are available. Complimentary access to La Pinata night club is standard.

Highlights
  • Three international restaurants and three bars -- including a swim-up bar
  • A separate children's pool and kids club at RIU Playacar
  • Many sports and activities including tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling
Nearby attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum (39 mi/64 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available (fees may apply)
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (35 minutes)
Policies
  • There must be at least one person of 21 years old in every room at RIU Playacar.
  • No spring breakers or student groups are accepted at the RIU Playacar.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

RIU Playacar All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room with two double beds, color satellite TV, safe deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, balcony or terrace, private bathroom with bath, shower and hairdryer, stocked mini bar, liquor dispenser and telephone.
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area

Dining

Turquesa
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.
La Olas
Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in pool bar/swim-up bar
La Cumbia
Lounge Bar, share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
El Porche
Main restaurant with buffet dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required. Serving local and continental cuisine. Open from 7am - 10:30 am and from 12pm - 3pm and from 6:30pm - 10pm.
Cafe Cubano
Cocktails and drinks, meets friends in lobby bar featuring live piano music.
Jade
Aisan style restaurante for dinner. Previous reservation is required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 67
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cmead
Business
Alta Loma, Ca
Nov 23, 2014

Great place to stay

We went for a week.and had a great time. Hotel is walking distance to town. It is a very clean facility and well taken care of. The room are big and clean. The only problem we had was that the shower did not drain very quickly so you end up standing in a pool of water. The staff is very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A lot of attractive to go too, all within driving distance

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Westy Traveler
Business
Westminster, Co
Jul 17, 2014

Paradise!

This was our first time staying here, and we loved it! The beach was absolutely perfect with clear waters and calm waves. We would stay again in this particular area for the beach alone! The staff at the hotel was amazing. We had an issue with our air conditioning not being cold enough for our taste and we were moved to another room with no problems. We stayed in building 5, which is closest to the pool, and it was very convenient. I would recommend this hotel to just about anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can rent bicycles across the street at Riu Tequilla and ride the short distance into Playa del Carmen, if you want to shop or just get out for a bit. It is about a 15 minute ride.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharkbite71
Business
Chicago
Jun 15, 2014

Honest Review - Good, but you get what you pay for

I went with my two children, ages 11 and 8. They loved it! The room was always clean with the towel animals that they always leave on the bed. The staff were very nice as well. The food at the buffet was pretty decent. Breakfast and dinner were the best. The theme "Steakhouse" was awful. Do NOT order the steak. The chicken was very good. The Japanese theme one is a buffet and was our favorite. Didn't go to any of the others. They have a "kids party" every night at 8:15. My son liked it. The shows were pretty good and the kids looked forward to them every night. Bottom line - it's an outdated resort with staff that seem to actually care about you having a good time. The location is great and it's clean. The food gets a "C" from me. It's not a Four Seasons but for what you pay I am very satisfied with the stay. Might even go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to XPLOR. This place was great and was the highlight of our trip

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniel Alberto
Business
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Feb 27, 2014

Excellent vacation !!!

I have taken my vacation (15 days) hosted on the Riu Palace Hotel Riviera Maya. I had hired in Playacar, but this hotel was full I rushed to the Palace. The attention was excellent since the arrival of. Cleaning and breadth of rooms. The staff of the hotel. The food was perfect in quality and quantity. The beach is better. The shows activities presented are the highest level. I have spent a vacation excellent, thanks to the contribution of all personnel at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is excellent, both in variety and quantity.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PTRX
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 20, 2012

Great family vacation

Plenty of food, decent drinks, friendly staff, nice beach and entertainment... will probably go back sometime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LisaB
Business
Brookfield, WI, USA
Jan 15, 2012

family vacation

I will start by saying this property/airfare package was a good value. The property set up and beach setting was nice, not extraordinary, but nice. Long narrow property. Three buildings on each side of a main corridor. Each building has rooms facing the corridor and rooms facing the property lines (on each side) We had the unfortunate luck of having two rooms which faced the property next door. The Wyndham's main physical plant was directly opposite our rooms. Constant drone of large air conditioning units, laundry services, etc. Delivery trucks arrived at 5am each morning, backing in (beep beep) and loud loud employees receiving the deliveries. What a nightmare! The food was very very average. Apparently not for lack of trying. However, food was bland and had many cross tastes (steak tasted like shrimp) "Specialty" restaurants were a bit of a joke. This was a very average experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Catwing
Business
South Carolina, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Playacar is the place

Lovedeverythingaboutthisresort.Planninganothertrip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food & drinks were available at all times. Beer was cold & food taste great.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Lisa
Business
Boise, Idaho
Dec 4, 2011

RIU-Quality, Excellent Saff and Great Shows

RIU Playacar was a big surprise to us. We thought last year we had a good time at the Hotel next door, but they cannot hold a candle compared to RIU. I remembered last year how the check-in took forever, but at Riu it was smooth and fast and willing to change rooms for us if we didnt like what we got. We had 2 room adjoining and the set-up here couldnt be better. Instead of having a door between each room they have an entry door for both rooms and then a seperate door for each room about 10 feet away!!!! Great idea. A Hotel is a Hotel, but its the staff that makes it a place you enjoy. The staff at RIU Playacar is amazing ! Front desk, Bartenders, Servers, Maids, but I have to single out the RIU Entertainment Staff Headed by Pablo, they work really hard off for you and always have a wonderful smile and willingness to go out of their way for you. I must single out a few of them because I think they deserve it. Alexander, Isra, Maria and Oscar. These young men and women put in long hours ( I know its paradise ) but its work for them and are the finest we have come across. The beach is spectacular actually mind blowingly beautiful. The Hotel is the smallest of RIU's in the area and its makes for a more comfortable environment. Food was good in the Buffet, but I wish they would have more main course foods to choose from. Quality of what they made was good though. Steakhouse is good but dont expect an 1 inch thick steak, but you get a lot of food. Steakhouse is served to you. Jade the Japanese Dinner was only ok. It was billed like they cook the food in front of you, but its also a buffet style dinner. Should have known Japanese food in Mexico might not be the best anyway. Rooms are ok stocked bar, sodas and yes WATER!!! which is huge down here. It is stocked every other day which is perfect. Beds are firm for sure and the pillows are flat, but if you require a pad for the bed or more pillows they are more then accomodating. I would rate this Hotel for its Star rating of 3 stars to be a 4.9 out of 5 with the only ding being that Jade rest. Highly Recommend this place,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We book 2 excursions each time and that can be done right in your Hotel lobby. Pricing is better then doing on-line before you go. They will throw in some sort of incentive if you ask

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Texas
Jun 29, 2011

Riu Playacar

We had a great time after the rain stopped. (forgot to check their rainy season!). Rented a car to save on the price of the excursions, but don't rent from the guys at the hotel, they're higher. You can go to 5th ave and find things cheaper. If you like to snorkle Xel-Ha was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Texas
Jun 29, 2011

Riu Playacar

We had a great time after the rain stopped. (forgot to check their rainy season!). Rented a car to save on the price of the excursions, but don't rent from the guys at the hotel, they're higher. You can go to 5th ave and find things cheaper. If you like to snorkle Xel-Ha was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top