$417 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
291 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R and M of New Mexico
Carlsbad, NM
Dec 9, 2012

Great Place

Our second time there. The food is very good and there is wide variety at the buffets. The service is excellent and friendly. Both time we were there the majority of guests are couples in the 40+ age group. Used the on site dive shop which takes very good care of you. Did the day dive trip to Cozumel plus some of the local dives. Also took out the Hobie Cats. This is an all inclusive so there is no need to carry money around for drinks, snacks, or tips since they are included. You can walk into Playa Carmen and the Playacar area is very nice and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ioan adrian
Business
bronx, new york
Dec 6, 2014

Me and my wife, we used to like Riu Resorts.

Still do, but not so enthusiastic. The goods (5 stars): beach, Manolo restaurant, restaurant workers, entertainment staff , pools, other Riu hotels nearby, Quinta Avenida at 20 min walk, general safe area location, everybody smile, great food choices. The OK (4 stars): tours offers(expensive), reception staff (somewhat busy). The sufficient (3 stars): rooms need to be redone- they have a bad smell and furniture looks dated. Also no direct ocean view. The bad (2 stars): noisy environment up to 11 pm- when shows in theater end. Also be prepared to have lots of 1 dollar bills for tips. We changed 3 rooms till we found one with little smell. Room we've chosen was a downgrade (3rd fl, no balcony and couch, no compensation offered). Receptionists did not acknowledged there is a smell problem into the resort rooms. They tried to accommodate us but we had the feeling that we annoyed them with our request. Rumor is that next year this resort will be completely renovated, similar with was was done with Riu Palace Mexico. I hope they will not change the the old intimacy feeling the resort has now and change for that NYC style Riu Mexico got. Bottom line what counted most: we had a great, wonderful sunshine week with warm ocean waves, plenty of rest and really good food in a very safe and pleasant enviroment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Excellent walking route in gated community. Xcaret park at 15 min by car. We recommend to book a combined tour for Xcaret and Chichen Iza (2 days tour for 179$/person on Xcaret website at least 21 days in advance to reach the discount). Also highly recommended for airport transportation: Canada Transfer- they are in time and not ripping you off, have good vans, you feel like getting a private VIP service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seacloud
Business
Fairfax, VIrginia
Nov 30, 2014

Family Vacation

This hotel was a great place to stay. The beach was really nice and clean. The food was good, especially since it was all-inclusive. The staff were really nice and caring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mundelein Illinois
Nov 26, 2014

bad feeling

The good hotel, but isn't enough greens. Beautiful buildings and pool. Excellent coast. Very good restaurants with excellent service, but are many shortcomings: 1. Bad service in room. After our installation we found a dirty bed, the bar was incomplete, bathing dressing gowns aren't present. Evening entertainments very bad. In the beach bar there is no disposable tableware. Excursions very tiresome are also badly organized. I and my wife not really liked vacation. The second time I won't go to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

bad feeling

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaceelo
Business
Chester va
Nov 23, 2014

Enjoyable stay

Beautiful hotel, grounds, and beach! The only thing that makes this resort a 4 star is due to awful food! Eat lunch and stick to buffets, but very big disappointment! Staff was rude at front desk and at Lupita! The overall staff worked very hard to accommodate your stay and we loved towel animals that were made for us each day! Our room was a ground floor close to everything! Room service was great, just not much to choose from! They should add pizza and French fries at least to their menu! I give resort a 5- I give food a 1-and that's being nice- staff gets a 4!!! All of my flights and transportation were smooth - Overall enjoyable trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Cozumel is 45 minutes away by ferry and town is 5 minutes by cab! Starbucks is 4 blocks away from hotel, opens daily at 7 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Val Beach Girl
Business
Syracuse, NY
Nov 21, 2014

Couples getaway

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at Riu Palace. The beach is amazing and the resort is beautiful! The pictures don't do it justice. Grounds are perfectly maintained and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We had great service from everyone at Riu. We have stayed at two other resorts in Riviera Maya and this one was my favorite. I also liked how close the town of Playa was from the hotel. We walked there and back twice to do some shopping. Food was very good. Get room service for the chocolate cake! It was delicious!! If you are looking to get away together or with a bunch of couples this is the place. It is geared to adults. I love the beach and this one was beautiful. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner a la carte reservations when you get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbie M.
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 20, 2014

Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be improved it's the room. We had a small problem with the closet door for the first couple of days but it was taken care of. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hook241
Business
Honesdale PA
Nov 16, 2014

Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very friendly.had a first floor room just steps away from the pool and beach. Would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet was far better than the specialty restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
april super vacationer
Business
California
Nov 10, 2014

Couples trip, vacation

Staff very friendly. Not a whole lot to do at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJMills
Business
Eagle, WI
Nov 10, 2014

Staff

The staff was amazing!!!! Made no difference if you gave them a little tip or not they were always there offering something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If your looking to dine in one of the restaurants in the hotel remember to make reservations in the lobby at noon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorenzo185
Business
New york
Aug 30, 2014

Great vacation

Hotel was beautiful staff was great food was good for all inclusive when they told me room service and everything in the mini bar was free I was shocked because usually you have to pay for that I would definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top