RIU Playacar All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M6 Lote 6, FRACC. Playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Dec 29, 2008

Very family friendly

The RIU Playacar hotel room and the bathroom were very clean. Air conditioner turns on the moment you close the balcony door. The water pressure was good, even though the room was on the 3-rd floor. There were always bottles of drinks in the refrigerator. And there were conducted a lot of entertainment programs for kids after beach hours. There are two outdoor tennis courts. Hotel is located in walking distance to the town?s shopping center, so people can walk a lot, though there is no official 'fitness center? in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is town's 5-th Ave (with shopping, dining, nightlife) in 25 -30 min walking distance.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago
Nov 27, 2008

good balance

everything was great, except the excursion from the hotel. i don't understand why they don't make a rigorous selection of the agents. nice and friendly, specially for families. if i go one more time? yes, but i usually i don't go twice on the same place. have a great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Nyc
Aug 11, 2008

SMELLY

FIRST ROOM HAD A SICKENNING MOLDY SMELL SECOND WAS BETTER. LOCATION GREAT. BEACH WONDERFUL.ENTERTAINMENT AND RESTAURANT STAFF VERY NICE, HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

THEIRS A BANK ACROSS THE STREET

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Franklin
Aug 8, 2008

The Second Time

The Rui Playacar, in my opinion, is the best value. Let's not mistake value for cheap. The resort has a great location, friendly and helpful staff, outstanding selection and high quality food. The resort is super clean and the grounds are extremely well kept. What more could you want????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to acclaimate yourself to the other resorts that you can use as well (Yucatan, Tequila). We saw all the shows at the different resort which really stretched the entertainment dollar. The show are very good, and are of very high quality.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Allen, TX
Jul 11, 2008

Great service and cozy.

The Riu Playacar hotel is cozy and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food was great. The beach area needed cleaning up from seaweed and more sand. The gym was 1/2 mile away at the Riu Yucatan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of resort is 1.20 miles from downtown Playa Del Carmen.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Alma
Jun 25, 2008

Very relaxing vacation

My whole family enjoyed the RIU Playacar!! It was very relaxing. They had many activities if you wish to participate or you could lounge by the pool or the beach. It is very beautiful and in a great location. It is about a 5 minute cab ride to 5th Avenue where we found some great shopping. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our beds were hard but we mentioned this and they put mattress pads on the bed and made them much easier to sleep on. The food was good. They have 3 different restaurants besides the nightly buffet but i liked the buffet just as good as the Asian or the Authentic Mexican restaurant. Overall a wonderful vacation and we are planning another trip next year. While we were there they gave us the option to upgrade to the RIu Palace which is just down the street. We went to visit and found it to be very stuffy and uppity. I would definitely recommend the RIU Playacar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat and Diane
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 14, 2007

Relaxed setting with open spaces and helpful staff

Very good faciltiy for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jul 4, 2007

Great Location for Price

We had to book this hotel, due to a last minute trip the hotel we wanted was sold out, and the Riu Playacar was such a great price for what you get.Could not beat the location. The buffet is strongly suggested... it changed daily and everything was very fresh and delicious. I loved the salad selections. We ate one night in the Steakhouse, and it was nice, I think I would go to the buffet again every night if we revisited. The drinks were definitely in abundance and NOT watered down like some of the neighbor resorts. The in room bar is nice-just a very bar-brand liquor is poured. My major complaint was that the rooms were VERY MUSTY (had to cover my head when we slept so I did not smell it) and mosquito's were in the room when we arrived. The hotel staff was extremely friendly, and helped in any way they could...Great Service. Overall, for the money a great deal!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping directly across resort, maybe 50 yards from lobby tops. Take a cab to Playa Del Carmen 5th Ave and go to Senor Frogs ($5.00 per cab). You will love it!!!!

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Denver, CO
May 26, 2007

Wouldn't Recommend

The Riu Playa Car Resort isn't worth the money. Rooms are small. Beds are extremlely hard. Guest Services are horrible. Very Rude! And very slow. Dinning was always to busy and packed. Forbing all inclusive only had one place for lunch and one place for dinner to go. Wouldn't recomend anyone to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Have the Taxi driver take you to the end of downtown then you can walk back to the beginging. It's $5 either way.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
May 26, 2007

Good Times For All

The RIU Playacar provided great value for a wonderful vacation. The beach and pool area were beautiful and much nicer than other resorts in Playacar. The location of the hotel was wonderful, set right in the heart of playacar with a short walk or shorter cab ride to downtown Playa del Carmen. All of the dining options were sufficient. The breakfast and dinner buffets were generally plentiful and excellent, the theme restaurants (asian, steak, and mexican) were all nice, and the lunch and snacks were at least decent at all times. The staff at this resort was absolutely wonderful -- happy, friendly, hardworking, etc. A stay at the RIU Playacar or RIU Yucatan for a couple or family of all ages and nationalities is highly reccomended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you get sick of the restaurants or bars at the resort take a walk to Quinta Avenida in the evening for some nice restaurants and bars.

Back to menu Return to top