$308 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
282 reviews
Great vacation

Everything was great. The hotel staff is professional and courteous; they know and understand how... See full review

  • Des14
  • Aug 24, 2014
family vacation

Terrific service at the hotel, the only drawback was there was 3 of us on 2 queen size beds, the... See full review

  • SA Joker
  • Aug 1, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 1, 2009

Good place

Nice, clean hotel, great service in the restuarant and by the pool/beach. Could only eat dinner in the buffet restaurant b/c all other restaurants were booked for all 4 days we were there, which was very disapointing. The buffet was fine and had 1-2 main meals that were very good, rest of the food was fine to average. Plenty of chairs to choose from by the pool and beach, no need to stake-out a chair by 9am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cdhealth[@]
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 13, 2009

RIU Just OK

For the Money it was Just Ok !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelly 77
Business
New Hampshire, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Great hotel for a quiet vacation

This hotel is in a beautiful location and the amenities are great. The rooms are clean, the grounds and restaurants are immaculate, I can't say enough good things about them. The only place it falls down is in the evening entertainment. There are evening kids and adult shows but they are not very exciting and it finishes the day on kind of a quiet, almost boring note. Great for a quiet getaway but not if you are looking for lively nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 1, 2010

Overall a Great Place

I mostly relaxed sea and pool side. The hotel staff was great and made sure everything you needed was taken care of. The staff made great recommendations about places to visit and various methods of transportation. I have no complaints regarding this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 2, 2010

Great resort for couples and friends

Great accommodations and excellent service from all of the staff. Perfect beach and pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Traveller
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Dec 21, 2010

Small but Amazing

The hotel service was amazing. From the moment we drove up to the hotel until we left the service was fast, efficient and friendly. The room was very nice and cleaned everyday. The bar fridge was fully stocked with alcohol, pop and water. We were also very happy with the food. The buffet was excellent and we had no trouble getting into the other restaurants. Delicious. We have stayed at two other hotels in this area. The service and food was well above the other two hotels we stayed at. The only down side was that it is a smaller resort. However, the night life here was way more happening then other resorts we have been to. Plus, we never had a problem finding deck or beach chairs!! I would definitely recommend this resort to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In a short walk away from the downtown is a small shopping area where we found a lot of our take home treasures.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen K
Business
Elk Grove, CA
Jun 9, 2009

Great Stay!

The hotel itself is gorgeous and more than you can ask for. I didn't care for the front desk staff, but everyone else was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice sized and comfortable. The cleaning staff could do a better job, by mopping the floors regularly. We had to ask several times on our 12 day trip. You tend to get a lot of grit on the floor coming in from the beach and all. My mothers room had some roaches, which I didn't find out until later. I would have made them switch me rooms. That is horrible. The food was excellent as it is at all RIU resorts i have been too. Always a variety and after 12 days I still found plenty of things to eat without being repetitive. The pools are very warm, not quit sure why that is. Both pools actually could use a renovation. There are several areas where you can tell tile has been replaced, and it is badly done at that. There is a lot of mold in the grout of the pools, etc. Alot of the chairs around the pool are broken and need replaced (ie. the arms, etc). However, there are plenty of other chairs that are fine. Same with the umbrellas, i had to rig them most of the time to stay up because the pins are gone that hold them up. The beach is totally awesome, i love the fact you can have full sun or lay under the trees in a chair or a hammock. I would stay there again especially for everytihng you get and the beauty of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas, nv
Jul 26, 2009

"palace" getaway

The Riu Palace Properties are the best. The food is excellent and the staff is friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 25, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

The hotel was very nice, but this is a place for couples and weddings not singles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the ATV jungle tour with a swim in a cenote. Great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Mar 1, 2010

I would return

I would say my overall experience was excellent. Great staff always there to help and to serve you. The hotel itself was spotless. Great beach access with plenty of palm tree shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top