$341 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

4 stars
AV Xaman-Ha Mza 9 Y 10 Lote 1, INT. FRACC. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
461 reviews
Great stay

My wife and I had a great week at the Riu Palace Rivieria. The staff was extremely nice. The food... See full review

  • Just and Happily Married
  • Jun 22, 2014
Amazing Experience

Location was perfect. Walking distance to town/ferry to Cozmel. Beautiful clean beach. Amazing... See full review

  • Jota Jota from Minnesota
  • May 29, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya lies within its own swaying palm forest, secluded from the rest of the world, and complete with stone water features and pagoda-style architecture. Ornate wood carvings and sand-colored hues decorate the hotel interior, while the pools outside seems to stretch right into the ocean itself. Try food from every continent, with Japanese bites at Yashima, Brazilian delicacies at Botafogo, and the home-cooked taste of the grill at Chillis Steakhouse. Though relaxation is the order of the day, there's still plenty of on-site action with kayaking, scuba lessons, and the well-polished dance floor of La Pinata nightclub.
Key facts
  • 400 guestrooms
  • Conference center: 5 rooms with capacity for 900 people
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Massage or whirlpool bathtubs in all rooms
  • 376,000-square-feet of tropical gardens
  • 6 restaurants: Don Manolo, Agave, Rodizio, Chillis Steakhouse, Krystal Fusion Restaurant, Yashima Restaurant
  • 5 bars, including a swim-up bar
  • 24-hour unlimited beverages
Neighborhood
The hotel is situated in Playa del Carmen's Playacar community, just south of the main resort center and a short drive up the coast from eco waterpark Xcaret. The Riu Palace Hotel is conveniently close to the nearby ferry terminal, where guests will find local boutique shopping and international eateries. After learning to scuba dive or swimming with dolphins just off the beach, travel from here to Cozumel Island (a 45-minute ferry ride) to test your new skills, and check out the dazzling local corals of the Riviera Maya.
Hints and tips
Venture out to wider Playa Del Carmen in the evening for a change of pace - hotspots like Kartabar, with its smoking Hookah pipes and belly dancers, have a distinctly Middle Eastern flavor.
Guests can head down to beachfront bars like La Zebra for nightly entertainments like salsa or fire-dancing with their cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Junior Suite features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, sitting area, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite ROH
Junior Suite ROH features: two double beds or one king size bed, bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, hairdryer, telephone, central air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, in room safe, balcony or terrace, Garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with a sofa bed. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6111 -87.0857
Area served
Av. Haman-Ha Mza. 9 & 10 Lt 1 Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Situated 35 miles from Cancun International Airport, 40 miles from Tulum Maya Ruins and 4 miles from Xcaret Natural park.

Dining

Krystal
Fusion Cuisine a la carte restaurant for dinner. Resevation Required
Agave
Mexican Restaurant Dinner - Reservation required
Chilis
Pool side restaurant, snacks/grill steakhouse. Dinner restaurant Reservation required
Don Manolo
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, offering buffett style and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Botafogo
Main Brazilian reastaurant for dinner , reservation required
Lirico
Lounge Bar with terrace
Sports bar
Open 24 hrs with snack & beverage
La Piata
Night club. Entrance and drinks free (Riu Tequila, open every night).
La Plaza
Bar
Yashima
Japanese restaurant Reservation Required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless internet access lobby area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (461)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Mar 14, 2011

Resort - Great, Service OK

Went for some adult time to relax and forget about worries and stresses. Beautiful resort, good food. Kind of a pain to get reservations for the ala cartes. We ended up slipping some $$ to the guy doing the reservations and were able to get to where we wanted to be. Otherwise we were told they were booked. Funny thing was when dining, there were always several empty tables. hmmmmm/ Pool and beach beautiful with ample areas of either sun or shade. The days flew by, nites were fun, and shows were cute. Nice resort in all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Slip some cash, money talks!

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RIU ALL INCLUSIVE
New York, NY
Jan 16, 2011

Jan stay at RIU Palace Riviera Maya

Staff was exceptional, very attentive, polite and bilingual. The took care of our every need and happily worked diligently with everything they did. RIU found a clan of perfectionists to work here! The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous as you can no doubt see from the many online pictures. However in person it radiates class. The rooms, even the most efficiently priced rooms were large, air-conditioned with comfortable beds sand TVs with US channels. Food was amazing and diverse! We ate in many of the specialty restaurant and enjoyed them immensly. The only note here is that they follow a fancy European course timetable. Allowing much time between course for conversation. The buffets were fantastic and changed from day to day. They offered many many good foods and also offered something for the Vegan in our group. I intend on going back again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane Frances
USA
Sep 5, 2007

riu palace riveria maya

we had looked at several reviews for this hotel so we knew what it would look like. food was okay/ hard to get into specialty restaurants. front desk help was the least helpful. beds were hard, got the bed toppers and they helped somewhat. beach area right at the ocean is very small. would like to know what kind of liquor they use, because we would have 10 or more mixed drinks a day and never got a buzz. the hotel decor was nice, food was average, overall it was okay. but i expected more. it was close to playa downtown and to take ferry over to cozmel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The A Team
Northern VA
Oct 18, 2009

A nice place!

Great location and very friendly staff. Pool area is nice with music and free-flowing drinks! Beach area is nice too with sun and also shaded areas to lay in. Food was good, but watch your attire. They will ask you to leave and change if you are not suitably attired. Dinner seems to be the time they are most picky about how you are dressed! Be sure to book theme restaurants right at 12 Noon each day. Each seating (2) only takes about 40-50 people so space is limited. If you go to the Lobby bar about 11:45AM you will be one of the first in line. You can only book 2 nights at a time! Rooms are nice, but hallways being all tile do make them noisy if you are trying to sleep. Also, a room facing the courtyard could be noisy as they have music and other entertainment each night in the main courtyard. The beds were a bit too firm for us...AC and ceiling fan in room was just fine to keep us cool enough. Staff was very friendly, but brush up on your Spanish to make sure you can ask questions, etc. Front desk was fluent in English. TV in room has mostly spanish speaking channels, but you do get Miami TV and the others like CNN. We also got TNT which had movies back to back. Remember there is a nice gift shop/sundries shop located underneath the main entrance. You have to go out the front doors and down the driveway (either direction) to get to this shop. It is directly underneath the front doors. They have much more than the small Lobby shop. Starbucks is nearby for those of you who can't survive without it. Travel from airport to resort is slow and painful on Gray Line. We paid $40 US to get a lift from Cancun back to the resort. The Gray Line shuttle is a little cheaper RT, but you will have to stop 3-4 times along the way to pick up and drop off others. That's a pain, as none of the resorts are near the road. Double check to make sure your "departure tax" has been included in your airline ticket. If not - $55 per person at the airport to get out of Mexico. This is a great palce to stay. Clean and well maintained. We will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver Canada
Sep 20, 2010

Nice place

Personal service and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Not much nearby

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rest and Relax
Chicago, Il
Mar 27, 2011

Couples get away

We have stayed at the Riu Palace Las Americas in Cancun a couple of times, and had some of our best vacations ever. We thought we would give the Riu Palace Riviera Maya a try. It seems it is a safe bet to say at any Riu Palace. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are nice and clean, and the food is good. The Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located in a beautiful gated community, with 4 other Riu Properties guest have access to. Riu Palace Riviera Maya is a beautifully property with a great beach. However, this was the first time there where soooo many children, and no where to escape. This might have been because it was spring break, but I have traveled before during spring break and there is usually extra college kids, but this was 5 months to 12 years old children that where in excess.This is great for families traveling together, but couples that need to escape and relax, I would pay the extra to stay at a no children resort, especially during spring break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Traveller
Toronto, Ontario
Dec 21, 2010

Small but Amazing

The hotel service was amazing. From the moment we drove up to the hotel until we left the service was fast, efficient and friendly. The room was very nice and cleaned everyday. The bar fridge was fully stocked with alcohol, pop and water. We were also very happy with the food. The buffet was excellent and we had no trouble getting into the other restaurants. Delicious. We have stayed at two other hotels in this area. The service and food was well above the other two hotels we stayed at. The only down side was that it is a smaller resort. However, the night life here was way more happening then other resorts we have been to. Plus, we never had a problem finding deck or beach chairs!! I would definitely recommend this resort to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In a short walk away from the downtown is a small shopping area where we found a lot of our take home treasures.

Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
Oct 22, 2009

A piece of heaven in a luxury setting

The hotel is beautifully designed and offers some of the best beach setting which I have seen in my travels. The outdoor bar by tht pool offered gorgeous view of the ocean. However, the staff were too influenced by tips and did not provide the service I had hoped for. The staff at the restauraunts, however, were excellent. Service was incredible when it came to the formal dining. My major complaint was with the room. The air conditioner functioned poorly, plumbing did not always work properly, and lights would shut off periodically. Overall, I would come back again if the price is right. It is not a five star hotel but come pretty close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Mar 31, 2008

Friendly Staff and Good Toymes!

The hotel is beautiful and everyone from the staff to the guests were very friendly. We travelled with a group of friends, and it was a blast to meet down at the amazing pool, swim up and get our cocktails and just relax. The beach was also nice with beautiful sand and water. The food at the buffet was great for all 3 meals. Made it to the Japanese and Mexican specialty restaurants which were both very good. Make sure you bring one pair long pants because no shorts are allowed in the speciality places. Walking to town is easy, and the bars and restaurants there are great. Cab is only 5 bucks if you don't wanna walk. The drinks can be weak, so ask for a doble or double, and they'll pour it in. The lobby bar has the best quality booze (absolut, crown royal, etc.). As other people have said, there is a musty smell, but it's Mexico...who cares? Also, lock up your valuables in the safe. My phone got ripped off while charging. I'd definitely go back to this place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Riviera Maya All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 10, 2008

Best beach frontage in Playacar...

This was the first time to stay at a RIU Property in the Mexican Riviera Maya. The best aspect of the property was the overall design of the property along with the spaciouness of the beach. (It was possible to find your own unique area of sunbathing without being on top of each other.) The food at the specialty restaurants were average at best. However, the buffet had lots of variety and the food was probably better. Reservations for the Specialty restaurants can only be made from 12-3pm and only two days in advanced, which is a real pain if you are taking excursions elsewhere. The room was nice, but nothing special. The fridge in the room has (2) each of: Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, 1 Liter water, 20 oz. water, Orange ???, club soda, Sparking water, and (4) Corona. In addition, there were (5) types of liquor in a dispenser. The room service food is average to poor. I have stayed at a hotel twice the price of this hotel in Playacar and I would stay here again. I came for a vacation with a nice beach and decent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tulum: Skip the tours by taking a bus from downtown Playa for about $5 each way. The bus stops at either the ruins or the actual town. Get off on the first stop (ruins). Buy your ticket for the Tulum ruins at the very end of the road.

Back to menu Return to top