RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
269 reviews
Long Weekend

We had stayed at this resort in June 2012. It rained 90% of our trip and we really did not get to... See full review

  • Hotty Toddy
  • Mar 24, 2014
Beautiful

We have been to Mexico 4 times and this one takes the cake. Resort was fabulous. Clean rooms with... See full review

  • AKOmaha
  • Mar 19, 2014
All-suite beach resort in the heart of Riviera Maya’s paradise
The RIU Palace Riviera Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and 35 miles from Cancun's International Airport. The resort boasts more than 400 family-friendly suites, an expansive swimming pool and Jacuzzi, children's pool, playground, six restaurants and five bars, including the Daiquiri poolside swim-up bar. The RIU Palace Riviera Maya is surrounded by lush greenery and stretches of white sand. The hotel has 24 hour room service.
Highlights:
  • All-suite, family-friendly resort
  • Near Playa del Carmen
  • Swim-up bar
Rooms:

The 400-room RIU Palace Riviera Maya provides accommodations with dark woods and neutral, muted colors in bedspreads, rugs and seating. The surrounding turquoise waters and white sand beaches provide a tropical backdrop for the hotel. All RIU Palace Riviera Maya suites include bathroom with hydromassage bath, central air-conditioning, mini-bar, satellite TV and balcony. Suites on the upper terraces include outdoor Jacuzzi, split-level seating area and sofa and Italian bath amenities.

Features:

Guests at RIU Palace Riviera Maya enjoy table tennis, volleyball, an introductory scuba diving lesson in the pool, kayaking and snorkeling. For children ages 4 to 12, the resort offers daytime entertainment. At night, adults can dance the night away at La Pinata nightclub, play billiards or indulge in a drink at Riu Tequila, open every evening. For a fee, an assortment of motorized water sports and an 18-hole golf course are available.   

Dining

Hot and cold breakfast and lunch buffets feature Americanized foods such as pizzas, pasta, salads and assorted desserts. For dinner, guests can dine at the Mexican Agave, fusion Krystal, Japanese Yashima  or Brazilian Rodizio buffet. Reservations for Agave and Rodizio should be made in advance and formal dress is required at all dinners. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (35 mi/56.3 km)
Attractions
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Tulum Mayan ruins (40 mi/64 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet is available in the lobby
  • Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (269)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
71 out of 269
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Reaching for the Stars
New Jersey
Aug 29, 2012

Mixed Feelings

Overall we had a good time at this resort. The beach was beautiful and it wasn't too crowded for the time of the year. However, we had mixed feelings about certain things. It was nice that drinks were readily available but we sometimes felt pressured to always be drinking alcoholic beverages. The staff were wonderful and polite but were uninformed about some things in the area. For example, they did not have schedules of the two churches in Playa del Carmen and were unable to provide them for me. When they did provide me with a schedule, it was wrong. I would have thought that to be very important especially for the people who want to attend services. The food was ok with some plates being exceptional and others being much to be desired. The room was clean and very comfortable. In the end, we enjoyed our stay although compared to other trips we've taken to the PdC, this was not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Ann Arbor, Mi.
Oct 10, 2010

Not for families

The pool smelled like a cantina!!! there were a lot of drunks, not good for a family with small kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Manhattan
Apr 8, 2009

Spring Break at RIU Palace Riviera Maya

The hotel is pretty and well maintained. The food is good. The buffet is good. We tried all the restaurants except the Mexican because my mother does not like Mexican. The only one we really liked was the Krystal. We had asked for a handicapped room because my mother is elderly and is slowing down. The room itself was nice and located near the buffet restaurant. Unfortunately the handicapped rooms are way down in the lower level with a fabric covered tennis fence right in front of the balcony and in your view. We would have loved to sit on the balcony but it was against the solid green fence and the noise of the tennis players. Also all the staff entered and exited walking in front of our balcony and could look into our room. We decided to upgrade our transportation for our return to the airport at the end of our week. We were told to meet the Orbitz representative at the hotel the day we arrived at 4:30. We met with an older fellow named [...]. He was the only unfriendly local person we met all week. To upgrade from a grey lines van to a private car cost $18.00 and that was fine with us. We paid him and he had no change as if he expected a tip or something. Towards the end of our meeting he became just a little more friendly but with attitude. When I confirmed our car a day before our departure I found out [...] never called in the change to Grey Lines and I had to arrange the private car myself and was able to leave 1/2 hour later not the one hour later NOE said we would have. He never told Grey Lines that we paid him the cash either. The receptionist at the hotel told me there would be a bellhop to help my mother and I with our luggage early the next morning. When I called in the morning there was no bellhop and the receptionist/concierge could not care less. There was not much breakfast available too even though we were told there was 24 hour room service. There were men in the room service area. It would have been nice if they could have helped us with our luggage to the front door.I only saw a stretch class on the beach given once, the first day in the seven days we were there. I wanted to take the class and after our first day no one ever offered it even though it was on the schedule. We enjoyed the after dinner music and the shows. Unfortunately the kids show had to happen in the theatre in between. It was unpleasant. We love the kids but it would be nice if they could do their show by the pool and the grown ups can listen to more music. We took a taxi to Playa del Car?, little local market and Playa del Carmen. It was easy, $5 each way and great for us because Mom could not walk so far. We also visited the Aviary down the street. I enjoyed that very much. There were lots of birds an animals to see. We loved our Maitre D's and waiters. The fitness center or gym needs a big renovation and upgrade, bad equipment and no diagrams. Lunch at the buffet restaurant was very nice and quiet. The lunch at the buffet by the pool was CRAZY, to much going on. I powerwalked on the bike path every morning on the main street and so did many others. It was nice. You can get your own to go coffee at the buffet and go. That was nice. It was a very busy week but we were able to get pool towels and lounge chairs every day. I did go in the early morning to put towels down on the weekend. The cabernet served at Krystal was the best wine of the week. The other wine in the hotel is just OK not great. I guess the week was a big MIX.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring dollar bills or 20 peso bills for tips for your housekeeper daily and your waiters daily. They take care of you and remember you. They work so very hard.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Bob and Alisa
Round Rock, TX
Jul 25, 2009

We had a good time, but....

This was our 2nd stay here. It is a beautiful location, but they are letting it go. There was trash by the pool and on the beach. The pool towels were old and stained and you are only allowed one per person. The tables at the pool and beach were dirty. The portions at the gourment dining restaurants were small, the buffets were very good. Dress code was not enforced at the restaurants. We could not find our Orbitz representative all week and wasted 2 hours one day waiting for him. On a positive note, the staff was very nice and tried to be as attentive as posible. This trip we took an excursion to X-Caret. It is beautiful there, but in order to get your money's worth I recommend planning your day BEFORE getting there and bringing bug spray. The mosquitos are fierce and the park map is difficult to follow. I would definately return to PLAYA, but would NOT return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make an early dinner reservation so that if you don't care for the meal OR are still hungry, you can still get into the buffet

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jul 21, 2007

Our 25th with our Kids

This is quite a hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. Location was good, service and food terrific. Room location/quality was just Ok! For a celebration like ours, room location was not good...stuck in the front corner next to street-farthest from the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tours to local historical and tourist sites are wonderful.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
RIU ALL INCLUSIVE
New York, NY
Jan 16, 2011

Jan stay at RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Staff was exceptional, very attentive, polite and bilingual. The took care of our every need and happily worked diligently with everything they did. RIU found a clan of perfectionists to work here! The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous as you can no doubt see from the many online pictures. However in person it radiates class. The rooms, even the most efficiently priced rooms were large, air-conditioned with comfortable beds sand TVs with US channels. Food was amazing and diverse! We ate in many of the specialty restaurant and enjoyed them immensly. The only note here is that they follow a fancy European course timetable. Allowing much time between course for conversation. The buffets were fantastic and changed from day to day. They offered many many good foods and also offered something for the Vegan in our group. I intend on going back again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
twoweeloves
bonita springs, florida
Oct 11, 2013

Another enjoyable Riu experience

Stayed 7 nights 5th-12th Sept. Weather wasn't the best - battering rain 4 out of 7 days for hours and the resort was flooded in many places. Staff did their best, but hard to keep up with the deluge! Efficient check-in; allocated room on third floor at pool end of south building. Nicely laid-out; however, very musty smell and seemed damp - didn't ask to move as liked location and view and after talking to other guests, lots of rooms were musty/damp......too much rain! Large bathroom with double sinks - quite dark and lacking storage space. Room had usual Riu optics, mini fridge and coffee maker, seating area with couch and coffee table. Bed was really hard. Food was plentiful with many choices at each meal at the buffets. Inconvenient reservation system for the a la cartes (book in main lobby between 12pm and 3pm) Booze wasn't to my taste - never seemed as if the liquor was as advertised on the label.......... Great entertainment team who did their best during the inclement weather. Some professional shows at night. Lovely beach; great expanse of white sand: Playacar is usually nice and calm with blue water, but the weather churned it up a bit. Plenty of loungers under palm trees. Large pool with loungers and umbrellas. Service very good with most staff friendly and helpful. Room cleaned well, with turn-down service some nights as well. Been to over 20 resorts in the Riviera Maya and this was an enjoyable visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
The A Team
Northern VA
Oct 18, 2009

A nice place!

Great location and very friendly staff. Pool area is nice with music and free-flowing drinks! Beach area is nice too with sun and also shaded areas to lay in. Food was good, but watch your attire. They will ask you to leave and change if you are not suitably attired. Dinner seems to be the time they are most picky about how you are dressed! Be sure to book theme restaurants right at 12 Noon each day. Each seating (2) only takes about 40-50 people so space is limited. If you go to the Lobby bar about 11:45AM you will be one of the first in line. You can only book 2 nights at a time! Rooms are nice, but hallways being all tile do make them noisy if you are trying to sleep. Also, a room facing the courtyard could be noisy as they have music and other entertainment each night in the main courtyard. The beds were a bit too firm for us...AC and ceiling fan in room was just fine to keep us cool enough. Staff was very friendly, but brush up on your Spanish to make sure you can ask questions, etc. Front desk was fluent in English. TV in room has mostly spanish speaking channels, but you do get Miami TV and the others like CNN. We also got TNT which had movies back to back. Remember there is a nice gift shop/sundries shop located underneath the main entrance. You have to go out the front doors and down the driveway (either direction) to get to this shop. It is directly underneath the front doors. They have much more than the small Lobby shop. Starbucks is nearby for those of you who can't survive without it. Travel from airport to resort is slow and painful on Gray Line. We paid $40 US to get a lift from Cancun back to the resort. The Gray Line shuttle is a little cheaper RT, but you will have to stop 3-4 times along the way to pick up and drop off others. That's a pain, as none of the resorts are near the road. Double check to make sure your "departure tax" has been included in your airline ticket. If not - $55 per person at the airport to get out of Mexico. This is a great palce to stay. Clean and well maintained. We will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Houston, eh
Houston
Dec 26, 2010

pre-Christmas trip

Overall fantastic trip. This was our third Riu stay, and would definitely book here again. Great amenities including a golf course across the street (literally!), and a 5-minute walk to Starbucks. Safe location, friendly staff and great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A mini-mall just down the road from the hotel - had all the usual souvenirs, plus a restaurant, Starbucks and pharmacy/convenience stores. All within a 5-minute (safe) walk from the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Gill and Fam
Denver, CO
Oct 1, 2012

fun escape

We just returned from a 1 week getaway to this resort. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The beach was magnificent. The rooms were average, though kept very clean by housekeeping personnel. The only annoying thing was that we had to make restaurant reservations in person, every day or else we would have to eat at the buffet- this kind of took the fun and spontaneity out of the evening b/c there were only 2 seating times available for each restaurant 6:30 and 8:30. We brought our baby with us, he's too young for kid's club activities and it didn't really look like there was much at the resort that was geared toward young children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The fusion restaurant is the best restaurant at the resort.

Back to menu Return to top