$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
287 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (287)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 287
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reaching for the Stars
Business
New Jersey
Aug 29, 2012

Mixed Feelings

Overall we had a good time at this resort. The beach was beautiful and it wasn't too crowded for the time of the year. However, we had mixed feelings about certain things. It was nice that drinks were readily available but we sometimes felt pressured to always be drinking alcoholic beverages. The staff were wonderful and polite but were uninformed about some things in the area. For example, they did not have schedules of the two churches in Playa del Carmen and were unable to provide them for me. When they did provide me with a schedule, it was wrong. I would have thought that to be very important especially for the people who want to attend services. The food was ok with some plates being exceptional and others being much to be desired. The room was clean and very comfortable. In the end, we enjoyed our stay although compared to other trips we've taken to the PdC, this was not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan
Apr 8, 2009

Spring Break at RIU Palace Riviera Maya

The hotel is pretty and well maintained. The food is good. The buffet is good. We tried all the restaurants except the Mexican because my mother does not like Mexican. The only one we really liked was the Krystal. We had asked for a handicapped room because my mother is elderly and is slowing down. The room itself was nice and located near the buffet restaurant. Unfortunately the handicapped rooms are way down in the lower level with a fabric covered tennis fence right in front of the balcony and in your view. We would have loved to sit on the balcony but it was against the solid green fence and the noise of the tennis players. Also all the staff entered and exited walking in front of our balcony and could look into our room. We decided to upgrade our transportation for our return to the airport at the end of our week. We were told to meet the Orbitz representative at the hotel the day we arrived at 4:30. We met with an older fellow named [...]. He was the only unfriendly local person we met all week. To upgrade from a grey lines van to a private car cost $18.00 and that was fine with us. We paid him and he had no change as if he expected a tip or something. Towards the end of our meeting he became just a little more friendly but with attitude. When I confirmed our car a day before our departure I found out [...] never called in the change to Grey Lines and I had to arrange the private car myself and was able to leave 1/2 hour later not the one hour later NOE said we would have. He never told Grey Lines that we paid him the cash either. The receptionist at the hotel told me there would be a bellhop to help my mother and I with our luggage early the next morning. When I called in the morning there was no bellhop and the receptionist/concierge could not care less. There was not much breakfast available too even though we were told there was 24 hour room service. There were men in the room service area. It would have been nice if they could have helped us with our luggage to the front door.I only saw a stretch class on the beach given once, the first day in the seven days we were there. I wanted to take the class and after our first day no one ever offered it even though it was on the schedule. We enjoyed the after dinner music and the shows. Unfortunately the kids show had to happen in the theatre in between. It was unpleasant. We love the kids but it would be nice if they could do their show by the pool and the grown ups can listen to more music. We took a taxi to Playa del Car?, little local market and Playa del Carmen. It was easy, $5 each way and great for us because Mom could not walk so far. We also visited the Aviary down the street. I enjoyed that very much. There were lots of birds an animals to see. We loved our Maitre D's and waiters. The fitness center or gym needs a big renovation and upgrade, bad equipment and no diagrams. Lunch at the buffet restaurant was very nice and quiet. The lunch at the buffet by the pool was CRAZY, to much going on. I powerwalked on the bike path every morning on the main street and so did many others. It was nice. You can get your own to go coffee at the buffet and go. That was nice. It was a very busy week but we were able to get pool towels and lounge chairs every day. I did go in the early morning to put towels down on the weekend. The cabernet served at Krystal was the best wine of the week. The other wine in the hotel is just OK not great. I guess the week was a big MIX.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring dollar bills or 20 peso bills for tips for your housekeeper daily and your waiters daily. They take care of you and remember you. They work so very hard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob and Alisa
Business
Round Rock, TX
Jul 25, 2009

We had a good time, but....

This was our 2nd stay here. It is a beautiful location, but they are letting it go. There was trash by the pool and on the beach. The pool towels were old and stained and you are only allowed one per person. The tables at the pool and beach were dirty. The portions at the gourment dining restaurants were small, the buffets were very good. Dress code was not enforced at the restaurants. We could not find our Orbitz representative all week and wasted 2 hours one day waiting for him. On a positive note, the staff was very nice and tried to be as attentive as posible. This trip we took an excursion to X-Caret. It is beautiful there, but in order to get your money's worth I recommend planning your day BEFORE getting there and bringing bug spray. The mosquitos are fierce and the park map is difficult to follow. I would definately return to PLAYA, but would NOT return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make an early dinner reservation so that if you don't care for the meal OR are still hungry, you can still get into the buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, Mi.
Oct 10, 2010

Not for families

The pool smelled like a cantina!!! there were a lot of drunks, not good for a family with small kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
my2scents
Business
CA
Apr 10, 2014

Reminder - keep valuable items locked up

This is our 2nd stay and definitely not our last thanks to the wonderful staff at the restaurants and pool area, they are fantastic. Reception can be a different story. The room we stayed in had a very gross humid smell, my husband went to the lobby to report and they said sorry, no rooms available until the next day. We refused to stay another night after noticing what appeared to be mold on the sliding door trim. The cleaning staff had taken the sofa out of the room and into the balcony, they apparently steamed cleaned it and agreed that there was a funky smell in the room. Gaby in the lobby was simply rude and assured us they couldn't do anything to move us that night. Hugo stepped in after overhearing our discomfort and upgraded us to a suite. He walked us to the room and apologized. While he showed us the room he made a call for someone to bring an extra bed, as there was only a King size bed and we had our two daughters with us, ages 8 and 4. We were handed the keys and all left the room and half way to the restaurant my 8-yr old said she'd forgotten her Kindle Fire in the room. It was late and we figured we'd go eat first, mistake. When we got back in the room the Kindle was gone. They conducted an "investigation" which took four trips to the lobby to get an answer...only one person had gone into the room, the person who brought the extra bed and never admitted to taking the Kindle. Although we all know to keep valuable items locked up, let this serve as a reminder - no matter how "at home" you feel you're items are not safe when you leave you're room unless placed in the safe. Also, don't buy the story "we have no rooms available until tomorrow", chances are the next day you'll get the same story. We didn't need the upgrade just a room without the disgusting smell. Hugo made it more than right for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 26, 2007

My review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Riu Palace Riviera Maya was very nice, they have very friendly staff who always try that you have a very good time at your stay. The pool was awesome, the restaurants have a variety of international foods, they have shows during the evening. Everything was very nice: except that I was very dissastified with the beach, it had a lot of rocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ulisa
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Family reunion.

Riu Palace is a good place to stay only if I would not see roaches, every night I found roaches in the bathroom, the bathtub was to high to get in and out, I found it dangerous for short people like me, I think they need to up grade it. In the room the Iron, iron boar and the remote control for the TV were missing, there is a lot of noise at midnight in the hallway, we were feeling bad about people smoking everywhere, they should apply some restrictions about smoking. The service was good, the employees at the front desk were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Estaban
Business
Ft. Lauderdale FL
Dec 27, 2011

great!!!

It was a little slow at the airport for the transportation. At the hotel we were met by a man named WILSON at The RIU Palace Riviera Maya Playa de Carmen. He helped us with all of our transportation needs. Once he was involved our transportation was never late and gave us exceptional service!!!!! He was never late and kept his appointments!!!! When I return I want WILSON!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go to the ruins Chiza Niza and do all shopping there!!! It is a long drive but you will learn educational history and the prices are great along with the selections!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaryGe
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Beautiful beach, great staff

Loved the location, could walk 15 minutes to Playa. The staff was terrific...from the waiters and bartenders to the "entertainment staff" everyone was friendly and eager to please. The restaurants were delightful with several (the Japanese, Fusion and Mexican) that exceeded our expectations. The shows every night were very entertaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reservations for Restaurants are from 12-3. Get in line early during spring break time (11:30) if you want to eat in the Fusion or Japanese. That said, we did wait one night at the fusion restaurant and got in with no reservation as some don't show up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motherof3608
Business
Janesville, WI, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Rooms

The hotel and staff were very good...but the beds were hard as rock...they need some updating thankfully did not bath their only showered ....entertainment staff was excellent ... Needs to have dancing or something in evening for younger crowd ....overall 4 stars beach was beautiful ....very difficult to get change

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top