$599 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

RIU Playacar All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M6 Lote 6, FRACC. Playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
59 reviews
Great place to stay

We went for a week.and had a great time. Hotel is walking distance to town. It is a very clean... See full review

  • Cmead
  • Nov 23, 2014
Excellent vacation !!!

I have taken my vacation (15 days) hosted on the Riu Palace Hotel Riviera Maya. I had hired in... See full review

  • Daniel Alberto
  • Feb 27, 2014
Family-friendly, all-inclusive resort near Playa del Carmen
The all-inclusive RIU Playacar is 35 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort is surrounded by stretches of white sand beaches and tropical vegetation. RIU Playacar features three international restaurants, three bars -- including the Las Olas swim-up bar -- two swimming pools, a separate children's swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers, sun terrace and children's playground.
Highlights:
  • Three international restaurants and three bars -- including a swim-up bar
  • A separate children's pool and kids club at RIU Playacar
  • Many sports and activities including tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling
Rooms:

The 386 guestrooms at RIU Playacar feature colonial-style furnishings and dark wood. Amenities include central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe, and private balcony or terrace. Junior suites include a living area and dressing room. Guestrooms with connecting doors are available upon request. Wi-Fi Internet access is available for a fee.

Features:

Sports and activities at the RIU Playacar include table tennis, hard surface tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding, snorkeling, complimentary scuba diving lesson in the pool, and volleyball. A full gym and workout facility is available for motivated guests. A sauna and Jacuzzi are also available for full relaxation for those over 18.

Kids at RIU enjoy the RIULand kids club while parents lounge by the pool, enjoying the daytime entertainment. For a fee, motorized water sports and an 18-hole golf course are available. Complimentary access to La Pinata night club is standard.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. El Porche has special theme evenings, a buffet and on-the-spot cooking stations. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum (39 mi/64 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • There must be at least one person of 21 years old in every room at RIU Playacar.
  • No spring breakers or student groups are accepted at the RIU Playacar.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Playacar All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room with two double beds, color satellite TV, safe deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, balcony or terrace, private bathroom with bath, shower and hairdryer, stocked mini bar, liquor dispenser and telephone.
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Turquesa
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.
La Olas
Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in pool bar/swim-up bar
La Cumbia
Lounge Bar, share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
El Porche
Main restaurant with buffet dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required. Serving local and continental cuisine. Open from 7am - 10:30 am and from 12pm - 3pm and from 6:30pm - 10pm.
Cafe Cubano
Cocktails and drinks, meets friends in lobby bar featuring live piano music.
Jade
Aisan style restaurante for dinner. Previous reservation is required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allen, TX
Jul 11, 2008

Great service and cozy.

The Riu Playacar hotel is cozy and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food was great. The beach area needed cleaning up from seaweed and more sand. The gym was 1/2 mile away at the Riu Yucatan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of resort is 1.20 miles from downtown Playa Del Carmen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alma
Jun 25, 2008

Very relaxing vacation

My whole family enjoyed the RIU Playacar!! It was very relaxing. They had many activities if you wish to participate or you could lounge by the pool or the beach. It is very beautiful and in a great location. It is about a 5 minute cab ride to 5th Avenue where we found some great shopping. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our beds were hard but we mentioned this and they put mattress pads on the bed and made them much easier to sleep on. The food was good. They have 3 different restaurants besides the nightly buffet but i liked the buffet just as good as the Asian or the Authentic Mexican restaurant. Overall a wonderful vacation and we are planning another trip next year. While we were there they gave us the option to upgrade to the RIu Palace which is just down the street. We went to visit and found it to be very stuffy and uppity. I would definitely recommend the RIU Playacar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 17, 2008

Great Hotel and Service and value priced

The hotel was very clean and the service was great.Food was great large variety to choose from. Beds we a little hard, but after a long day it did not matter!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Xel-Ha it was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat and Diane
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 14, 2007

Relaxed setting with open spaces and helpful staff

Very good faciltiy for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 27, 2007

Fun at the RIU PlayaCar

From the moment we entered the resort until we left, we received great service from the hotel staff. The front desk managers, made sure each day that our visit was as we expected. He was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The mini bar was convenient and the fridge was always stocked with our favorite beverage. The beds however are extremely firm. We were never disappointed with the food or service in any of the dining areas. For an all inclusive, their food quality and variety is second to none. The best we've ever had an any all inclusive we've ever stayed at before. The young men who coordinated the pool activities provided none stop entertainment. They also entertained at the nightly theater shows which were excellent. I would highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The resort is only a short cab ride ($5) from town. There is much to do in Playa del Carmen!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jul 4, 2007

Great Location for Price

We had to book this hotel, due to a last minute trip the hotel we wanted was sold out, and the Riu Playacar was such a great price for what you get.Could not beat the location. The buffet is strongly suggested... it changed daily and everything was very fresh and delicious. I loved the salad selections. We ate one night in the Steakhouse, and it was nice, I think I would go to the buffet again every night if we revisited. The drinks were definitely in abundance and NOT watered down like some of the neighbor resorts. The in room bar is nice-just a very bar-brand liquor is poured. My major complaint was that the rooms were VERY MUSTY (had to cover my head when we slept so I did not smell it) and mosquito's were in the room when we arrived. The hotel staff was extremely friendly, and helped in any way they could...Great Service. Overall, for the money a great deal!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping directly across resort, maybe 50 yards from lobby tops. Take a cab to Playa Del Carmen 5th Ave and go to Senor Frogs ($5.00 per cab). You will love it!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
May 26, 2007

Wouldn't Recommend

The Riu Playa Car Resort isn't worth the money. Rooms are small. Beds are extremlely hard. Guest Services are horrible. Very Rude! And very slow. Dinning was always to busy and packed. Forbing all inclusive only had one place for lunch and one place for dinner to go. Wouldn't recomend anyone to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Have the Taxi driver take you to the end of downtown then you can walk back to the beginging. It's $5 either way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 26, 2007

Good Times For All

The RIU Playacar provided great value for a wonderful vacation. The beach and pool area were beautiful and much nicer than other resorts in Playacar. The location of the hotel was wonderful, set right in the heart of playacar with a short walk or shorter cab ride to downtown Playa del Carmen. All of the dining options were sufficient. The breakfast and dinner buffets were generally plentiful and excellent, the theme restaurants (asian, steak, and mexican) were all nice, and the lunch and snacks were at least decent at all times. The staff at this resort was absolutely wonderful -- happy, friendly, hardworking, etc. A stay at the RIU Playacar or RIU Yucatan for a couple or family of all ages and nationalities is highly reccomended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you get sick of the restaurants or bars at the resort take a walk to Quinta Avenida in the evening for some nice restaurants and bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 14, 2007

Comfortable place to have a vacation

Hotel RIU Playacar location is very convenient. Room is enough big. However Shower and Bathroom should not be separated but placed in same room with door and light inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small shopping area is nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top