RIU Playacar All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M6 Lote 6, FRACC. Playacar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
64 reviews
Awesome food!!!

Enjoyed my stay. The rooms were large and very clean, the grounds were very well kept. The staff... See full review

  • kat miss smiley
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great place to stay

We went for a week.and had a great time. Hotel is walking distance to town. It is a very clean... See full review

  • Cmead
  • Nov 23, 2014
Family-friendly, all-inclusive resort near Playa del Carmen
The all-inclusive RIU Playacar is 35 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen. The resort is surrounded by stretches of white sand beaches and tropical vegetation. RIU Playacar features three international restaurants, three bars -- including the Las Olas swim-up bar -- two swimming pools, a separate children's swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sun loungers, sun terrace and children's playground.
Highlights:
  • Three international restaurants and three bars -- including a swim-up bar
  • A separate children's pool and kids club at RIU Playacar
  • Many sports and activities including tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling
Rooms:

The 386 guestrooms at RIU Playacar feature colonial-style furnishings and dark wood. Amenities include central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in-room safe, and private balcony or terrace. Junior suites include a living area and dressing room. Guestrooms with connecting doors are available upon request. Wi-Fi Internet access is available for a fee.

Features:

Sports and activities at the RIU Playacar include table tennis, hard surface tennis, windsurfing, catamaran, kayaking, body boarding, snorkeling, complimentary scuba diving lesson in the pool, and volleyball. A full gym and workout facility is available for motivated guests. A sauna and Jacuzzi are also available for full relaxation for those over 18.

Kids at RIU enjoy the RIULand kids club while parents lounge by the pool, enjoying the daytime entertainment. For a fee, motorized water sports and an 18-hole golf course are available. Complimentary access to La Pinata night club is standard.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. El Porche has special theme evenings, a buffet and on-the-spot cooking stations. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Tulum (39 mi/64 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • There must be at least one person of 21 years old in every room at RIU Playacar.
  • No spring breakers or student groups are accepted at the RIU Playacar.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

RIU Playacar All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room with two double beds, color satellite TV, safe deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, balcony or terrace, private bathroom with bath, shower and hairdryer, stocked mini bar, liquor dispenser and telephone.
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access lobby area

Dining

Turquesa
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.
La Olas
Enjoy delightful tropical drinks in pool bar/swim-up bar
La Cumbia
Lounge Bar, share a drink with friends in this popular spot.
El Porche
Main restaurant with buffet dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required. Serving local and continental cuisine. Open from 7am - 10:30 am and from 12pm - 3pm and from 6:30pm - 10pm.
Cafe Cubano
Cocktails and drinks, meets friends in lobby bar featuring live piano music.
Jade
Aisan style restaurante for dinner. Previous reservation is required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
debbieH
new york, ny
Aug 7, 2012

No refunds for scuba diving if can't go!

My friends and I stayed at the Riu Playacar in July 2012. The hotel is actually 3 star not 5 star. But, the pool, beach and food are great. The staff and guests are very nice also. I especially liked that there were palm trees on the beach instead of beach umbrellas. The hotel's alcaholic drinks are not watered-down like the disco's in town. The air conditioning in the room is not so great. The chamber maids are cheap with the soap. They want you to use your old soap from previous days. Its not fun to go out and beg them for more soap. The thing to look out for is that the scuba diving company wants to be fully pre-paid in advance, before they train you for it. They will not give a refund if you can not actually go on the scuba diving trip for medical reasons, or if you don't like the starter class. They do their best to avoid a refund. They are not like American companies that give refunds to maintain customer satisfaction. Before the scuba diving is paid for, they are so nice and friendly. But, if you want a legitimite refund, suddenly, they become all about the money and not so friendly. So, as far as the scuba diving is concerned in this hotel, its "Buyer beware!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gilbert S.
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

Quick get away

Gorgeous beach. The staff was great and a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert H.
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Good Expierence

First trip to Playa Del Carmen was great. Resort was good overall. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beach was great! The food was ok, better than expected for buffet all inclusive but not great, variety every night was good. Only issue was there was a leak in our room by front door when it rained and we weren't moved even though the leakmin roof was in the closet. We are going back to Playa again because of our greag expierence with this Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert H.
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Very Good Expierence

First time to Playa Del Carmen. The resort was Very Good Overall. The Staff were friendly and outgoing. The Beach was awesome! The nightly shows were good with a different theme every night which was nice. The Rooms were good. The food was good, better than we expected for a Buffet at an all inclusive. They had a different variety nightly. The only negative was our room had a leak in the ceiling by the closet and we asked to move but never heard back. We are returning to Playa because of the enjoyable experience there. Would recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Storm
Business
Glenview
Mar 1, 2015

Nice smaller hotel

Great location, great beach. Nice smaller hotel in Playacar. As with All-inclusives, you get sick of the food after 5 days. Their so-called 'specialty' restaurants are not really worth going to. Rooms are OK but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kat miss smiley
Business
Englewood
Jan 14, 2015

Awesome food!!!

Enjoyed my stay. The rooms were large and very clean, the grounds were very well kept. The staff were very nice, the entertainment was from morning til night. The food was very, very good. I don't think I've ever had such good food at an all inclusive. Everything was very fresh, nothing seemed recycled from prior meals. I would recommend this to my friends and family and would come back myself. Thank you for a great vacation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cmead
Business
Alta Loma, Ca
Nov 23, 2014

Great place to stay

We went for a week.and had a great time. Hotel is walking distance to town. It is a very clean facility and well taken care of. The room are big and clean. The only problem we had was that the shower did not drain very quickly so you end up standing in a pool of water. The staff is very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A lot of attractive to go too, all within driving distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Westy Traveler
Business
Westminster, Co
Jul 17, 2014

Paradise!

This was our first time staying here, and we loved it! The beach was absolutely perfect with clear waters and calm waves. We would stay again in this particular area for the beach alone! The staff at the hotel was amazing. We had an issue with our air conditioning not being cold enough for our taste and we were moved to another room with no problems. We stayed in building 5, which is closest to the pool, and it was very convenient. I would recommend this hotel to just about anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can rent bicycles across the street at Riu Tequilla and ride the short distance into Playa del Carmen, if you want to shop or just get out for a bit. It is about a 15 minute ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharkbite71
Business
Chicago
Jun 15, 2014

Honest Review - Good, but you get what you pay for

I went with my two children, ages 11 and 8. They loved it! The room was always clean with the towel animals that they always leave on the bed. The staff were very nice as well. The food at the buffet was pretty decent. Breakfast and dinner were the best. The theme "Steakhouse" was awful. Do NOT order the steak. The chicken was very good. The Japanese theme one is a buffet and was our favorite. Didn't go to any of the others. They have a "kids party" every night at 8:15. My son liked it. The shows were pretty good and the kids looked forward to them every night. Bottom line - it's an outdated resort with staff that seem to actually care about you having a good time. The location is great and it's clean. The food gets a "C" from me. It's not a Four Seasons but for what you pay I am very satisfied with the stay. Might even go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to XPLOR. This place was great and was the highlight of our trip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lost my marbles
Business
Chicago
May 26, 2014

Good value

No complaints. Very nice beach and water with some waves

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go into town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Playacar All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lindsay C
Business
Orlando, fl
May 8, 2014

Ok for our first time in Mexico

This hotel is getting torn down, so this is for the folks who are staying here up till then. Staff were amazing! Pretty sure they work 23 hours out of the day and they were all smiling and friendly every single day. Bring your own cup to the bar, they will gladly fill it up. Rooms were comfortable, we had a first floor room facing north in Building 6. I preferred it, since it was SO HOT and our room was always in the shade. Bed was hard, but I didn't mind it, they do give you extra pillows. The walls are thin. Food was not amazing. The Japanese restaurant was our favorite. Steakhouse is a complete joke, skip it. Make sure to make reservations in the morning at breakfast. All the buffets were ok, they do the job in getting you full. Myths debunked: You don't have to pay for the safe, check in was easy (at 430pm), Wifi is only available in the lobby for 90 minutes PER electronic device per day... Be wary of the tour companies in the morning, they are hawks, stick with RIU's staff when booking excursions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen is full of people yelling at you to buy something. If you hate that, don't go. If you don't mind, go and then haggle the snot out of them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top