$663 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2015 Check-out: Feb 16, 2015

RIU Playacar All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M6 Lote 6, FRACC. Playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
60 reviews
Awesome food!!!

Enjoyed my stay. The rooms were large and very clean, the grounds were very well kept. The staff... See full review

  • kat miss smiley
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great place to stay

We went for a week.and had a great time. Hotel is walking distance to town. It is a very clean... See full review

  • Cmead
  • Nov 23, 2014
Family-friendly, all-inclusive resort near Playa del Carmen
The all-inclusive RIU Playacar is 35 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort is surrounded by stretches of white sand beaches and tropical vegetation. RIU Playacar features three international restaurants, three bars -- including the Las Olas swim-up bar -- two swimming pools, a separate children's swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers, sun terrace and children's playground.
Highlights:
  • Three international restaurants and three bars -- including a swim-up bar
  • A separate children's pool and kids club at RIU Playacar
  • Many sports and activities including tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling
Rooms:

The 386 guestrooms at RIU Playacar feature colonial-style furnishings and dark wood. Amenities include central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe, and private balcony or terrace. Junior suites include a living area and dressing room. Guestrooms with connecting doors are available upon request. Wi-Fi Internet access is available for a fee.

Features:

Sports and activities at the RIU Playacar include table tennis, hard surface tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding, snorkeling, complimentary scuba diving lesson in the pool, and volleyball. A full gym and workout facility is available for motivated guests. A sauna and Jacuzzi are also available for full relaxation for those over 18.

Kids at RIU enjoy the RIULand kids club while parents lounge by the pool, enjoying the daytime entertainment. For a fee, motorized water sports and an 18-hole golf course are available. Complimentary access to La Pinata night club is standard.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. El Porche has special theme evenings, a buffet and on-the-spot cooking stations. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum (39 mi/64 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • There must be at least one person of 21 years old in every room at RIU Playacar.
  • No spring breakers or student groups are accepted at the RIU Playacar.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Playacar All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room with two double beds, color satellite TV, safe deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, balcony or terrace, private bathroom with bath, shower and hairdryer, stocked mini bar, liquor dispenser and telephone.
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Turquesa
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.
La Olas
Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in pool bar/swim-up bar
La Cumbia
Lounge Bar, share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
El Porche
Main restaurant with buffet dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required. Serving local and continental cuisine. Open from 7am - 10:30 am and from 12pm - 3pm and from 6:30pm - 10pm.
Cafe Cubano
Cocktails and drinks, meets friends in lobby bar featuring live piano music.
Jade
Aisan style restaurante for dinner. Previous reservation is required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LisaB
Business
Brookfield, WI, USA
Jan 15, 2012

family vacation

I will start by saying this property/airfare package was a good value. The property set up and beach setting was nice, not extraordinary, but nice. Long narrow property. Three buildings on each side of a main corridor. Each building has rooms facing the corridor and rooms facing the property lines (on each side) We had the unfortunate luck of having two rooms which faced the property next door. The Wyndham's main physical plant was directly opposite our rooms. Constant drone of large air conditioning units, laundry services, etc. Delivery trucks arrived at 5am each morning, backing in (beep beep) and loud loud employees receiving the deliveries. What a nightmare! The food was very very average. Apparently not for lack of trying. However, food was bland and had many cross tastes (steak tasted like shrimp) "Specialty" restaurants were a bit of a joke. This was a very average experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
May 26, 2007

Wouldn't Recommend

The Riu Playa Car Resort isn't worth the money. Rooms are small. Beds are extremlely hard. Guest Services are horrible. Very Rude! And very slow. Dinning was always to busy and packed. Forbing all inclusive only had one place for lunch and one place for dinner to go. Wouldn't recomend anyone to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Have the Taxi driver take you to the end of downtown then you can walk back to the beginging. It's $5 either way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diver Les
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 13, 2013

Good beach!

I think this was the best beach I've ever been to in my life. The sushi at Jade Restaurant was incredible. However, everyone in my group did spend at least one day sick, and the rooms could use some remodeling. I had good luck with Bestday Tours, and Bestday employee Tatiana Carrian was very helpful about refunding my money when we weren't able to see the whale sharks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st grade teacher
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 16, 2014

Superb Location

The location on the beach was amazing. I loved the palm trees set back behind the beach which provided welcome shade after spending six hours on the beach. The beach was very large and mostly clean except the seaweed that rolled in every now and then. The beaches in cancun are a little more pristine than playa del carmen. There were sellers walking around the beach and I felt like I was saying no thank you ten times an hour. Yes, I know that's just what happens there but still, it got old. The hotel rooms were set back in tropical grounds surrounded by palm trees and other native plants. There were little animals running around everywhere which we didn't mind at all. It was really cool! The hotel staff were very friendly and always busy cleaning the hotel and the grounds. I did like the decor of the hotel. It was more old fashioned, traditional mexico themed. We have stayed at modern upscale resorts before, which we also like, but this one had a homey charm to it. We don't have children but there were many families with kids there and they seemed to be having a blast. It didn't bother us at all. It's definitely a quiet hotel, set apart from any of the wild spring break action. It seemed like the yucatan was more of a party hotel. It was nice that the all inclusive deal allowed us to use any of the amenities from the yucatan and/or tequila. The yucatan had a better breakfast than playacar. We ate there a few morning as it was only a quick walk down the beach. While we were there we mostly just relaxed on the beach, drank and ate. The drinks were great and the bartenders were very fast and friendly. The food was average, nothing was mind blowing. But that's to be expected from a three star all inclusive in mexico. All meals were buffet except for dinner where you had the choice of three other restaurants if you didn't want the buffet. We went to the steak house one night and it was a huge disappointment. Skip the specialty restaurants and stick with the buffet meals . We walked down the beach to the town of Playa Del Carmen. It was only a two mile walk on the beach. The location was great because it's so close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa Del Carmen is only a 1.5 mile walk on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lindsay C
Business
Orlando, fl
May 8, 2014

Ok for our first time in Mexico

This hotel is getting torn down, so this is for the folks who are staying here up till then. Staff were amazing! Pretty sure they work 23 hours out of the day and they were all smiling and friendly every single day. Bring your own cup to the bar, they will gladly fill it up. Rooms were comfortable, we had a first floor room facing north in Building 6. I preferred it, since it was SO HOT and our room was always in the shade. Bed was hard, but I didn't mind it, they do give you extra pillows. The walls are thin. Food was not amazing. The Japanese restaurant was our favorite. Steakhouse is a complete joke, skip it. Make sure to make reservations in the morning at breakfast. All the buffets were ok, they do the job in getting you full. Myths debunked: You don't have to pay for the safe, check in was easy (at 430pm), Wifi is only available in the lobby for 90 minutes PER electronic device per day... Be wary of the tour companies in the morning, they are hawks, stick with RIU's staff when booking excursions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen is full of people yelling at you to buy something. If you hate that, don't go. If you don't mind, go and then haggle the snot out of them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison Wi
Apr 3, 2010

Average resort, very friendly staff

This was our second trip to this resort, the first time was before the hurricane. We could tell that the hurricane did have some effect on the beach and grounds as they are still planting palm trees along the beach and some of the landscaping looks worn and in need of work. The entertainment staff was wonderful and did a great job getting all involved. Breakfasts and lunch were good, the dinners were OK. We went to town to eat a meal each day which was fun and allowed us to try a number of different restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Blue Lobster in Playa Del Carmen is great for seafood. It is a 5 minute, $5.00 taxi ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nyc
Aug 11, 2008

SMELLY

FIRST ROOM HAD A SICKENNING MOLDY SMELL SECOND WAS BETTER. LOCATION GREAT. BEACH WONDERFUL.ENTERTAINMENT AND RESTAURANT STAFF VERY NICE, HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

THEIRS A BANK ACROSS THE STREET

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Sep 3, 2010

RIU Playacar

The hotel was very nice. It was quite clean and the staff very friendly, but we didnt like that the pool was exteremly noisey and that it also closed quite early. The process for making reservation at the restuarants was very limited and had to be done in person. There was no flexibility in changing reservations, and the area where reservaions were made had no phone, so you had to do it in person. The buffet was good but the al la carte restaurant food was not good at all. Also, they need to refine there snack options, as stale popcorn is not a snack. Nor is flat chips with bland nacho cheese sauce...come on...we are in mexico. I expected the food to be a bit more ethnic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a quick cab ride over to 5th Ave. The food is better, not cheap, but much better. Its a bit touristy, but a nice to get away from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharkbite71
Business
Chicago
Jun 15, 2014

Honest Review - Good, but you get what you pay for

I went with my two children, ages 11 and 8. They loved it! The room was always clean with the towel animals that they always leave on the bed. The staff were very nice as well. The food at the buffet was pretty decent. Breakfast and dinner were the best. The theme "Steakhouse" was awful. Do NOT order the steak. The chicken was very good. The Japanese theme one is a buffet and was our favorite. Didn't go to any of the others. They have a "kids party" every night at 8:15. My son liked it. The shows were pretty good and the kids looked forward to them every night. Bottom line - it's an outdated resort with staff that seem to actually care about you having a good time. The location is great and it's clean. The food gets a "C" from me. It's not a Four Seasons but for what you pay I am very satisfied with the stay. Might even go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to XPLOR. This place was great and was the highlight of our trip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Texas
Jun 29, 2011

Riu Playacar

We had a great time after the rain stopped. (forgot to check their rainy season!). Rented a car to save on the price of the excursions, but don't rent from the guys at the hotel, they're higher. You can go to 5th ave and find things cheaper. If you like to snorkle Xel-Ha was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top