$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

RIU Playacar All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M6 Lote 6, FRACC. Playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
58 reviews
Excellent vacation !!!

I have taken my vacation (15 days) hosted on the Riu Palace Hotel Riviera Maya. I had hired in... See full review

  • Daniel Alberto
  • Feb 27, 2014
Paradise!

This was our first time staying here, and we loved it! The beach was absolutely perfect with clear... See full review

  • Westy Traveler
  • Jul 17, 2014
Family-friendly, all-inclusive resort near Playa del Carmen
The all-inclusive RIU Playacar is 35 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort is surrounded by stretches of white sand beaches and tropical vegetation. RIU Playacar features three international restaurants, three bars -- including the Las Olas swim-up bar -- two swimming pools, a separate children's swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers, sun terrace and children's playground.
Highlights:
  • Three international restaurants and three bars -- including a swim-up bar
  • A separate children's pool and kids club at RIU Playacar
  • Many sports and activities including tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling
Rooms:

The 386 guestrooms at RIU Playacar feature colonial-style furnishings and dark wood. Amenities include central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe, and private balcony or terrace. Junior suites include a living area and dressing room. Guestrooms with connecting doors are available upon request. Wi-Fi Internet access is available for a fee.

Features:

Sports and activities at the RIU Playacar include table tennis, hard surface tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding, snorkeling, complimentary scuba diving lesson in the pool, and volleyball. A full gym and workout facility is available for motivated guests. A sauna and Jacuzzi are also available for full relaxation for those over 18.

Kids at RIU enjoy the RIULand kids club while parents lounge by the pool, enjoying the daytime entertainment. For a fee, motorized water sports and an 18-hole golf course are available. Complimentary access to La Pinata night club is standard.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. El Porche has special theme evenings, a buffet and on-the-spot cooking stations. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum (39 mi/64 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • There must be at least one person of 21 years old in every room at RIU Playacar.
  • No spring breakers or student groups are accepted at the RIU Playacar.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6085 -87.0914
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Lote 1. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen Quintanta Roo, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 34 miles
Area description
Located on the beach of Playacar Complex , just two miles from the downtown of Playa del Carmen.

RIU Playacar All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room with two double beds, color satellite TV, safe deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, balcony or terrace, private bathroom with bath, shower and hairdryer, stocked mini bar, liquor dispenser and telephone.
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area

Dining

Turquesa
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.
La Olas
Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in pool bar/swim-up bar
La Cumbia
Lounge Bar, share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
El Porche
Main restaurant with buffet dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required. Serving local and continental cuisine. Open from 7am - 10:30 am and from 12pm - 3pm and from 6:30pm - 10pm.
Cafe Cubano
Cocktails and drinks, meets friends in lobby bar featuring live piano music.
Jade
Aisan style restaurante for dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Apr 13, 2011

Funtime Vacation Resort

Had a wonderful relaxing 8 days! Played lots of different pool games, horseshoes and cheered on the other contestants! Had great bartenders for cocktails and excellent waiters at every meal. Fabulous group of workers getting the people involved in the daily activities. Very professional entertainment. Very much enjoyed our whole stay at RIU. Would definitely go again. Would liked to have had some karaoke singing--just a thought!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alma
Jun 25, 2008

Very relaxing vacation

My whole family enjoyed the RIU Playacar!! It was very relaxing. They had many activities if you wish to participate or you could lounge by the pool or the beach. It is very beautiful and in a great location. It is about a 5 minute cab ride to 5th Avenue where we found some great shopping. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our beds were hard but we mentioned this and they put mattress pads on the bed and made them much easier to sleep on. The food was good. They have 3 different restaurants besides the nightly buffet but i liked the buffet just as good as the Asian or the Authentic Mexican restaurant. Overall a wonderful vacation and we are planning another trip next year. While we were there they gave us the option to upgrade to the RIu Palace which is just down the street. We went to visit and found it to be very stuffy and uppity. I would definitely recommend the RIU Playacar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Feb 28, 2010

Excellente!

The lobby is open, welcoming, and beautiful. The decorative details are amazing. The entire resort is cleaner than any hospital I have been to-staff can be seen cleaning thoroughly all through the day. The grounds are well kept and immaculate-including sculpted bushes. The service is the best I have ever experienced and the staff is friendly and selfless. The televisions have poor reception, but who's there to watch TV? The room chairs and beds are a bit stiff-you can request cushions for the bed to make it softer-and should if you plan to sleep. The meals are incredible-fabulous food and drink in great abundance. The location is perfect-close to town, tour sites, and shopping. I would stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Plan and book your tour destinations ahead of time. There are many travel companies that aggressively push their packages, which usually include discount tickets to attractions that require you to visit time share or hotel travel club membership tours. We were told that this practice will no longer be allowed beginning 2011. Currently, these agencies are at the airport, hotel lobbies, and shopping areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniel Alberto
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Feb 27, 2014

Excellent vacation !!!

I have taken my vacation (15 days) hosted on the Riu Palace Hotel Riviera Maya. I had hired in Playacar, but this hotel was full I rushed to the Palace. The attention was excellent since the arrival of. Cleaning and breadth of rooms. The staff of the hotel. The food was perfect in quality and quantity. The beach is better. The shows activities presented are the highest level. I have spent a vacation excellent, thanks to the contribution of all personnel at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is excellent, both in variety and quantity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shelton, Washington
Mar 13, 2009

An Excellent Experience

We arrived at 9 PM, tired and weary. Our reception couldn't have been better, and we had a great meal at the buffet. The rooms were large and clean, bar well stocked, and the hotel was quiet. We ate at the Steak Restaurant and the Mexican Restaurant during our stay but enjoyed the buffet the most. Drinks were great (be sure to look at the drink menu for some creative things). We did not use the pool but went to the beach every day. It was fabulous! The sand is clean and very fine. I would return for a longer stay in a heartbeat and would recommend this facility to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Have fun painting the pottery at the hut near the beach. We all (guys, too) went back more than once. It's fun for all ages, and the people were very friendly. Be sure to wrap your pottery well when you pack. Two of mine broke on the return trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
May 14, 2007

Comfortable place to have a vacation

Hotel RIU Playacar location is very convenient. Room is enough big. However Shower and Bathroom should not be separated but placed in same room with door and light inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small shopping area is nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
KY
Aug 2, 2009

Great for the price

Great for the money!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JonK
Indiana, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Loved it. Veg/non-veg couple.

My wife and I just returned from 5 days at the Riu Playacar in October 2011. Some of the other reviews were a bit concerning, but we loved it. We found the staff to be friendly and attentive, but remember this is Mexico and it's not considered at all rude to request a waiter's attention there. The mattresses were firm, but not uncomfortably so at all. Yes, the bed was 2 doubles pushed together, but we kind of liked that - we could be together when we wanted to, but we each had our own space, too. The crack wasn't uncomfortable. The setting was beautiful. There is free parking, but the spaces are a bit tight. The beach was in good shape. We ate at the buffet for every breakfast and dinner, but we were usually away at lunchtime. I'm a vegetarian and lactose-intolerant, and I was still quite satisfied because the buffet is huge! It included: chef's station with about a dozen items (heuvos rancheros, bacon, roasted veggies, meats, rice), another chef's station with pasta, pizza, burgers, bruschetta in the evenings and french toast, pancakes, plantains, donuts in the mornings, an area that was a juice bar in the morning and nacho bar in the evening, a dessert station with at least 10 items, a bread station with a variety of breads (evening) and pastries (morning), 3 soups, and a salad bar with the regular salad stuff on one end and then rotating stuff like fruits, deviled eggs, pate, cheeses, etc. on the other end. All signs in English, Spanish, and German. I speak a little Spanish so I always tried that first, but if it got over my head, the staff was always comfortable switching to English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 29, 2008

Very family friendly

The RIU Playacar hotel room and the bathroom were very clean. Air conditioner turns on the moment you close the balcony door. The water pressure was good, even though the room was on the 3-rd floor. There were always bottles of drinks in the refrigerator. And there were conducted a lot of entertainment programs for kids after beach hours. There are two outdoor tennis courts. Hotel is located in walking distance to the town?s shopping center, so people can walk a lot, though there is no official 'fitness center? in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is town's 5-th Ave (with shopping, dining, nightlife) in 25 -30 min walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 17, 2008

Great Hotel and Service and value priced

The hotel was very clean and the service was great.Food was great large variety to choose from. Beds we a little hard, but after a long day it did not matter!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Xel-Ha it was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top