$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

RIU Playacar All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M6 Lote 6, FRACC. Playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
98 reviews
Excellent vacation !!!

I have taken my vacation (15 days) hosted on the Riu Palace Hotel Riviera Maya. I had hired in... See full review

  • Daniel Alberto
  • Feb 27, 2014
Paradise!

This was our first time staying here, and we loved it! The beach was absolutely perfect with clear... See full review

  • Westy Traveler
  • Jul 17, 2014
Family-friendly, all-inclusive resort near Playa del Carmen
The all-inclusive RIU Playacar is 35 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort is surrounded by stretches of white sand beaches and tropical vegetation. RIU Playacar features three international restaurants, three bars -- including the Las Olas swim-up bar -- two swimming pools, a separate children's swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers, sun terrace and children's playground.
Highlights:
  • Three international restaurants and three bars -- including a swim-up bar
  • A separate children's pool and kids club at RIU Playacar
  • Many sports and activities including tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling
Rooms:

The 386 guestrooms at RIU Playacar feature colonial-style furnishings and dark wood. Amenities include central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe, and private balcony or terrace. Junior suites include a living area and dressing room. Guestrooms with connecting doors are available upon request. Wi-Fi Internet access is available for a fee.

Features:

Sports and activities at the RIU Playacar include table tennis, hard surface tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding, snorkeling, complimentary scuba diving lesson in the pool, and volleyball. A full gym and workout facility is available for motivated guests. A sauna and Jacuzzi are also available for full relaxation for those over 18.

Kids at RIU enjoy the RIULand kids club while parents lounge by the pool, enjoying the daytime entertainment. For a fee, motorized water sports and an 18-hole golf course are available. Complimentary access to La Pinata night club is standard.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. El Porche has special theme evenings, a buffet and on-the-spot cooking stations. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum (39 mi/64 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • There must be at least one person of 21 years old in every room at RIU Playacar.
  • No spring breakers or student groups are accepted at the RIU Playacar.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6085 -87.0914
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Lote 1. Playacar, Playa Del Carmen Quintanta Roo, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 34 miles
Area description
Located on the beach of Playacar Complex , just two miles from the downtown of Playa del Carmen.

RIU Playacar All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room with two double beds, color satellite TV, safe deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, balcony or terrace, private bathroom with bath, shower and hairdryer, stocked mini bar, liquor dispenser and telephone.
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Turquesa
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.
La Olas
Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in pool bar/swim-up bar
La Cumbia
Lounge Bar, share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
El Porche
Main restaurant with buffet dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required. Serving local and continental cuisine. Open from 7am - 10:30 am and from 12pm - 3pm and from 6:30pm - 10pm.
Cafe Cubano
Cocktails and drinks, meets friends in lobby bar featuring live piano music.
Jade
Aisan style restaurante for dinner

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
debbieH
new york, ny
Aug 7, 2012

No refunds for scuba diving if can't go!

My friends and I stayed at the Riu Playacar in July 2012. The hotel is actually 3 star not 5 star. But, the pool, beach and food are great. The staff and guests are very nice also. I especially liked that there were palm trees on the beach instead of beach umbrellas. The hotel's alcaholic drinks are not watered-down like the disco's in town. The air conditioning in the room is not so great. The chamber maids are cheap with the soap. They want you to use your old soap from previous days. Its not fun to go out and beg them for more soap. The thing to look out for is that the scuba diving company wants to be fully pre-paid in advance, before they train you for it. They will not give a refund if you can not actually go on the scuba diving trip for medical reasons, or if you don't like the starter class. They do their best to avoid a refund. They are not like American companies that give refunds to maintain customer satisfaction. Before the scuba diving is paid for, they are so nice and friendly. But, if you want a legitimite refund, suddenly, they become all about the money and not so friendly. So, as far as the scuba diving is concerned in this hotel, its "Buyer beware!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LisaB
Brookfield, WI, USA
Jan 15, 2012

family vacation

I will start by saying this property/airfare package was a good value. The property set up and beach setting was nice, not extraordinary, but nice. Long narrow property. Three buildings on each side of a main corridor. Each building has rooms facing the corridor and rooms facing the property lines (on each side) We had the unfortunate luck of having two rooms which faced the property next door. The Wyndham's main physical plant was directly opposite our rooms. Constant drone of large air conditioning units, laundry services, etc. Delivery trucks arrived at 5am each morning, backing in (beep beep) and loud loud employees receiving the deliveries. What a nightmare! The food was very very average. Apparently not for lack of trying. However, food was bland and had many cross tastes (steak tasted like shrimp) "Specialty" restaurants were a bit of a joke. This was a very average experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Catwing
South Carolina, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Playacar is the place

Lovedeverythingaboutthisresort.Planninganothertrip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food & drinks were available at all times. Beer was cold & food taste great.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Lisa
Boise, Idaho
Dec 4, 2011

RIU-Quality, Excellent Saff and Great Shows

RIU Playacar was a big surprise to us. We thought last year we had a good time at the Hotel next door, but they cannot hold a candle compared to RIU. I remembered last year how the check-in took forever, but at Riu it was smooth and fast and willing to change rooms for us if we didnt like what we got. We had 2 room adjoining and the set-up here couldnt be better. Instead of having a door between each room they have an entry door for both rooms and then a seperate door for each room about 10 feet away!!!! Great idea. A Hotel is a Hotel, but its the staff that makes it a place you enjoy. The staff at RIU Playacar is amazing ! Front desk, Bartenders, Servers, Maids, but I have to single out the RIU Entertainment Staff Headed by Pablo, they work really hard off for you and always have a wonderful smile and willingness to go out of their way for you. I must single out a few of them because I think they deserve it. Alexander, Isra, Maria and Oscar. These young men and women put in long hours ( I know its paradise ) but its work for them and are the finest we have come across. The beach is spectacular actually mind blowingly beautiful. The Hotel is the smallest of RIU's in the area and its makes for a more comfortable environment. Food was good in the Buffet, but I wish they would have more main course foods to choose from. Quality of what they made was good though. Steakhouse is good but dont expect an 1 inch thick steak, but you get a lot of food. Steakhouse is served to you. Jade the Japanese Dinner was only ok. It was billed like they cook the food in front of you, but its also a buffet style dinner. Should have known Japanese food in Mexico might not be the best anyway. Rooms are ok stocked bar, sodas and yes WATER!!! which is huge down here. It is stocked every other day which is perfect. Beds are firm for sure and the pillows are flat, but if you require a pad for the bed or more pillows they are more then accomodating. I would rate this Hotel for its Star rating of 3 stars to be a 4.9 out of 5 with the only ding being that Jade rest. Highly Recommend this place,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We book 2 excursions each time and that can be done right in your Hotel lobby. Pricing is better then doing on-line before you go. They will throw in some sort of incentive if you ask

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JonK
Indiana, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Loved it. Veg/non-veg couple.

My wife and I just returned from 5 days at the Riu Playacar in October 2011. Some of the other reviews were a bit concerning, but we loved it. We found the staff to be friendly and attentive, but remember this is Mexico and it's not considered at all rude to request a waiter's attention there. The mattresses were firm, but not uncomfortably so at all. Yes, the bed was 2 doubles pushed together, but we kind of liked that - we could be together when we wanted to, but we each had our own space, too. The crack wasn't uncomfortable. The setting was beautiful. There is free parking, but the spaces are a bit tight. The beach was in good shape. We ate at the buffet for every breakfast and dinner, but we were usually away at lunchtime. I'm a vegetarian and lactose-intolerant, and I was still quite satisfied because the buffet is huge! It included: chef's station with about a dozen items (heuvos rancheros, bacon, roasted veggies, meats, rice), another chef's station with pasta, pizza, burgers, bruschetta in the evenings and french toast, pancakes, plantains, donuts in the mornings, an area that was a juice bar in the morning and nacho bar in the evening, a dessert station with at least 10 items, a bread station with a variety of breads (evening) and pastries (morning), 3 soups, and a salad bar with the regular salad stuff on one end and then rotating stuff like fruits, deviled eggs, pate, cheeses, etc. on the other end. All signs in English, Spanish, and German. I speak a little Spanish so I always tried that first, but if it got over my head, the staff was always comfortable switching to English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Genie
Dallas, TX, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Couples Getaway

We had a great time at this resort! We've been many places in the Caribbean and seen beautiful beaches, but I must admit we were impressed with this location. The only complaint was the beds, they are hard as rocks! We requested mattress toppers and that helped a little, but they should really upgrade those mattresses. Other than that everything was perfect, even the food was enjoyable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If they are having the Michael Jackson show, make sure you see it, it was spectacular!

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Genie
Dallas, TX, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Couples Getaway

We had a great time at this resort! We've been many places in the Caribbean and seen beautiful beaches, but I must admit we were impressed with this location. The only complaint was the beds, they are hard as rocks! We requested mattress toppers and that helped a little, but they should really upgrade those mattresses. Other than that everything was perfect, even the food was enjoyable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If they are having the Michael Jackson show, make sure you see it, it was spectacular!

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Texas
Jun 29, 2011

Riu Playacar

We had a great time after the rain stopped. (forgot to check their rainy season!). Rented a car to save on the price of the excursions, but don't rent from the guys at the hotel, they're higher. You can go to 5th ave and find things cheaper. If you like to snorkle Xel-Ha was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Storm Trooper
Maine
Apr 22, 2011

My favorite all-inclusive!

I have vacationed in the Cancun/Playa De Carmen area 5 times now. The Playacar resort is my favorite so far. I liked the smaller, more cozy atmosphere. The beach is spectacular. The staff at all locations on the resort were especially friendly and seemed happy and not too over worked. I also liked that we were eligible to use two other resorts, both in walking distance. My two biggest complaints were: too many people smoked. People smoked around the pools, while they were in the pool, and also where there was food. My second complaint is how dirty the swim-up bar pool was. The pool was actually a different color and it had a bad smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very nice, affordable shopping plaza directly across from the resort entrance. It has many shops- from nice pearl jewelry to handmade crafts.

Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Storm Trooper
Maine
Apr 22, 2011

My favorite all-inclusive!

I have vacationed in the Cancun/Playa De Carmen area 5 times now. The Playacar resort is my favorite so far. I liked the smaller, more cozy atmosphere. The beach is spectacular. The staff at all locations on the resort were especially friendly and seemed happy and not too over worked. I also liked that we were eligible to use two other resorts, both in walking distance. My two biggest complaints were: too many people smoked. People smoked around the pools, while they were in the pool, and also where there was food. My second complaint is how dirty the swim-up bar pool was. The pool was actually a different color and it had a bad smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very nice, affordable shopping plaza directly across from the resort entrance. It has many shops- from nice pearl jewelry to handmade crafts.

Back to menu Return to top