RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
300 out of 300
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Racer25
Business
Cumming, Georgia
May 8, 2014

Great place to relax

Outstanding Experience. Never seen a more helpful staff. Everyone has a smile on their face and go out of their way to make you stay a memorable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
my2scents
Business
CA
Apr 10, 2014

Reminder - keep valuable items locked up

This is our 2nd stay and definitely not our last thanks to the wonderful staff at the restaurants and pool area, they are fantastic. Reception can be a different story. The room we stayed in had a very gross humid smell, my husband went to the lobby to report and they said sorry, no rooms available until the next day. We refused to stay another night after noticing what appeared to be mold on the sliding door trim. The cleaning staff had taken the sofa out of the room and into the balcony, they apparently steamed cleaned it and agreed that there was a funky smell in the room. Gaby in the lobby was simply rude and assured us they couldn't do anything to move us that night. Hugo stepped in after overhearing our discomfort and upgraded us to a suite. He walked us to the room and apologized. While he showed us the room he made a call for someone to bring an extra bed, as there was only a King size bed and we had our two daughters with us, ages 8 and 4. We were handed the keys and all left the room and half way to the restaurant my 8-yr old said she'd forgotten her Kindle Fire in the room. It was late and we figured we'd go eat first, mistake. When we got back in the room the Kindle was gone. They conducted an "investigation" which took four trips to the lobby to get an answer...only one person had gone into the room, the person who brought the extra bed and never admitted to taking the Kindle. Although we all know to keep valuable items locked up, let this serve as a reminder - no matter how "at home" you feel you're items are not safe when you leave you're room unless placed in the safe. Also, don't buy the story "we have no rooms available until tomorrow", chances are the next day you'll get the same story. We didn't need the upgrade just a room without the disgusting smell. Hugo made it more than right for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hotty Toddy
Business
Mississippi
Mar 24, 2014

Long Weekend

We had stayed at this resort in June 2012. It rained 90% of our trip and we really did not get to enjoy most of the resort. We wanted to give it another try before we marked it off our list forever. The service last time was ok but this time there was a great change. The service from all personnel was excellent and the food was greatly improved. Only had 2 complaints with the resort. 1. Had a hard time getting the bathroom linens we requested when the room was cleaned. We had to make a call each time and then they were brought to the room. 2. You can only make dinner reservations for 2 specialty restaurants at a time from 12:00-3:00 each day. This really messes up your day having to plan around that time. We ate at the Brazilian and Mexican restaurants and the food and service was very good. We also had dinner at the buffet restaurant 1 night and the food and service was outstanding. If we go back, we will not eat at specialty restaurants just the buffet. This Riu Palace needs to take pointers from the Riu Palace Pacifico in Puerto Vallarta. They allow you to make all dinner reservations at once after you have checked in. The bar service in the entire resort was excellent also. Overall, a fantastic trip!!!!!! We will plan a return trip to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jjustme123 love Mexico
Business
North Dakota
Mar 22, 2014

Just an OK hotel

Hotel is relatively new but a little run down. Food and drinks were fine. The ocean and beach are terrific. We aren't pool people. We swim in the ocean and that was awesome! We've been to lots of Riu properties and this one was fine. Just OK. Have realistic expectations if you go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We realized the last day here that Senor Frogs was a 15 minute beach walk away, just to the north. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AKOmaha
Business
Omaha Nebraska
Mar 19, 2014

Beautiful

We have been to Mexico 4 times and this one takes the cake. Resort was fabulous. Clean rooms with marble floors. Friendly quick and great staff. Great food. I would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk the beach 30 minutes to the downtown markets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blass4
Business
Schaumburg Il
Mar 15, 2014

very friendly hotel

Perfect location very clean Beach was superb Should have better food options for many vegetarians !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Texas Mamacita
Business
Houston
Mar 13, 2014

family spring break vacation

I LOVED this hotel!! It exceeded my expectations. Every single staff member was extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful. Our kids are 17, 19 and 21 and they all loved it also. There are activities like beach soccer and volleyball, ping pong, water aerobics, pool volleyball, casino night, mexican game night, etc etc. YOu can be as busy or as relaxed as you'd like. As for food, there are 4 or 5 restaurants to choose from along with buffets out by the pool daily. One day. in addition to the hamburger pool buffet, there was a fajita buffet wheeled out and then a grilled shrimp and scallop buffet. The nightly dinners were good also- our favorite was the brazilian- but theres also japanese, fusion, mexican and steak restaurants. The junior suites were plenty big enough and each had their own sitting room and patio. The decor of the hotel was incredible and to me,it was the most beautiful of the hotels we saw in Playa del carmen. If I had to be very critical and LOOK for a negative about this hotel, I suppose it would be that the food was good- not spectacular. It was plenty good for our family and I'm sure we all came away several pounds heavier :) You will not go hungry for sure! So, If you are looking for a great hotel with EXCELLENT staff, location on the beach, all-inclusive, entertainment, beautiful decor and good accomodations and plentiful food, this hotel would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nana margarita
Business
Southern Minnesota
Mar 5, 2014

GREAT VACATION

We have been doing all inclusive vacations for 11 years now, and this was the best food ever. We stayed in the same resort in the Dominican, it was good but this was the best. The location is 20 minutes to Playa Del Carmen and the beaches are very nice for taking long walks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you spend most of your day, at the beach or pool, ask for a room closer to the pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DU Gal
Business
Minnesota
Mar 2, 2014

a week in paradise

This place is out-of-the-park awesome! staff is so friendly & helpful. Food was great-plenty to choose from. weather was warm & muggy-ceiling fan is over couch not bed in big suite, so got a fan from Wally-world. Made a huge difference for sleeping. Bring a 8-10" fan if you can. Excellent beach & pool. Beautiful, convenient setting. Adult children met us there and we were all impressed and entertained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret was worth the adventure price. Don't miss the closing theatrical extravaganza - It's outstanding!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack1147
Business
USA
Feb 28, 2014

Our Vaction at RIU

The place is world class in all regards. I would recommend it to any and all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner reservations for each day you are there as many days out as they will take them especially if you want to eat at 6:30 PM rather than 8:45 PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top