$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

RIU Playacar All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M6 Lote 6, FRACC. Playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
97 reviews
Excellent vacation !!!

I have taken my vacation (15 days) hosted on the Riu Palace Hotel Riviera Maya. I had hired in... See full review

  • Daniel Alberto
  • Feb 27, 2014
Good value

No complaints. Very nice beach and water with some waves See full review

  • Lost my marbles
  • May 26, 2014
Family-friendly, all-inclusive resort near Playa del Carmen
The all-inclusive RIU Playacar is 35 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort is surrounded by stretches of white sand beaches and tropical vegetation. RIU Playacar features three international restaurants, three bars -- including the Las Olas swim-up bar -- two swimming pools, a separate children's swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers, sun terrace and children's playground.
Highlights:
  • Three international restaurants and three bars -- including a swim-up bar
  • A separate children's pool and kids club at RIU Playacar
  • Many sports and activities including tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling
Rooms:

The 386 guestrooms at RIU Playacar feature colonial-style furnishings and dark wood. Amenities include central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe, and private balcony or terrace. Junior suites include a living area and dressing room. Guestrooms with connecting doors are available upon request. Wi-Fi Internet access is available for a fee.

Features:

Sports and activities at the RIU Playacar include table tennis, hard surface tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding, snorkeling, complimentary scuba diving lesson in the pool, and volleyball. A full gym and workout facility is available for motivated guests. A sauna and Jacuzzi are also available for full relaxation for those over 18.

Kids at RIU enjoy the RIULand kids club while parents lounge by the pool, enjoying the daytime entertainment. For a fee, motorized water sports and an 18-hole golf course are available. Complimentary access to La Pinata night club is standard.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. El Porche has special theme evenings, a buffet and on-the-spot cooking stations. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum (39 mi/64 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • There must be at least one person of 21 years old in every room at RIU Playacar.
  • No spring breakers or student groups are accepted at the RIU Playacar.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6085 -87.0914
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Lote 1. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen Quintanta Roo, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 34 miles
Area description
Located on the beach of Playacar Complex , just two miles from the downtown of Playa del Carmen.

RIU Playacar All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room with two double beds, color satellite TV, safe deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, balcony or terrace, private bathroom with bath, shower and hairdryer, stocked mini bar, liquor dispenser and telephone.
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Turquesa
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.
La Olas
Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in pool bar/swim-up bar
La Cumbia
Lounge Bar, share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
El Porche
Main restaurant with buffet dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required. Serving local and continental cuisine. Open from 7am - 10:30 am and from 12pm - 3pm and from 6:30pm - 10pm.
Cafe Cubano
Cocktails and drinks, meets friends in lobby bar featuring live piano music.
Jade
Aisan style restaurante for dinner

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeGausser
Centennial Colorado
Apr 16, 2011

Rui Playacar

Service Excellent. Food Great. Rooms very nice. Only one thing I didn't care for. Beds were hard and the TV was lame. But I wasn't there to watch TV. Out of 5 stars I would personally give it 4.5 I would give it a full 5 if the beds were more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pack lite. Let yourself go and enjoy yourself. Everything else simply falls in place.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Apr 13, 2011

Funtime Vacation Resort

Had a wonderful relaxing 8 days! Played lots of different pool games, horseshoes and cheered on the other contestants! Had great bartenders for cocktails and excellent waiters at every meal. Fabulous group of workers getting the people involved in the daily activities. Very professional entertainment. Very much enjoyed our whole stay at RIU. Would definitely go again. Would liked to have had some karaoke singing--just a thought!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Apr 13, 2011

Funtime Vacation Resort

Had a wonderful relaxing 8 days! Played lots of different pool games, horseshoes and cheered on the other contestants! Had great bartenders for cocktails and excellent waiters at every meal. Fabulous group of workers getting the people involved in the daily activities. Very professional entertainment. Very much enjoyed our whole stay at RIU. Would definitely go again. Would liked to have had some karaoke singing--just a thought!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston Jay
Boston, MA
Mar 1, 2011

Great Hotel

I'm not someone who writes in depth reviews so i'm going to keep it simple. This hotel was very good. Food was good, location was great, atmosphere was great, the rooms were the only downside but I don't spend much time in there, how can you when you're in a place as beautiful as this. It was a $5 cab ride to downtown Playa Del Carmen. The ability to use the Yucatan and Tequila is a plus as well. All in all I had a great time and this hotel made sure of it. Strongly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ferry over to Cozumel is a $5 cab ride.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston Jay
Boston, MA
Mar 1, 2011

Great Hotel

I'm not someone who writes in depth reviews so i'm going to keep it simple. This hotel was very good. Food was good, location was great, atmosphere was great, the rooms were the only downside but I don't spend much time in there, how can you when you're in a place as beautiful as this. It was a $5 cab ride to downtown Playa Del Carmen. The ability to use the Yucatan and Tequila is a plus as well. All in all I had a great time and this hotel made sure of it. Strongly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ferry over to Cozumel is a $5 cab ride.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Dec 12, 2010

wonderful vacation

Playacar has the best beach at all Riviera Maya. We loved everything about this resort: location, room, food, stuff. Riu Playacar is small very convenient resort for all type/age of vacationers. Very friendly stuff. Great food variety from breakfast to dinner. Few minutes cab ride to Playa del Carmen. We had such a great time. We would highly recommend the RIU Plyacar for your next family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Dec 12, 2010

wonderful vacation

Playacar has the best beach at all Riviera Maya. We loved everything about this resort: location, room, food, stuff. Riu Playacar is small very convenient resort for all type/age of vacationers. Very friendly stuff. Great food variety from breakfast to dinner. Few minutes cab ride to Playa del Carmen. We had such a great time. We would highly recommend the RIU Plyacar for your next family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kaukauna, WI
Nov 10, 2010

Great Vacation

I went on a girl friends trip to RIU Playacar. Upon arrival we were greeted with a chilled fruit juice and escorted to our rooms. First impressions of the resort grounds were well groomed, smaller (meaning easy to naviagate), secure (this is a gated community), clean, and very friendly workers. While staying at RIU the activities crew went out of their way to make you feel like friends and get you involved, but if you weren't feeling up to it, they didn't push. Everyone was super friendly from the waiters, to bartenders, to front desk. One noteable thing is that the front desk called almost daily to ask how things were...GREAT customer service. Anything we needed, such as towels were brought within minutes! Food wise there is a huge variety...something for everyone. We mainly stuck to the buffet. We did make a reservation at the Mexican a la carte restaurant, but choices are very limited. The only thing I would say that needed to improve was the bedding! Ask for a padded mattress as the beds are very hard otherwise. Also, the bedspread was very dirty...I recommend they buy new ones or get duvet covers that could be washed. We just through ours on the floor and used the other blankets, but have to admit...this was the one dirty thing...otherwise room was very clean as well as the rest of the resort. Compared to other trips I have taken. I have been to Mexico 6 times and I have to say this is one of the best vacations I have had! Resort is very clean, workers are great, and food is good. Resort is also in a great location....we walked the beach to town (it was about 2 miles). We also felt safe the whole time as the resorts and houses on the way to town are all pretty upper end. Stay at RIU Playacar and you won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa Del Carmen, 5th Ave shopping is about 2 miles down the beach (turn left out of the resort). You will see the ferry going from Cozumel to Playa Del Carmen. You will end up at Senor Frogs. Walk up one block and this is the main shopping district.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kaukauna, WI
Nov 10, 2010

Great Vacation

I went on a girl friends trip to RIU Playacar. Upon arrival we were greeted with a chilled fruit juice and escorted to our rooms. First impressions of the resort grounds were well groomed, smaller (meaning easy to naviagate), secure (this is a gated community), clean, and very friendly workers. While staying at RIU the activities crew went out of their way to make you feel like friends and get you involved, but if you weren't feeling up to it, they didn't push. Everyone was super friendly from the waiters, to bartenders, to front desk. One noteable thing is that the front desk called almost daily to ask how things were...GREAT customer service. Anything we needed, such as towels were brought within minutes! Food wise there is a huge variety...something for everyone. We mainly stuck to the buffet. We did make a reservation at the Mexican a la carte restaurant, but choices are very limited. The only thing I would say that needed to improve was the bedding! Ask for a padded mattress as the beds are very hard otherwise. Also, the bedspread was very dirty...I recommend they buy new ones or get duvet covers that could be washed. We just through ours on the floor and used the other blankets, but have to admit...this was the one dirty thing...otherwise room was very clean as well as the rest of the resort. Compared to other trips I have taken. I have been to Mexico 6 times and I have to say this is one of the best vacations I have had! Resort is very clean, workers are great, and food is good. Resort is also in a great location....we walked the beach to town (it was about 2 miles). We also felt safe the whole time as the resorts and houses on the way to town are all pretty upper end. Stay at RIU Playacar and you won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa Del Carmen, 5th Ave shopping is about 2 miles down the beach (turn left out of the resort). You will see the ferry going from Cozumel to Playa Del Carmen. You will end up at Senor Frogs. Walk up one block and this is the main shopping district.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philly, PA
Oct 18, 2010

Lived up to the expectation

Great location, great staff, great vacation. We did two day trips while in playa del carmen. We went to Xcaret one day and went to the island of Cozumel by ferry another day. Both were great experiences and would do both again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go into the city at night. The hotel nightlife was not very good, but the city was great. $5 cab or long walk.

Back to menu Return to top