$341 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
461 reviews
Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food... See full review

  • Just and Happily Married
  • Jun 22, 2014
Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing... See full review

  • Jota Jota from Minnesota
  • May 29, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (461)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nonmex traveller
Charlotte, NC
Sep 29, 2011

Enjoyed getting pampered

It was my first trip to the Cancun area and in an all inclusive hotel. I expected buffets and drinks, but never realized the buffet choices and food amounts along with the quality drinks were going to be the norm. This is the newest of the chain in Playa de Carmen, if you want lots of discos and college crowds, then this is NOT the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

A one dollar or two dollar tip gets you excellent service throughout your trip and never hesitate trying to speak Spanish, they really do enjoy speaking in their native language to you.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Coyote
London, ON, Canada
Sep 6, 2011

Summer getaway

I have stayed at many all inclusives on the Mayan Riviera so think I have a good appreciation on rating a resort. The location, service, facilities, beach and dining were all outstanding. The only negative was that the bed was a little on the hard side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cassieakasam
mountain House, CA
Aug 18, 2011

Love love love

This was a wonderful getaway for DH & I. The hotel was charming and the staff went above an beyond to make our stay memorable. I wish there was WIFI in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

If anyone tells you that you can walk to 5th ave, DON'T DO IT!!!! Unless you like the 30-40 minutes walk in the heat. Take the $7 cab

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cassieakasam
mountain House, CA
Aug 18, 2011

Love love love

This was a wonderful getaway for DH & I. The hotel was charming and the staff went above an beyond to make our stay memorable. I wish there was WIFI in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

If anyone tells you that you can walk to 5th ave, DON'T DO IT!!!! Unless you like the 30-40 minutes walk in the heat. Take the $7 cab

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CRO N CRO
Apex, NC, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Unbelieable beach view

You sit on the beach at this resort, and feel like your on a screen saver, postcard, or in a corona commercial. One of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Lots of people stayed at the pool, and they missed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa del Carmen is just a 15 minute walk down the beach. Great shops, night life, and dining.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CRO N CRO
Apex, NC, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Unbelieable beach view

You sit on the beach at this resort, and feel like your on a screen saver, postcard, or in a corona commercial. One of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Lots of people stayed at the pool, and they missed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa del Carmen is just a 15 minute walk down the beach. Great shops, night life, and dining.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexico first timer
Chicago, IL
Jul 8, 2011

Nice Hotel but Not The Best

The hotel was great, the beach and pool were really good. The only issue was the staff, I think they can be a little more professional. They act like they are at their own hotel. But other than that it is definitely a great place for a summer vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for Steak House and Japanese they are amazing.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexico first timer
Chicago, IL
Jul 8, 2011

Nice Hotel but Not The Best

The hotel was great, the beach and pool were really good. The only issue was the staff, I think they can be a little more professional. They act like they are at their own hotel. But other than that it is definitely a great place for a summer vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for Steak House and Japanese they are amazing.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, California
Jun 27, 2011

Great Place!

We had heard great things about all of the Rui Hotels, so we were excited to visit the Rui Palace in Riviera Maya. We definitely recommend this hotel to couples (they had some children activities but not much). The grounds are kept very neat and clean. Be careful walking in the hallways, it seemed as though they cleaned the floors every day. The service at all of the restaurants and bars were exceptional. I definitely recommend [...] he is one of the head servers in the patio area. He provided the best service we have ever experienced at any hotel or restaurant. Beach was gorgeous and clean, plenty of chairs to relax in. The bar at the pool was nice as well. Unfortunately though the bar closes at 6pm. They should keep it open later since it stays light out well after 6pm (one of the few negatives). Rooms were spacious and clean as well. I'm a picky eater so I wasn't too impressed with the food, but my husband said the food was great with a good variety at the buffet. Need reservations at the other restaurants on site which is another negative. When we're on vacation we definitely don't like being on a schedule but we made it work. We would definitely recommend Riviera Maya and the Rui Palace to anyone looking for a romantic, nice, high quality place for a honeymoon or vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

XPlor park and ATVs at Punta Venado were so much fun!! We definitely recommend!!!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, California
Jun 27, 2011

Great Place!

We had heard great things about all of the Rui Hotels, so we were excited to visit the Rui Palace in Riviera Maya. We definitely recommend this hotel to couples (they had some children activities but not much). The grounds are kept very neat and clean. Be careful walking in the hallways, it seemed as though they cleaned the floors every day. The service at all of the restaurants and bars were exceptional. I definitely recommend [...] he is one of the head servers in the patio area. He provided the best service we have ever experienced at any hotel or restaurant. Beach was gorgeous and clean, plenty of chairs to relax in. The bar at the pool was nice as well. Unfortunately though the bar closes at 6pm. They should keep it open later since it stays light out well after 6pm (one of the few negatives). Rooms were spacious and clean as well. I'm a picky eater so I wasn't too impressed with the food, but my husband said the food was great with a good variety at the buffet. Need reservations at the other restaurants on site which is another negative. When we're on vacation we definitely don't like being on a schedule but we made it work. We would definitely recommend Riviera Maya and the Rui Palace to anyone looking for a romantic, nice, high quality place for a honeymoon or vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

XPlor park and ATVs at Punta Venado were so much fun!! We definitely recommend!!!

Back to menu Return to top