$411 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

RIU Playacar All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M6 Lote 6, FRACC. Playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
59 reviews
Great place to stay

We went for a week.and had a great time. Hotel is walking distance to town. It is a very clean... See full review

  • Cmead
  • Nov 23, 2014
Excellent vacation !!!

I have taken my vacation (15 days) hosted on the Riu Palace Hotel Riviera Maya. I had hired in... See full review

  • Daniel Alberto
  • Feb 27, 2014
The Riu Playacar is a charming and colourful Caribbean style resort, located on the beach surrounded by lush tropical gardens, just 15 minutes from the heart of Playa del Carmen. The hotel features 396 spacious guestrooms with a full range of amenities including a mini-bar and liquor dispenser.
The guests enjoy a full range of sports and entertainment activities, such as Riu's famous theme shows, not to mention the excellent international buffet and superb restaurants as well as the assortment of facilities available at sister properties within the Riu Resort complex. With its relaxing atmosphere, Riu Playacar is the perfect holiday choice for families, singles or couples.

Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.

The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
***No Student groups under 21 years or Spring Breakers are accepted all year round***

***Guests have 90 min/day free WiFi-connection in the lobby.
***WiFi throughout the whole hotel, at cost

RIU Playacar All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room with two double beds, color satellite TV, safe deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, balcony or terrace, private bathroom with bath, shower and hairdryer, stocked mini bar, liquor dispenser and telephone.
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area

Dining

Turquesa
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.
La Olas
Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in pool bar/swim-up bar
La Cumbia
Lounge Bar, share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
El Porche
Main restaurant with buffet dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required. Serving local and continental cuisine. Open from 7am - 10:30 am and from 12pm - 3pm and from 6:30pm - 10pm.
Cafe Cubano
Cocktails and drinks, meets friends in lobby bar featuring live piano music.
Jade
Aisan style restaurante for dinner. Previous reservation is required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Apr 13, 2011

Funtime Vacation Resort

Had a wonderful relaxing 8 days! Played lots of different pool games, horseshoes and cheered on the other contestants! Had great bartenders for cocktails and excellent waiters at every meal. Fabulous group of workers getting the people involved in the daily activities. Very professional entertainment. Very much enjoyed our whole stay at RIU. Would definitely go again. Would liked to have had some karaoke singing--just a thought!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston Jay
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 1, 2011

Great Hotel

I'm not someone who writes in depth reviews so i'm going to keep it simple. This hotel was very good. Food was good, location was great, atmosphere was great, the rooms were the only downside but I don't spend much time in there, how can you when you're in a place as beautiful as this. It was a $5 cab ride to downtown Playa Del Carmen. The ability to use the Yucatan and Tequila is a plus as well. All in all I had a great time and this hotel made sure of it. Strongly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ferry over to Cozumel is a $5 cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 12, 2010

wonderful vacation

Playacar has the best beach at all Riviera Maya. We loved everything about this resort: location, room, food, stuff. Riu Playacar is small very convenient resort for all type/age of vacationers. Very friendly stuff. Great food variety from breakfast to dinner. Few minutes cab ride to Playa del Carmen. We had such a great time. We would highly recommend the RIU Plyacar for your next family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kaukauna, WI
Nov 10, 2010

Great Vacation

I went on a girl friends trip to RIU Playacar. Upon arrival we were greeted with a chilled fruit juice and escorted to our rooms. First impressions of the resort grounds were well groomed, smaller (meaning easy to naviagate), secure (this is a gated community), clean, and very friendly workers. While staying at RIU the activities crew went out of their way to make you feel like friends and get you involved, but if you weren't feeling up to it, they didn't push. Everyone was super friendly from the waiters, to bartenders, to front desk. One noteable thing is that the front desk called almost daily to ask how things were...GREAT customer service. Anything we needed, such as towels were brought within minutes! Food wise there is a huge variety...something for everyone. We mainly stuck to the buffet. We did make a reservation at the Mexican a la carte restaurant, but choices are very limited. The only thing I would say that needed to improve was the bedding! Ask for a padded mattress as the beds are very hard otherwise. Also, the bedspread was very dirty...I recommend they buy new ones or get duvet covers that could be washed. We just through ours on the floor and used the other blankets, but have to admit...this was the one dirty thing...otherwise room was very clean as well as the rest of the resort. Compared to other trips I have taken. I have been to Mexico 6 times and I have to say this is one of the best vacations I have had! Resort is very clean, workers are great, and food is good. Resort is also in a great location....we walked the beach to town (it was about 2 miles). We also felt safe the whole time as the resorts and houses on the way to town are all pretty upper end. Stay at RIU Playacar and you won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa Del Carmen, 5th Ave shopping is about 2 miles down the beach (turn left out of the resort). You will see the ferry going from Cozumel to Playa Del Carmen. You will end up at Senor Frogs. Walk up one block and this is the main shopping district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philly, PA
Oct 18, 2010

Lived up to the expectation

Great location, great staff, great vacation. We did two day trips while in playa del carmen. We went to Xcaret one day and went to the island of Cozumel by ferry another day. Both were great experiences and would do both again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go into the city at night. The hotel nightlife was not very good, but the city was great. $5 cab or long walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Sep 20, 2010

Excellent place to stay

Had a great time at this resort an enjoyed the access to others in the area as well. Plenty to do an great atmosphere. Close to downtown Playa an anything else you would want to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Sep 3, 2010

RIU Playacar

The hotel was very nice. It was quite clean and the staff very friendly, but we didnt like that the pool was exteremly noisey and that it also closed quite early. The process for making reservation at the restuarants was very limited and had to be done in person. There was no flexibility in changing reservations, and the area where reservaions were made had no phone, so you had to do it in person. The buffet was good but the al la carte restaurant food was not good at all. Also, they need to refine there snack options, as stale popcorn is not a snack. Nor is flat chips with bland nacho cheese sauce...come on...we are in mexico. I expected the food to be a bit more ethnic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a quick cab ride over to 5th Ave. The food is better, not cheap, but much better. Its a bit touristy, but a nice to get away from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia, US
Apr 23, 2010

Fun get-away, great location

We had a great time- this hotel is within walking distance to Playa del Carmen (for those who don't mind a walk!) and is right across the street from a little plaza with a Starbucks. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel is small enough to not be crowded at all. It was a little noisy, but people were just having fun- and so were we! The food was excellent, the room clean, and the pool inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi to Xpu-Ha beach club! It is a local bar/restaurant/beach with a place to rent snorkeling equipment for 100 pesos per day. Go and have a fantastic afternoon for very little $$!! See beautiful fish and drink cervesas for a fraction of the Playa price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
t0winsto
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 22, 2010

RIU Playacar was a nice hotel

We had a great time at the Riu Playacar. We had two couples and really enjoyed ourselves. We got an awesome deal at this hotel and for what we paid it was amazing. The staff was really friendly and did whatever we needed to make us happy. The refilled our fridge within seconds of us calling. There are really no ocen view rooms at the place but we didnt care about that. Took about 1 min to walk to the beach from our place. Really clean hotel, ocean and beach were clean. We are all under 30 and are picky and it was really nice place. The rooms are average but we didnt spend much time in the rooms. Resturants were pretty good and they had a buffet that was pretty good as well. The only thing we really didnt like was the fact they didnt have a hot tub. I know that sounds silly being in a climate that is in the upper 80's but a couple of the nights we all wanted to relax in the hot tub after a long day. You have to go to the Mayan Ruins "Chichen-Itza". REally amazing. We went Jet Ski'ing and did all the activities that they had at the resort. Lots of fun. Would stay at a Riu again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Have to do the trip to Chichen-Itza. It is a 2 hour drive from the resort. We paid $62.00 american per person and it included a ride in a small van (not big bus), lunch, a full tour guide, admission to the ruins, as well as a couple stops along the way to look at some under groud caves. I have been all over the place and this was one of the cooliest things I have seen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Apr 22, 2010

[...]

the hotel is amazing, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xplor theme park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top