RIU Playacar All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M6 Lote 6, FRACC. Playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st grade teacher
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 16, 2014

Superb Location

The location on the beach was amazing. I loved the palm trees set back behind the beach which provided welcome shade after spending six hours on the beach. The beach was very large and mostly clean except the seaweed that rolled in every now and then. The beaches in cancun are a little more pristine than playa del carmen. There were sellers walking around the beach and I felt like I was saying no thank you ten times an hour. Yes, I know that's just what happens there but still, it got old. The hotel rooms were set back in tropical grounds surrounded by palm trees and other native plants. There were little animals running around everywhere which we didn't mind at all. It was really cool! The hotel staff were very friendly and always busy cleaning the hotel and the grounds. I did like the decor of the hotel. It was more old fashioned, traditional mexico themed. We have stayed at modern upscale resorts before, which we also like, but this one had a homey charm to it. We don't have children but there were many families with kids there and they seemed to be having a blast. It didn't bother us at all. It's definitely a quiet hotel, set apart from any of the wild spring break action. It seemed like the yucatan was more of a party hotel. It was nice that the all inclusive deal allowed us to use any of the amenities from the yucatan and/or tequila. The yucatan had a better breakfast than playacar. We ate there a few morning as it was only a quick walk down the beach. While we were there we mostly just relaxed on the beach, drank and ate. The drinks were great and the bartenders were very fast and friendly. The food was average, nothing was mind blowing. But that's to be expected from a three star all inclusive in mexico. All meals were buffet except for dinner where you had the choice of three other restaurants if you didn't want the buffet. We went to the steak house one night and it was a huge disappointment. Skip the specialty restaurants and stick with the buffet meals . We walked down the beach to the town of Playa Del Carmen. It was only a two mile walk on the beach. The location was great because it's so close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa Del Carmen is only a 1.5 mile walk on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniel Alberto
Business
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Feb 27, 2014

Excellent vacation !!!

I have taken my vacation (15 days) hosted on the Riu Palace Hotel Riviera Maya. I had hired in Playacar, but this hotel was full I rushed to the Palace. The attention was excellent since the arrival of. Cleaning and breadth of rooms. The staff of the hotel. The food was perfect in quality and quantity. The beach is better. The shows activities presented are the highest level. I have spent a vacation excellent, thanks to the contribution of all personnel at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is excellent, both in variety and quantity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruce and Linda
Business
Edgerton WI
Jan 27, 2014

A Week in Paradise

A beautiful spot. Friendly, professional staff everywhere. Good entertainment every day. You could be as busy or as lazy as you wanted to be. Room was kept spotless. Food was top quality. This was our first "all inclusive" vacation, but will not be the last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tripper01
Business
Michigan
Dec 4, 2013

Good trip

Overall a good experience. The grounds are beautiful, but the hotel has outdated décor and could use a makeover. Great beach and pool area. You can go to 2 other RIU properties in playacar, I recommend the RIU Yucatan for its contemporary design and better food... and better people watching. The only annoying thing is that the hotel still uses keys for the doors and the safe and they charge a pretty high fee if you loose them. The front desk wouldn't answer half the times I tried to call. Also, when I asked them to wake me up at 8:30am they called at 9:00am instead. Good location and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diver Les
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 13, 2013

Good beach!

I think this was the best beach I've ever been to in my life. The sushi at Jade Restaurant was incredible. However, everyone in my group did spend at least one day sick, and the rooms could use some remodeling. I had good luck with Bestday Tours, and Bestday employee Tatiana Carrian was very helpful about refunding my money when we weren't able to see the whale sharks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PTRX
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 20, 2012

Great family vacation

Plenty of food, decent drinks, friendly staff, nice beach and entertainment... will probably go back sometime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
debbieH
Business
new york, ny
Aug 7, 2012

No refunds for scuba diving if can't go!

My friends and I stayed at the Riu Playacar in July 2012. The hotel is actually 3 star not 5 star. But, the pool, beach and food are great. The staff and guests are very nice also. I especially liked that there were palm trees on the beach instead of beach umbrellas. The hotel's alcaholic drinks are not watered-down like the disco's in town. The air conditioning in the room is not so great. The chamber maids are cheap with the soap. They want you to use your old soap from previous days. Its not fun to go out and beg them for more soap. The thing to look out for is that the scuba diving company wants to be fully pre-paid in advance, before they train you for it. They will not give a refund if you can not actually go on the scuba diving trip for medical reasons, or if you don't like the starter class. They do their best to avoid a refund. They are not like American companies that give refunds to maintain customer satisfaction. Before the scuba diving is paid for, they are so nice and friendly. But, if you want a legitimite refund, suddenly, they become all about the money and not so friendly. So, as far as the scuba diving is concerned in this hotel, its "Buyer beware!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LisaB
Business
Brookfield, WI, USA
Jan 15, 2012

family vacation

I will start by saying this property/airfare package was a good value. The property set up and beach setting was nice, not extraordinary, but nice. Long narrow property. Three buildings on each side of a main corridor. Each building has rooms facing the corridor and rooms facing the property lines (on each side) We had the unfortunate luck of having two rooms which faced the property next door. The Wyndham's main physical plant was directly opposite our rooms. Constant drone of large air conditioning units, laundry services, etc. Delivery trucks arrived at 5am each morning, backing in (beep beep) and loud loud employees receiving the deliveries. What a nightmare! The food was very very average. Apparently not for lack of trying. However, food was bland and had many cross tastes (steak tasted like shrimp) "Specialty" restaurants were a bit of a joke. This was a very average experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Catwing
Business
South Carolina, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Playacar is the place

Lovedeverythingaboutthisresort.Planninganothertrip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food & drinks were available at all times. Beer was cold & food taste great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Lisa
Business
Boise, Idaho
Dec 4, 2011

RIU-Quality, Excellent Saff and Great Shows

RIU Playacar was a big surprise to us. We thought last year we had a good time at the Hotel next door, but they cannot hold a candle compared to RIU. I remembered last year how the check-in took forever, but at Riu it was smooth and fast and willing to change rooms for us if we didnt like what we got. We had 2 room adjoining and the set-up here couldnt be better. Instead of having a door between each room they have an entry door for both rooms and then a seperate door for each room about 10 feet away!!!! Great idea. A Hotel is a Hotel, but its the staff that makes it a place you enjoy. The staff at RIU Playacar is amazing ! Front desk, Bartenders, Servers, Maids, but I have to single out the RIU Entertainment Staff Headed by Pablo, they work really hard off for you and always have a wonderful smile and willingness to go out of their way for you. I must single out a few of them because I think they deserve it. Alexander, Isra, Maria and Oscar. These young men and women put in long hours ( I know its paradise ) but its work for them and are the finest we have come across. The beach is spectacular actually mind blowingly beautiful. The Hotel is the smallest of RIU's in the area and its makes for a more comfortable environment. Food was good in the Buffet, but I wish they would have more main course foods to choose from. Quality of what they made was good though. Steakhouse is good but dont expect an 1 inch thick steak, but you get a lot of food. Steakhouse is served to you. Jade the Japanese Dinner was only ok. It was billed like they cook the food in front of you, but its also a buffet style dinner. Should have known Japanese food in Mexico might not be the best anyway. Rooms are ok stocked bar, sodas and yes WATER!!! which is huge down here. It is stocked every other day which is perfect. Beds are firm for sure and the pillows are flat, but if you require a pad for the bed or more pillows they are more then accomodating. I would rate this Hotel for its Star rating of 3 stars to be a 4.9 out of 5 with the only ding being that Jade rest. Highly Recommend this place,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We book 2 excursions each time and that can be done right in your Hotel lobby. Pricing is better then doing on-line before you go. They will throw in some sort of incentive if you ask

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top