$294 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
463 reviews
Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food... See full review

  • Just and Happily Married
  • Jun 22, 2014
Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing... See full review

  • Jota Jota from Minnesota
  • May 29, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (463)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
463 out of 463
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dougie Fresh
Benicia California
Oct 15, 2012

Wonderful Place

Had a wonderful time at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya. I have stayed at the RIU Palace Mexico and now this place and it honestly does not get much better. Great food all the time. Unique dinning restaurants on reservation for dinner. Wonderful beach/pool. It really is paradise when your here. I would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AustinChick
Austin, TX
Oct 7, 2012

RIU Palace Riviera Maya consistenly great!

We have stayed here many times. Once again, had a fabulous stay. Our room was at the end of the last building facing the ocean. What a view! It's so nice to sit on the balcony in the early evening and watch Cozumel light up. As usual - food was great, staff is friendly and helpful, room was cleaned early each day and we were greeted with towel art everyday on the bed. My only room negative would be the bed. I didn't have a problem, but my husband woke up each morning with severe pain in his back. Same problem on prior trips. It would be great if they could replace the mattresses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Prepare for rainy days. Bring cards or anything that you can fit in your luggage. It's nice to sit in the lobby and have a way to occupy your time instead of sitting in the room and watching tv.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gill and Fam
Denver, CO
Oct 1, 2012

fun escape

We just returned from a 1 week getaway to this resort. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The beach was magnificent. The rooms were average, though kept very clean by housekeeping personnel. The only annoying thing was that we had to make restaurant reservations in person, every day or else we would have to eat at the buffet- this kind of took the fun and spontaneity out of the evening b/c there were only 2 seating times available for each restaurant 6:30 and 8:30. We brought our baby with us, he's too young for kid's club activities and it didn't really look like there was much at the resort that was geared toward young children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The fusion restaurant is the best restaurant at the resort.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family with two toddlers
Nashville, TN
Sep 30, 2012

Good Resort, OK Rooms

We stayed Aug 18-25, 2012. First off (which we didn't know), hotel is located within a large gated area of resorts and private residences, so it is extremely safe - go with confidence. Hotel was quite full, but never felt crowded. There were no waits, no lines. Staff was very friendly and catered to our every need, we never heard 'no' throughout our stay, but on the last day (Friday) they made it look like they were doing us favors any time we asked for something. We got a feeling that hotel instructs their staff to cut down on things the day before the crowd changes (assuming most people travel weekend to weekend). Hotel grounds were impeccably maintained. Layout of the hotel is excellent - pool is neither right in front of the hotel, nor right on the beach. They have palm trees planted on the beach instead of umbrellas, which makes it so much more enjoyable. Pools are excellent, and there's a swim-up bar, but as the week progressed pools became less and less clean. Beach is quite nice with many shallow spots and clear water, but the sand is not as clean as you'd expect coming from the US (cigarettes, for one, everywhere). Salespeople on the beach didn't bother us that much at all. There are all kinds of water activities within couple of hundred yards. Hotel rooms were the only letdown. They're just ok, we expected something better. Rooms on the ground (basement) floor were extremely musty, we changed our room to 2nd floor which was much better. In-room bar and refrigerator were stacked every day, no problems there. We didn't try any specialty restaurants because we had two small kids, but their buffet-type restaurants were adequate with plenty of variety. Drinks were definitely watered-down, just like anywhere else, but that's what you get in an all-inclusive package. They had some fun daily activities by the pool or on the beach. Nightly entertainment in the open square was quite good, but their in-house theater 'production' was a joke, middle-school grade stuff at best. In conclusion, besides the rooms there's really nothing horribly bad about the hotel. But one thing that's noticeable coming from the US is that, as friendly and courteous as staff tries to be, you somehow feel that it's not genuine, which brings down the classiness of the hotel. I would put it somewhere between 3.5 and 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We booked private transfer from-to the airport with usa-transfers, they're excellent, highly recommended

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reaching for the Stars
New Jersey
Aug 29, 2012

Mixed Feelings

Overall we had a good time at this resort. The beach was beautiful and it wasn't too crowded for the time of the year. However, we had mixed feelings about certain things. It was nice that drinks were readily available but we sometimes felt pressured to always be drinking alcoholic beverages. The staff were wonderful and polite but were uninformed about some things in the area. For example, they did not have schedules of the two churches in Playa del Carmen and were unable to provide them for me. When they did provide me with a schedule, it was wrong. I would have thought that to be very important especially for the people who want to attend services. The food was ok with some plates being exceptional and others being much to be desired. The room was clean and very comfortable. In the end, we enjoyed our stay although compared to other trips we've taken to the PdC, this was not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GP Nathan
Grants Pass, OR
Aug 22, 2012

Just like heaven!

There's nothing bad to say about this place, it is superbe!! The food is very good. I've been to buffet style all inclusive resorts before and the food typically is pretty bla. but NOT HERE.. Every meal is well prepared and better than I would have expected. The activities are abundant and throughout the day, so nobody gets bored. The pool is well maintained, and the beach is just a few steps away. Nighttime shows are fun, and easy to attend for adults and children. I highly recommend this place. The only negative, which isn't on the motel is on the Taxi service to/from the motel. It's unfortunate that Cancun doesn't' do something about it, because the very first impression of the place is that we were getting ripped off with the taxi ride. There's obviously a problem there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel has a gift shop with sunscreen, etc; however, sunscreen is $30 US/bottle. Walk the beach to town and all prices are about half of what is in the hotel.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John and Manda
Arlington, TX
Jul 19, 2012

Perfect As Always

This was my third stay at the RIu Palace, and it's always wonderful. The staff is so friendly and responsive. The entertainment staff goes the extra mile to make every day different from the last. The food is fantastic, although I personally prefer the buffet (which never disappoints) as opposed to the restuarants which require reservations. The rooms are beautiful and cleaned twice a day. The front desk staff could be friendlier, but that is just looking for something to complain about.... The property is breath-taking and you're not going to want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JulieG101
New York
Jul 4, 2012

Good, but Poor Food

My fiance and I stayed at the Riu Palace the last week of June. The location is great and very safe. You can go into the town and they have great vendors you can bargain with. I suggest trying the local food. The hotel is kept very clean and you can see they are constantly working on the grounds. The beach is great. Plenty of chairs and not over crowded. Water is clear as could be and there are some waves. There is 2 pools. The infinity pool over looks the larger pool with the swim-up bar. The grounds does call for another pool. It can get crowded, but they have plenty of seats. The beer was never cold enough, but the drinks overall around the whole resort were good. The food was poor. I have traveled to multiple all-inclusive resorts and found the food here the poorest of all. You learned after a couple of days what to eat and what-not to eat. The Brazilian specialty restaurant was good and the best by far. As for excursions we did one, xel-ha. We were told by friends who visited the area that it was a great excursion and it was. Snorkeling in a live aquarium in and out of caves was amazing. It was $100 per person and it included transportation to and from the resort as well as food and drinks and the multiple restaurants and bars around the area. They also offered swimming with dolphins, snuba and much more for an extra fee. I suggest this excursion to anyone visiting the area. Over all the resort was nice and you got a lot for your money. Just wished the food was better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabe g
Nee york
May 15, 2012

Great hotel

Great overall hotel- loved the food - the restaurants were good- delish food- the buffet was good too- people complain about the food getting boring- but it was good and very large selection- breakfast buffet was the the personal best . Will go back in a heart beat the beach is beautiful and service is great- loved the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco bongo- not many clubs and night life but perfect for couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad Jim
Chicago suburbs
Apr 22, 2012

Solid Family All-Inclusive

This is a nice property. It's not super huge, which was nice with the kids. No really long walks to meals or beach. The included meal buffet was very solid with a variety of choices. The restaurants were good too. But, it was a hassle to make a reservation. Location is nice for two reasons: 1) not too far from the airport 2) easy access to the town of Playa del Carmen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top