RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
298 reviews
AWESOME TRIP

We had a great time, the new years celebration was amazing, we will be back! See full review

  • Alan K.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Awesome Diving Trip

The hotel was truly top notch in all respects. All inclusives can have a bad rap for low quality... See full review

  • Carmen
  • Feb 3, 2015
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
natasha h.
Business
Bloomingdale
Feb 28, 2015

Perfect Winter Getaway

First walking into the hotel, the decor is beautiful and elegant. The staff was mine and my husbands favorite part. They were GREAT! always there to help, remembered our names and very attentive. The beach was PERFECT and the ability to use the sail boats and other water "toys" was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan K.
Business
portland
Feb 9, 2015

AWESOME TRIP

We had a great time, the new years celebration was amazing, we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations in advance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carmen
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Awesome Diving Trip

The hotel was truly top notch in all respects. All inclusives can have a bad rap for low quality but not here. The quality of the food and variety was top of the line as was the service and friendliness of the staff. I absolutely loved this place. Stayed for a week and didn't want to leave !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jason R.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Decent Value

Nice hotel, great location, great staff, just needs a couple of things. Updates, it is getting a bit long for the tooth but I think that is coming next year. And the a la carte restaraunts foods is merely average. Great to have them as options, but we have had better. Wonderful beach and wonderful location makes up for it, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justin R.
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

We Love Riu Hotels

My wife and I have stayed at Riu Hotels for the past 4 vacations we have taken and enjoy every minute of it. I highly reccommend them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The best couple in Vegas
Business
Beaverton
Jan 5, 2015

Happy New Year Trip !!

we stayed in Riu Palace Rivera Maya in Playa de Carmen for a week and it was great, however if you are going to make a reservation for a restaurant in the hotel is a big issue in order to do it. it does not make senses to me that I need to wait until noon and only to wait for a hotel personal to be in a table at the lobby bar of the hotel for just two hours to make a reservation. It should be done at the front desk at any time until the reservations are over that day. Also the pillows at the rooms are very uncomfortable small and hard. The mattress in my room was very uncomfortable hard. The rest was great and excellent services and Joe at the Pool or beach side is the best for the job, but all personal at the beach and pool area are great with services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam E.
Business
dearborn heights
Dec 30, 2014

Great location, good staff

we really enjoyed our time at the riu palace we were there for a week. location can't be any better the food was better than average. The rooms were a little dated but very clean and roomy. It is nice to be able to go to the other Rius for a change of scenery. And you can literally walk to downtown fifth Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ioan adrian
Business
bronx, new york
Dec 6, 2014

Me and my wife, we used to like Riu Resorts.

Still do, but not so enthusiastic. The goods (5 stars): beach, Manolo restaurant, restaurant workers, entertainment staff , pools, other Riu hotels nearby, Quinta Avenida at 20 min walk, general safe area location, everybody smile, great food choices. The OK (4 stars): tours offers(expensive), reception staff (somewhat busy). The sufficient (3 stars): rooms need to be redone- they have a bad smell and furniture looks dated. Also no direct ocean view. The bad (2 stars): noisy environment up to 11 pm- when shows in theater end. Also be prepared to have lots of 1 dollar bills for tips. We changed 3 rooms till we found one with little smell. Room we've chosen was a downgrade (3rd fl, no balcony and couch, no compensation offered). Receptionists did not acknowledged there is a smell problem into the resort rooms. They tried to accommodate us but we had the feeling that we annoyed them with our request. Rumor is that next year this resort will be completely renovated, similar with was was done with Riu Palace Mexico. I hope they will not change the the old intimacy feeling the resort has now and change for that NYC style Riu Mexico got. Bottom line what counted most: we had a great, wonderful sunshine week with warm ocean waves, plenty of rest and really good food in a very safe and pleasant enviroment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Excellent walking route in gated community. Xcaret park at 15 min by car. We recommend to book a combined tour for Xcaret and Chichen Iza (2 days tour for 179$/person on Xcaret website at least 21 days in advance to reach the discount). Also highly recommended for airport transportation: Canada Transfer- they are in time and not ripping you off, have good vans, you feel like getting a private VIP service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seacloud
Business
Fairfax, VIrginia
Nov 30, 2014

Family Vacation

This hotel was a great place to stay. The beach was really nice and clean. The food was good, especially since it was all-inclusive. The staff were really nice and caring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mundelein Illinois
Nov 26, 2014

bad feeling

The good hotel, but isn't enough greens. Beautiful buildings and pool. Excellent coast. Very good restaurants with excellent service, but are many shortcomings: 1. Bad service in room. After our installation we found a dirty bed, the bar was incomplete, bathing dressing gowns aren't present. Evening entertainments very bad. In the beach bar there is no disposable tableware. Excursions very tiresome are also badly organized. I and my wife not really liked vacation. The second time I won't go to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

bad feeling

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top