$298 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
325 reviews
Amazing trip with friends

There was nothing lacking from the service, location, beach, drinks and food at this resort. Also... See full review

  • DeNada
  • May 22, 2015
Honeymooners paradise!

came here for my honeymoon, me and my husband loved it here. the food was great, drinks awesome and... See full review

  • Veronica G.
  • May 7, 2015
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Location
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Highlights
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Policies
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 325
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeNada
Business
N/A
May 22, 2015

Amazing trip with friends

There was nothing lacking from the service, location, beach, drinks and food at this resort. Also really clean - the staff always seemed to be cleaning! The beach was awesome. Clear water, soft sand, and since its inside resort property no being bugged by vendors every 5min when you just want to relax. No regrets - can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah N.
Business
N/A
May 3, 2015

Amazing trip

You know it's a great trip when you almost cry telling the staff goodbye! I can't begin to say how amazing this resort is! Everything from the room, pool, food to the staff was superb!!! Going to make this an annual trip from now on!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan K.
Business
portland
Feb 9, 2015

AWESOME TRIP

We had a great time, the new years celebration was amazing, we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations in advance

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The best couple in Vegas
Business
Beaverton
Jan 5, 2015

Happy New Year Trip !!

we stayed in Riu Palace Rivera Maya in Playa de Carmen for a week and it was great, however if you are going to make a reservation for a restaurant in the hotel is a big issue in order to do it. it does not make senses to me that I need to wait until noon and only to wait for a hotel personal to be in a table at the lobby bar of the hotel for just two hours to make a reservation. It should be done at the front desk at any time until the reservations are over that day. Also the pillows at the rooms are very uncomfortable small and hard. The mattress in my room was very uncomfortable hard. The rest was great and excellent services and Joe at the Pool or beach side is the best for the job, but all personal at the beach and pool area are great with services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam E.
Business
dearborn heights
Dec 30, 2014

Great location, good staff

we really enjoyed our time at the riu palace we were there for a week. location can't be any better the food was better than average. The rooms were a little dated but very clean and roomy. It is nice to be able to go to the other Rius for a change of scenery. And you can literally walk to downtown fifth Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hook241
Business
Honesdale PA
Nov 16, 2014

Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very friendly.had a first floor room just steps away from the pool and beach. Would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet was far better than the specialty restaurants

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dgr13
Business
illinois
Nov 20, 2013

Great Experience

Hotel is perfectly located about a 30 minute slow walk to Playa Del Carmen, either by beach or sidewalk, it is about a 1/4 mile or less from 4 of the other hotels you can visit and drink or eat at. The golf course is right across the street, beautiful course. Stayed on the third floor in the middle of resort. Courtyard view and could see ocean over pool and palm trees. Room has an all inclusive minibar stocked with beer, pepsi products, water, tonic and 7-up. There are liquor dispensers with absolute vodka, Bacardi rum, jose quervo tequila and whiskey. The shower is fantastic and it has a jetted tub for bath lovers. dual sinks. No problem with hot water or water pressure. You can sit on balcony and watch sun come up and get great view of courtyard and pool. Some say the beds are hard, but it most be what I am use to because it was comfortable. We had 3 couples in our group. They also share my view of rooms. We are all in our fifties if that helps. I would get up every morning around 6am and head down to sports bar for a couple rum and pineapple juice. Then take one with me. take a walk to one of the other resorts , refill, or walk on beach always feel safe and comfortable. The beach is huge, probably 120 yards long from pool to ocean, and it is perfect white sand that is raked every morning. The ocean is clear and no rocks just smooth sand floor we swam in everyday but two when it was red flagged, no swimming. We ate at all the restaurants and thought the meals were fantastic. The staff is always smiling and working as hard as possible to make your stay perfect. Never wait for drink even way out on the beach they deliver. Our group drank from time we got up until we went to bed at night. There is a show every night around 9:30 and it ends around 11:00 which is when everyone at the resort seems to call it a day, but it was usually enough for us after 13-14 hours of indulging everyday, and the swimming and shopping and walking. If you nap during the day or just want to party later downtown bars are hopping after 11:00 or the Riu Tequilla has a disco that open at 11:00. Remember the staff is not paid a lot for there hard work. Most people don't tip, don't be like them, you wouldn't do that in the states. These people work hard. We each brought 100 singles for tipping and tipped more to our favorite bartenders and waiters. The service isn't any better tipping or not, but its the right thing to do. Great vacation. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I am Otto
Business
Temperance, Mi.
Nov 18, 2012

Awesome place and location

The hotel staff goes way over board to make sure everything is great for you. Everything from the food, drinks and the things to do are all excellent. We were able to go to the other RUIs in the area and enjoy their hotel too. But by far the Place is the best. It was worth the extra money to stay there. Good deals in the shops in town also. We walked around at night and never felt our safety was in danger. Really can't wait to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelly 77
Business
New Hampshire, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Great hotel for a quiet vacation

This hotel is in a beautiful location and the amenities are great. The rooms are clean, the grounds and restaurants are immaculate, I can't say enough good things about them. The only place it falls down is in the evening entertainment. There are evening kids and adult shows but they are not very exciting and it finishes the day on kind of a quiet, almost boring note. Great for a quiet getaway but not if you are looking for lively nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Jo
Business
Edinboro, PA 16412, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Pleased with Playa Del Carmen!

The hotel was beautiful. The beach was clean. The food was good but could use a little more variety in the buffet offerings at lunch. I would go back again. I loved being able to walk to a town to shop. The nightlife in town was wonderful but at the hotel it was somewhat lacking. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Fifth Avenue in Playa Del Carmen is like Bourbon Street in New Orleans. It is great!

Back to menu Return to top