$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viajiste
Couples
santa cruz
Jul 18, 2014

No worries

This is a upgraded offerings for an all-inclusive. That is, everything you'd expect, and occasionally more. Staff were great- almost always courteous in assuring your satisfaction. Buffets were good to better than good. We were disappointed in the Brazilian (much too salty) and Mexican (nothing special) restaurants. Grounds were immaculate. Pool was too noisy for our liking; we found the beach to be more relaxing. Bar service is available at both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Must reserve restaurants between 12-3 in-person in the lobby. Only 2 reservations at a time, no more than 3 day out.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tex85
Couples
East Texas
Jul 11, 2014

poor start to our hooneymoon

me and my wife decided to go here for our honeymoon as i had already stayed there for a wedding a few years before and really enjoyed the place. Before our trip i was in contact with one of their booking agents trying to see if there were any upgrades we could get with it being our honeymoon. they told me that we could get a room upgrade if we would bring a copy of our marriage license, and we would could also get an early check in. well having been there before i had seen most of the rooms so i booked the suite below what is a Jacuzzi suite. well anyways when we arrived which was early we were told that our room was not ready yet because it was a bigger suite. when they finally got us to the room it was not even a suite it was a standard room above the lobby. after telling them that that was not even what we had booked they showed us another room, same thing, finally they showed us to a small suite and tried to tell me the room I was describing did not exist. well the bell boy as he was taking our bags says to me i know which rooms youre talking about and shows us that suite. however they would not let us upgrade even though that suite was not used while we were there. Anyways after this long first day of being lied to we ended making the best of this situation. In all honesty this place is a nice and clean resort with good food but is run pretty poorly. Expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just and Happily Married
Couples
Iowa
Jun 22, 2014

Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food was exceptional! They even made special order for any meal you had at Don Malano's. The only down side is that it was June and to eat at the Japanese restaurant men have to have a long sleeve shirt and dress pants to wear to dinner. And you must have reservations. We picked up a shirt while we were there and the place was booked out for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The 5th ave in Playa de Carmen is just a few minute drive from the hotel. We got a cab there and back. Walked around, took photos and shopped a little. They also have a Myan show in the evening if you're interested in watching that.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WYOUNG
Couples
Houston
Jun 2, 2014

6 in Row, Wonderful

We have gone to this particular hotel 6 times, including our wedding there last year. We love this hotel and especially love the staff. The ocean and beach are awesome at this location. If you offer the staff kindness and few tips, you will be treated like royality. The food in the buffets and signtaure restaurants is great, and Playa (nearby town) is just 5 mins away via cab when you need a change of pace. This hotel is frequented by mostly adults from various countries. You can relax in piece under the palms or you can hit the pool bar and make friends from all around the world. You see some kids but not many, which can be good or bad depending on what you want. We will return again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

With a huge Italian population, you will be well served to try some Italian restaurants in town.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jota Jota from Minnesota
Couples
Minneapolis, MInnesota
May 29, 2014

Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing staff. The room was beautiful as well. The night life is really fun. I would recommend this place for your next vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a massage in town

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Racer25
Couples
Cumming, Georgia
May 8, 2014

Great place to relax

Outstanding Experience. Never seen a more helpful staff. Everyone has a smile on their face and go out of their way to make you stay a memorable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
my2scents
Family
CA
Apr 10, 2014

Reminder - keep valuable items locked up

This is our 2nd stay and definitely not our last thanks to the wonderful staff at the restaurants and pool area, they are fantastic. Reception can be a different story. The room we stayed in had a very gross humid smell, my husband went to the lobby to report and they said sorry, no rooms available until the next day. We refused to stay another night after noticing what appeared to be mold on the sliding door trim. The cleaning staff had taken the sofa out of the room and into the balcony, they apparently steamed cleaned it and agreed that there was a funky smell in the room. Gaby in the lobby was simply rude and assured us they couldn't do anything to move us that night. Hugo stepped in after overhearing our discomfort and upgraded us to a suite. He walked us to the room and apologized. While he showed us the room he made a call for someone to bring an extra bed, as there was only a King size bed and we had our two daughters with us, ages 8 and 4. We were handed the keys and all left the room and half way to the restaurant my 8-yr old said she'd forgotten her Kindle Fire in the room. It was late and we figured we'd go eat first, mistake. When we got back in the room the Kindle was gone. They conducted an "investigation" which took four trips to the lobby to get an answer...only one person had gone into the room, the person who brought the extra bed and never admitted to taking the Kindle. Although we all know to keep valuable items locked up, let this serve as a reminder - no matter how "at home" you feel you're items are not safe when you leave you're room unless placed in the safe. Also, don't buy the story "we have no rooms available until tomorrow", chances are the next day you'll get the same story. We didn't need the upgrade just a room without the disgusting smell. Hugo made it more than right for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hotty Toddy
Couples
Mississippi
Mar 24, 2014

Long Weekend

We had stayed at this resort in June 2012. It rained 90% of our trip and we really did not get to enjoy most of the resort. We wanted to give it another try before we marked it off our list forever. The service last time was ok but this time there was a great change. The service from all personnel was excellent and the food was greatly improved. Only had 2 complaints with the resort. 1. Had a hard time getting the bathroom linens we requested when the room was cleaned. We had to make a call each time and then they were brought to the room. 2. You can only make dinner reservations for 2 specialty restaurants at a time from 12:00-3:00 each day. This really messes up your day having to plan around that time. We ate at the Brazilian and Mexican restaurants and the food and service was very good. We also had dinner at the buffet restaurant 1 night and the food and service was outstanding. If we go back, we will not eat at specialty restaurants just the buffet. This Riu Palace needs to take pointers from the Riu Palace Pacifico in Puerto Vallarta. They allow you to make all dinner reservations at once after you have checked in. The bar service in the entire resort was excellent also. Overall, a fantastic trip!!!!!! We will plan a return trip to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jjustme123 love Mexico
Couples
North Dakota
Mar 22, 2014

Just an OK hotel

Hotel is relatively new but a little run down. Food and drinks were fine. The ocean and beach are terrific. We aren't pool people. We swim in the ocean and that was awesome! We've been to lots of Riu properties and this one was fine. Just OK. Have realistic expectations if you go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We realized the last day here that Senor Frogs was a 15 minute beach walk away, just to the north. :)

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AKOmaha
Couples
Omaha Nebraska
Mar 19, 2014

Beautiful

We have been to Mexico 4 times and this one takes the cake. Resort was fabulous. Clean rooms with marble floors. Friendly quick and great staff. Great food. I would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk the beach 30 minutes to the downtown markets

Back to menu Return to top