$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
283 reviews
Awesome Family Trip!

This was the first time at an all inclusive hotel and I was a little wary of how it was going to... See full review

  • Gail G.
  • Aug 24, 2015
Awesome family wedding trip

The hotel was beautiful and luxurious. All of the staff members were very friendly and helpful. We... See full review

  • Coy M.
  • Aug 6, 2015
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.
General
RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive, Riviera Maya
Location
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Dining
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Rooms
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Highlights

The resort's spa is popular, so if possible book an appointment in advance of your trip. While on-site, you can try some of the authentic Mexican cuisine at the Agave, Don Panolo or Krystal Fusion restaurants. You can also try the international cuisine at the Yashima Japanese restaurant or the Botafogo Brazilian restaurant. You can even enjoy a fun night listening to live music on the hotel's private outdoor patio. Just a few minutes away, check out the historic Mayan ruins of Tulum or Cobá. 

Policies
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 283
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
natasha h.
Couples
Bloomingdale
Feb 28, 2015

Perfect Winter Getaway

First walking into the hotel, the decor is beautiful and elegant. The staff was mine and my husbands favorite part. They were GREAT! always there to help, remembered our names and very attentive. The beach was PERFECT and the ability to use the sail boats and other water "toys" was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carmen
Couples
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Awesome Diving Trip

The hotel was truly top notch in all respects. All inclusives can have a bad rap for low quality but not here. The quality of the food and variety was top of the line as was the service and friendliness of the staff. I absolutely loved this place. Stayed for a week and didn't want to leave !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jason R.
Couples
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Decent Value

Nice hotel, great location, great staff, just needs a couple of things. Updates, it is getting a bit long for the tooth but I think that is coming next year. And the a la carte restaraunts foods is merely average. Great to have them as options, but we have had better. Wonderful beach and wonderful location makes up for it, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justin R.
Couples
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

We Love Riu Hotels

My wife and I have stayed at Riu Hotels for the past 4 vacations we have taken and enjoy every minute of it. I highly reccommend them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ioan adrian
Couples
bronx, new york
Dec 6, 2014

Me and my wife, we used to like Riu Resorts.

Still do, but not so enthusiastic. The goods (5 stars): beach, Manolo restaurant, restaurant workers, entertainment staff , pools, other Riu hotels nearby, Quinta Avenida at 20 min walk, general safe area location, everybody smile, great food choices. The OK (4 stars): tours offers(expensive), reception staff (somewhat busy). The sufficient (3 stars): rooms need to be redone- they have a bad smell and furniture looks dated. Also no direct ocean view. The bad (2 stars): noisy environment up to 11 pm- when shows in theater end. Also be prepared to have lots of 1 dollar bills for tips. We changed 3 rooms till we found one with little smell. Room we've chosen was a downgrade (3rd fl, no balcony and couch, no compensation offered). Receptionists did not acknowledged there is a smell problem into the resort rooms. They tried to accommodate us but we had the feeling that we annoyed them with our request. Rumor is that next year this resort will be completely renovated, similar with was was done with Riu Palace Mexico. I hope they will not change the the old intimacy feeling the resort has now and change for that NYC style Riu Mexico got. Bottom line what counted most: we had a great, wonderful sunshine week with warm ocean waves, plenty of rest and really good food in a very safe and pleasant enviroment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Excellent walking route in gated community. Xcaret park at 15 min by car. We recommend to book a combined tour for Xcaret and Chichen Iza (2 days tour for 179$/person on Xcaret website at least 21 days in advance to reach the discount). Also highly recommended for airport transportation: Canada Transfer- they are in time and not ripping you off, have good vans, you feel like getting a private VIP service

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Val Beach Girl
Couples
Syracuse, NY
Nov 21, 2014

Couples getaway

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at Riu Palace. The beach is amazing and the resort is beautiful! The pictures don't do it justice. Grounds are perfectly maintained and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We had great service from everyone at Riu. We have stayed at two other resorts in Riviera Maya and this one was my favorite. I also liked how close the town of Playa was from the hotel. We walked there and back twice to do some shopping. Food was very good. Get room service for the chocolate cake! It was delicious!! If you are looking to get away together or with a bunch of couples this is the place. It is geared to adults. I love the beach and this one was beautiful. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner a la carte reservations when you get there.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
april super vacationer
Couples
California
Nov 10, 2014

Couples trip, vacation

Staff very friendly. Not a whole lot to do at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJMills
Couples
Eagle, WI
Nov 10, 2014

Staff

The staff was amazing!!!! Made no difference if you gave them a little tip or not they were always there offering something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

If your looking to dine in one of the restaurants in the hotel remember to make reservations in the lobby at noon.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDW214
Couples
New York
Oct 1, 2014

Couples retreat

The location was great, just a short walk to downtown and the beach was beautiful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were large and comfortable and the pool area was fantastic. The only thing is that after the nightly show which ends around 11ish the options become slimmer to continue to enjoy the night life, but downtown partying is an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Avoid going in September, it's rainy season

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EsamN
Couples
Southfield Michigan
Sep 15, 2014

Excellent for family getaway

Very friendly atmosphere with excellent service from staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Downtown area is extremely expensive with very little verities.

Back to menu Return to top