$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
287 reviews
Vacation

We had a great time. The place was picture perfect. The staff was wonderful. If one thing could be... See full review

  • Debbie M.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Truly a palace

Beautiful resort. Very clean, great food and wonderful beach. No shortage of chairs. Staff very... See full review

  • Hook241
  • Nov 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Reservation is Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation is required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (287)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family with two toddlers
Business
Nashville, TN
Sep 30, 2012

Good Resort, OK Rooms

We stayed Aug 18-25, 2012. First off (which we didn't know), hotel is located within a large gated area of resorts and private residences, so it is extremely safe - go with confidence. Hotel was quite full, but never felt crowded. There were no waits, no lines. Staff was very friendly and catered to our every need, we never heard 'no' throughout our stay, but on the last day (Friday) they made it look like they were doing us favors any time we asked for something. We got a feeling that hotel instructs their staff to cut down on things the day before the crowd changes (assuming most people travel weekend to weekend). Hotel grounds were impeccably maintained. Layout of the hotel is excellent - pool is neither right in front of the hotel, nor right on the beach. They have palm trees planted on the beach instead of umbrellas, which makes it so much more enjoyable. Pools are excellent, and there's a swim-up bar, but as the week progressed pools became less and less clean. Beach is quite nice with many shallow spots and clear water, but the sand is not as clean as you'd expect coming from the US (cigarettes, for one, everywhere). Salespeople on the beach didn't bother us that much at all. There are all kinds of water activities within couple of hundred yards. Hotel rooms were the only letdown. They're just ok, we expected something better. Rooms on the ground (basement) floor were extremely musty, we changed our room to 2nd floor which was much better. In-room bar and refrigerator were stacked every day, no problems there. We didn't try any specialty restaurants because we had two small kids, but their buffet-type restaurants were adequate with plenty of variety. Drinks were definitely watered-down, just like anywhere else, but that's what you get in an all-inclusive package. They had some fun daily activities by the pool or on the beach. Nightly entertainment in the open square was quite good, but their in-house theater 'production' was a joke, middle-school grade stuff at best. In conclusion, besides the rooms there's really nothing horribly bad about the hotel. But one thing that's noticeable coming from the US is that, as friendly and courteous as staff tries to be, you somehow feel that it's not genuine, which brings down the classiness of the hotel. I would put it somewhere between 3.5 and 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We booked private transfer from-to the airport with usa-transfers, they're excellent, highly recommended

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 7, 2012

susnshine!!

Overall this RIU was very good. However this time the amount of small children and infants on site was overwhelming if you are looking for good R&R. There was constant crying infants and children running unattendded all day and into the evenings. This was in the restaurants, bars and beach area as well. There was no guidance to the adults on how to behave. Maybe a handout on "courteous behavior tips" would help. But overall we had an excellent vacation and will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking to 5th street for shopping was close and good exercise, also the ferry to Cozumel for a day is also good fun and bargains

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PK Indy
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 9, 2012

Positive experience for first-timers

Our first time to Mexico and we really enjoyed it. RIU Palace Riviera Maya was a pleasant place to stay. We hear Cancun resorts are "livlier" and am sure that's true, but are also told our beach was nicer and frankly we're not displeased with the quieter atmosphere. Still something to do every day & nite, and we're happy that we ended up closer to Tulum and Xel Ha! This place was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you need to do some department store shopping, ask for directions to Chedraui. It's like a Mexican Target or K-Mart, but will save you $$ even compared to local WalMart and is a little closer. A long walk from RIU Palace Rivieria Maya or 70 peso cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speedier
Business
USA
Dec 17, 2012

Nice place

Great location right on the beach. Staff is friendly, pool is great and grounds are beautifully maintained. Food quality is average. Limited room service menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 3, 2013

great vacation spot

This is the second time we went there on and each time was fantastic in every way! I would recommed this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

we took a 15 minute walk to 5th street downtown every day. completely safe and alot of fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PerDrewsMom
Business
McDonough, GA
May 31, 2013

Can't say enough about the staff

We had an unforgettable visit to this gorgeous hotel for our 15th anniversary. The view looking out at the ocean through the shade of the palm trees was indescribably beautiful. The grounds of the property were pristine. Walking through the courtyard made you feel as if you really were in a palace. But the staff is what makes this property truly top notch. They are friendly, helpful, always smiling, and EVERYWHERE. Servers even come up to take drink orders when you are out on the beach. I can't say enough about the staff. We also loved the fact that we felt so safe and could walk into the town of Playa del Carmen for the shops. We took a taxi at night because we were dressed up, but we walked two other times during the day. It's probably right around a mile, maybe a little more. The only negative thing I could possibly say is that we didn't always have consistently hot showers. So if you are a primadonna who will allow something like a little cold water to ruin your vacation in PARADISE, this isn't the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chirlei Super Granny
Business
Chandler, Arizona
Jun 22, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

This resort is very beautiful, clean and next to the beach. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. Food was great and plenty of it. Lot of variety to choose from. The nightly entertainment was great. Our granddaughter looked forward to the nightly shows. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

To the Escaret park. Its an all day event and still not able to see the whole park. Salvetica Zip line was awesome also. We really enjoyed both adventure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweldon8
Business
Sebastopol, ca
Jun 9, 2013

Nice vacation

Hotel was nice for Mexico. Food was good better than my stay at Moon P.. Waite staff was excellent after a tip or two. Had a problem with getting my drift stocked tho. Three beers is not enough. Left note in Spanish for more. No luck. Called room service once they brought warm ones.. I think we insulted the person next with the note "seis cervaes por favor" with some chocolate kisses.. No beer in frig that day.. Later heard the key was to leave a dollar in the freezer. Who knew! Anyway, we had a terrible storm come through. Lots of water and slippery tile. Oh a lady at the pool had a medical emergency. Stroke or something. The hospital is almost right next door. Took parametics 45-1 hour to show up at the pool. First some "people" showed up with a gurney walking thru the garden. They stumbled around a bit didn't had a flat board to list her off the ground. Then while they're dinking around, another crew come running thru the garden with gurney etc. yikes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't expect to find great shopping deals down near the playa del Carmen hotels

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vbg003
Business
Las Vegas NV
Aug 9, 2013

Good food and excellent service

Hotel is little bit old, we changed it with Riu Palace Mexico. That hotel is very nice just renovated, staff was very friendly. Room floor get very wet but if you keep the AC on 69-70 it's Ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twoweeloves
Business
bonita springs, florida
Oct 11, 2013

Another enjoyable Riu experience

Stayed 7 nights 5th-12th Sept. Weather wasn't the best - battering rain 4 out of 7 days for hours and the resort was flooded in many places. Staff did their best, but hard to keep up with the deluge! Efficient check-in; allocated room on third floor at pool end of south building. Nicely laid-out; however, very musty smell and seemed damp - didn't ask to move as liked location and view and after talking to other guests, lots of rooms were musty/damp......too much rain! Large bathroom with double sinks - quite dark and lacking storage space. Room had usual Riu optics, mini fridge and coffee maker, seating area with couch and coffee table. Bed was really hard. Food was plentiful with many choices at each meal at the buffets. Inconvenient reservation system for the a la cartes (book in main lobby between 12pm and 3pm) Booze wasn't to my taste - never seemed as if the liquor was as advertised on the label.......... Great entertainment team who did their best during the inclement weather. Some professional shows at night. Lovely beach; great expanse of white sand: Playacar is usually nice and calm with blue water, but the weather churned it up a bit. Plenty of loungers under palm trees. Large pool with loungers and umbrellas. Service very good with most staff friendly and helpful. Room cleaned well, with turn-down service some nights as well. Been to over 20 resorts in the Riviera Maya and this was an enjoyable visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top